We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged us $250 US after checkout claiming two towels were missing from our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #53 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed the first week of May in this hotel as part of a group of 22 young professionals visiting from Canada. One week after my departure, I received an absurd $290 CAD charge on my credit card. When I inquired about it, I was told that two towels were missing from my room. Of course this was not true and when objected to the claim, heard nothing from them.

I'm writing this review to give heads up if you are thinking about this hotel, be careful with this scam!
Other things I didn't like about the hotel:
- The cleaning lady was passing by every day, disturbing my evening nap, to offer me a candy as a sign to get her tip.
- We had conferences in the 20th floor and the A/C there was horrible: either freezing or too hot. No way we could set it to something in between. As the result, most of people got cold a couple of days through the program.
- There were some 5 security guards downstairs, with their MI6 look. They had a shrewd look, checking out and following people in the lobby, as if we were criminals!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abolfazl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Emperador is situated on the edge of the Recoleta neighbourhood. It's not 5 star but it is a good mid-range hotel offering value for money. The breakfast is OK but it can get busy if there are tour groups staying. The hotel restaurant has never been open in the evenings whenever I've stayed there but there are good restaurants very close by and it's safe to walk to them. A few negatives are that some of the soft furnishings in the rooms could do with replacing and they charge for the internet which is very slow. Apart from that it's a good mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

An excellent 5-star option to stay in an enjoy Buenos Aires. Well located, excellent service and attention, big and comfortable rooms and common areas. I strongly recommend it either for business or tourism purposes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarianaPuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this very central and luxurious hotel whilst on a Globus tour in January 2014.

The foyer was beautifully presented which included marbled floor and a fountain in the bar area.

Our room was magnificent – large, tastefully decorated, enormous bathroom (with a bidet) and we had a superb view of their formal gardens below.

The bar had plush furnishings. One night whilst at the bar we ordered a beer, coffee and a toasted sandwich. They set the table up with a tablecloth, salt & pepper and sugar - couldn't believe the effort they went to just for a toasted sandwich :) The beer came with chips and nuts and the coffee came with 2 petite sweets and a glass of water.

What service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful. There is an opulent entrance and a lovely bar on the same level. Staff are all very professional and charming. Breakfast was a great selection however it doesn't open until 7 am and there is no provision for early departures, unlike other hotels of this standard. They also charged me to make scrambled eggs despite them being part of the normal breakfast buffet. I am lactose intolerant so can't eat the pre mix eggs or any made with milk or cream. Most hotels I've been to do not charge if they already offer eggs as part of the buffet....maybe it was a case of the member of staff sticking to closely to the rules.
The rooms are lovely, we had one overlooking the garden so it was very quiet and we had a couple of good nights sleep. Housekeeping though did not fully replenish out bathroom so for the second night we only had 2 bath towels and one small hand towel, not bath mat or hand towels.....
There is a charge for internet, which is fine however the speed we had was so bad that we went down to the lobby where it was free and faster.
Overall it was a lovely hotel, not amazing, but certainly one of the better ones in its price band.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is the best that I have stayed in for a long time.Very nice rooms,and a very good service as well.
The view from the rooms is very good,and this hotel is located very central in Buenos Aires as well.
The Bar in the Hotel is very cosy,and the prices there is fair.
I am very sure that I will stay there again when I come to the Capitol of Argentina.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This a good hotel, with just a few minor downsides. You can expect all the things you expect from a 5* hotel but there are some things missing. No outdoor pool and a small difficult to find sundeck. The restaurant is sometimes closed in the evening, so just must eat in bar area. the location not the best, there is nothing much to do near the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#24 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,206 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery by Sofitel
Retiro
Park Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
797 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida Del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#51 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £121 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires is located on the Avenida del Libertador, only a few steps away from the renowned Avenida 9 de Julio, close to the art galleries and museums district, a top restaurant area, shopping malls, and in the elegant neighborhood of Recoleta with easy access to Puerto Madero Harbor.An excellent choice of hotels in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires offers a strategic location convenient for business and leisure travelers and offering excellent standards of service, accommodations and amenities.Our Buenos Aires, Argentina hotel is a perfect choice for meetings, conventions, social events, and weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperador Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Emperador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing