We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”
Review of Regis Orho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regis Orho Hotel
Ranked #401 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
South America
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

There´s nothing about the Regus that will get your pulse racing, either in anger or with joy. It´s oldish and its last refurbishment looks as if it was in the late ´80s (how else can they explain the beige carpeted walls in the old lift?) The room was on the dark side, but it seemed clean enough, while the bed was comfortable. There was little noise from within the hotel, despite its high ceilings and its age, while the blackout blinds and double glazing meant the sleep quality was reasonably good. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was cable TV and an acceptable buffet breakfast. The location is fairly central, only a short walk from some of the sights and a subte (metro) for trips further afield. The street outside had seen better days: the neighbours downstairs included a sex shop and some overpriced restaurants (watch out for the cover charge and always ask for an itemised bill), which I would never eat in again. All in all, for a place to sleep after a long day seeing the sights, it´s perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    88
    88
    34
    26
See reviews for
74
83
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We had an interior room so no noise, but far from lift (which did not have automatic opening doors) and no view. Bathroom/Toilet was clean but VERY small. Linen & towels clean & changed every day. Refrigerator/minibar/safe provided at no extra charge. Bottled water in minibar is cheaper than surrounding shops, breakfast simple but good (cornflakes, bread, croissants, fruit juice, tea/coffee, butter, jam). Friendly & helpful staff.
Location was its best point- 2 blocks to underground (LInes B & D) & Lavalle Station (Line C) just around the corner. Advise travellers to use underground - 1.10 (one point 1 pesos) per trip. Many tourist locations within walking distance, lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0bal_traveller_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Do not stay there. Crummy broken beds, mouldy walls, grotty carpet, noisy, surly staff......I'll say no more!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We had a good experience at this hotel. We had an interior room so street noise was not a problem, but no view. The roon and bath were both large, albeit a little worn. The location is great and the breakfast was good. We thought the staff was very helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

The reviews led me to believe Regis Orho was better than it actually was. Positive points: the location was great, the breakfast was ok, the price is fair. Negative points: the hotel is old and needs refurbishing badly, specially the bathroom; the curtain only covered half of the window; the TV range of channels was poor. The main problem, however, was the air conditioner.
The guests can´t turn it on, turn it off or control the temperature. I don´t know if the air conditioner was broken, if it was insuficient or if it was set in an unconfortable temperature, but the room was unpleasantly hot. Since opening the windows was not an option due to the noise of the streets, we could only rely on the ceiling fan, that, thankfully, was silent.
Concerning the noise, I suggest a room facing calle Lavalle, not calle Esmeralda.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putuhepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Situated on a pedestrian-only shopping street, this hotel is central to so many things. Lots of eateries and shopping below the hotel, but also it's walking distance to must-see neighbourhoods like San Telmo, Recoleta, downtown, and the subway station is just a couple blocks away. The hotel is older, but it does a good job of providing the basics. Rooms are large enough, clean, comfortable. However, the bathoom seriously lacked in counterspace. Well, there was no counterspace. Minor problem. The toilet took on a life of its own whenever you flushed it (I think it was wanting to take care of you like a bidet would). The breakfast, like the rooms, are simple but adequate. It's helpful to have some Spanish knowledge, as not all hotel staff spoke English.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We arrived at the Regis Hotel at 10pm with no booking having just had the worst experience of our 3 week trip in Argentina at Esplendor Palermo (see other review).

So, we arrived tired and pretty cheesed off having had a really crappy day. Regis Hotel is pretty old skool in terms of its decor but it definitely had its own charm. The reception area was big and grand looking and most importantly was nice and cool (it was about 30 degrees outside).

Staff that greeted us on arrival were friendly and we were lucky to get a room on the 4th floor (I guess the hotel could have been noisy on lower floors as the street outside is really busy...it is however a pedestrian area so no traffic noise).

The room we stayed in was larger than most we had experienced elsewhere in the cities and the bathroom was huge with a really powerful shower which made a change. Breakfast was fine, coffee was generous and served with hot milk...definitely better than some we stayed in.

Location is very convenient for most places and good restaurants close by if you know where to go...Capataz does great steaks and lovely wine at ultra cheap prices.

It wasn't really cheap (US$110 a night) but reasonable for what was on offer. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here but if you struggle to get your original choices (which is often the case in BA) then this fits the bill. We stayed 3 nights and have nothing bad to say.

  • Liked — Location, room size
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dark_Horse1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Esmeralda Palace Hotel
Esmeralda Palace Hotel
#289 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Retiro
Gran Hotel Orly
Gran Hotel Orly
#404 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Retiro
Waldorf Hotel
Waldorf Hotel
#172 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#132 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Classic
Rochester Hotel Classic
#105 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#403 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regis Orho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regis Orho Hotel

Property: Regis Orho Hotel
Address: Lavalle 813 y Esmeralda, Buenos Aires 1047AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Regis Orho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regis Orho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Regis Orho
Regis Orho Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing