We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castelar Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa(Buenos Aires)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Legado Mitico(Buenos Aires)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alvear Art Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$515
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$647
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$535
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
98
305
228
79
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
305
228
79
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand hotelan older hotelwithin walking distanceseen better daysfriendly hotelbuffet breakfastlocation is excellentde juliostayed here for nightsfedericosubwaysubteavenuemedialunas
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Spanish poet Federico García Lorca stayed here in 1933 and his room has been recently revamped. The hotel is old, but nice and well located at Avenida de Mayo and impressive Avenida 9 de Julio, at the very center of Buenos Aires. Services are fair enough but beware of online reservations that do not include taxes. Also, if you have an early flight to catch, you will not find sympathy with hotel staff. The night before I requested a fruit or bun since I would be leaving before breakfast hours (breakfast which I had already paid), but no one at the restaurant would help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Spent a night in this Hotel, would not recommend it. We booked an apartement for 4 adults, carpet was old and dirty and the walls would have needed some fresh paint.The bathroom smelled funny and the 2nd room looked worst than the first one.I guess for the price we paid for BA it was what you get but I would return here! Breakfast was good and employees helpfull.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gatineau26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Right at avenida de mayo and within walkingdistance of all the touristic sights. metrostation in front of the hotel. Nice "cosy" rooms, that have all you need and nothing more. Beautiful lobby, good breakfast and friendly staff. All you need for exploring Buenos Aires!

Room Tip: They are currently replacing all the beds for ne ones, make sure you ask for a room with a new bed and try to get a room at the back of the hotel so that you have less noise from the streets.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Castelar is an older hotel in a beautiful building and once you step inside, the interior of the lobby area is enchanting. However, its best attribute is probably its central location. Situated on the Avenida de Mayo, at the Lima underground station and a short walk away from the Avenida de 9 de julio. Rooms are spacious but a bit jaded, yet comfortable with old fashioned bathrooms. The shower water pressure is decent and the water temperature is stable. The breakfast is buffet style with ample choice but it can get crowded in the small dining area. Rates are very favourable for what you get, and then you also have free entrance to the Spa if you stay at the hotel. Staff may appear to be reserved and even though the language barrier could be a bit of a problem, a friendly smile makes the difference. For me the biggest inconvenience is that there is no safe in the room.

Room Tip: Choose your room well or you may be disappointed! Rooms at the back section of the hotel tend to be less noisy and comes with modern airconditioners, very useful during the hot summer months! Be sure to ask for one of these!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for a hotel, where the rooms haven´t been renovated, painted or in any other way undergone any update in 80 years, this is the hotel for you! (The "80" years was actually told to us by the porter). We got a suite with huge spots of mold in the ceiling!!!
The rooms are in a very poor condition, the service at the hotel is very limited - ex. we arrived at 5pm and I wanted to iron a shirt before we should go out and ceibrate my birthday, I therefore asked for an iron and ironingboard to the room. This was not possible at all since the hotel has a service from 9am to 3pm for this kind of service and there were no help at all from the staff.
The staff at the reception never really smiled and were not recognizing you, so you never had the feeling of being welcomed to the hotel.
The warm breakfast is turned off 30min before the breakfast closes, so be there in good time.

My best advice - spend a few more money and give yourself the treat at better hotel. Castelar is simply not worth any money until it undergoes a very very thorough renovation!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews