We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming to some; shabby to us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castelar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #190 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The grandeur and potential of the Castelar were quite appealing but beyond that, it's pretty shabby (dirty carpeting, torn upholstery, etc.) The internet was so bad we had to move twice to get to find a room with a good connection but then we had to suffer a lot of street noise. On the positive side, it's a great location; the staff was helpful and the breakfast was above average. After three nights, we moved to the Savoy (a more modern, more expensive hotel but well worth it).

Room Tip: If you care about internet, check the connection before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

A good choice in BA at a very reasonable price. Very close to the most important BA Subte lines for tourists and to several nice restaurants. Rooms are somewhat small but interesting and secure. The breakfast is an excellent buffet with an assortment of fresh and wholesome food. The staff is very helpful. The hotel has a bank-like secure walk-in safe that is quite reassuring for the storage of both both your cash/valuables and your luggage prior to check-in or after check-out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks with a group of friends and enjoyed the experience. The location is very central with a Subte stop right outside and bus stops to La Boca, Recoleta and incredibly, even the number 8 to the airport, within 1 or 2 streets of the main entrance. Our room was up on the 10th floor facing away from Avenida de Mayo and was relatively quiet even with the window open.
The breakfast was tasty and quite extensive but could benefit from a little variety.
The WiFi was 'IfFy' (as was the Internet connection at the 2 stations by the reception desk) which was a mild irritant - we couldn't get a signal in the room but could in the corridor by the lift!
The shower didn't spray water properly (I don't know why we didn't ask for it to be fixed) so the bathroom floor was washed every day.
There's an agreeable faded grandeur about the place and my only regret was not being around when Federico Garcia Lorca's room was open to the public on Wednesday afternoons (despite the hotel's website claiming that "guided tours will take place Monday through Friday from 15 to 18.30hs").
The hotel is expensive but sadly everything has become much more expensive since my previous visit 5 years ago although the only serious "ouch" moment was when one of our group got his laundry bill.
A highlight of our stay was an impromptu tango upstairs by the ballroom to put into practise lessons learnt from the tango festival.
Another highlight was the helpfulness of all on the reception desk.
I'd recommend the Hotel Castelar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We asked for a room change after the first night of NO SLEEP owing to schools students banging on doors, running up and down the corridors, shouting and playing loud music right next to our room.

We got a room change all right - to another room which had even rowdier students and though we rang reception 3-4 times through the night, nothing was done to reduce the terrible noise.

The following morning when we spoke with staff they merely shrugged their shoulders and dismissed our comments. It was without a doubt the WORST EXPERIENCE my wife and I have ever had in 50 years of travelling.

When hotel staff are totally indifferent to customer needs then there is a real problem. To put 60 -65 year old people next to 16 year old students is just plain stupid but to then make the problem even worse by putting us next to even rowdier students the next night is the height of inconsideration .... almost as if we were being punished for complaining. Hence, 2 nights in this hotel and 2 nights of absolutely no sleep! We were disgusted at the lack of any concern shown.

A simple solution could have been to move us away from where the students were - why cause us more discomfort. Even at 2-3 o'clock in the morning when we contacted hotel staff they could have hurriedly given us another room, but nothing was done. There was no interest in helping us in any way - not even an apology. Shoulders being shrugged is not acceptable!!!

This is not the sort of service anyone should experience and I hope travellers take note of these comments, especially senior travellers. There are plenty of other hotels at the same price - and more caring staff. We know, because we moved.

Room Tip: Ask if there are students or young people next to your room when you check in. If so, ask to be move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Archibald25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I liked this hotel (past tense). I had stayed there several years ago as well and had a positive memory of my time there despite the small, tight quarters of my room. This hotel is historic. Good location... And the spa/sauna is a real plus..
But this time around I was surprised to find they tried to charge me nearly $100 dollars for cleaning a few shirts, socks and underwear!..I understand that hotels charge a bit more than normal for laundry, but 10 times more! That is just plain stealing! Their guy at the front desk was also rude and aggressive: arguing and yelling at me when I complained about this..I refuse to be railroaded into this and don't think anyone else should either. I suggest you stay away from this hotel until they start charging reasonable fees for their services.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berkeley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Castelar is an old classic kind of hotel. Though our room was small and a little noisy, the overall atmosphere of the hotel overcame these inconveniences. It is centrally located to almost all of the city. The sauna is great. The breakfasts were also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel may has more than 100 years but it is well maintained, very well located just one block from subway and 9 de julho Street. The bedroom was big and the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoBontorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Palermo
Awwa Suites & Spa
Awwa Suites & Spa
#84 of 442 in Buenos Aires
657 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#138 of 442 in Buenos Aires
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#135 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,347 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#122 of 442 in Buenos Aires
2,478 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Mundial
Hotel Mundial
#252 of 442 in Buenos Aires
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelar Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida de Mayo 1152, Buenos Aires C1085ABO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £32 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelar Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic 4-star Castelar Hotel & Spa in Buenos Aires is located in the heart of the city centre, between the famous Avenida de Mayo and the Avenida 9 de Julio Avenues, at only few steps from the Obelisk and the Plaza de Mayo Square. The Castelar Hotel & Spa is more than a clasic hotel. Featuring modern amenities, the Castelar Hotel & Spa is a perfect accommodation choice both for business and leisure travelers in Buenos Aires. Among its outstanding facilities, guests will find a restaurant, elegant meeting and banqueting lounges, Wi-Fi Internet access in the public areas & rooms, and a luxurious Spa with sauna, Finnish baths, Turkish bath and a large range of beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castelar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelar Hotel And Spa
Castelar Hotel Buenos Aires
Castelar Buenos Aires
Hotel Castelar Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing