We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no real breakfast, no free wi-fi in rooms, not in Puerto Madera!”
Review of Mayflower Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Suites
Ranked #365 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 16 December 2008

First of all when we booked it Expedia said they were in Puerto Madero...they are about 20 blocks away. Second the rate was breakfast inclusive, the breakfast that was included was basically toast , croissant and coffee anything else you had to pay for. Third, they said they had free wi-fi..but this was only available in the public areas, once you were in your room you had to pay. Lastly the rooms had a humid smell, but they were spacious. I consider this hotel to be very misleading in their advertising. Luckily we were just there for one night!

Stayed: December 2008
Thank trespequitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

Our New Zealand travel agent booked the Mayflower Suites for our six nights stay in BA. The place was very clean and tidy. The room we had was of good size and was good condition, plus everything did work. Breakfast was a small but nice continental breakfast with cheeses fruit pastries etc. The Mayflower staff were helpful, but their English is limited, they did have some good suggestions on where to eat locally and things to do. An interesting point to note is that most of the staff do not live in the city, so they don't get to eat much in the city, so their knowledge is limited. Within 5 minutes walk of the hotel are a number of banks with ATM machines, internet shop and a small supermarket, within 10 minutes there are number of Restaurants/cafes/coffee shops and a big supermarket. The area around the hotel is classed as a business area, so they are a lot more people walking around during the day, at night streets are a lot quieter.
As this was our first trip South America let alone BA, we got our travel agent to book a couple of day trips (the half day tour of BA is a must). The Mayflower staff can and will book a number of different tours. The rest of the time we walked. We walked around most parts of BA (both day and night), there were some parts of the city that the Mayflower staff suggested not to walk thought, so we would catch a cab. The cabs we used were cheap and clean, one helpful suggestion, always catch a “radio taxi” and have plenty of small notes/change. People said that BA was a dangerous city to walk around. We didn’t find this at all; it is just like any other big city around the world.
If we go back to BA, we would be comfortable about staying at the Mayflower suites again. This hotel is a middle of the marketplace, not to cheap and not to expensive .

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kiwiholidaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Its a very good hotel. Big rooms, good beds. Awesome breakfast. Location is not bad, but you can find better ones. The only problem I can tell about this hotel is the price. US$150 per night four a double room. You can find better hotels for this price.

I f you find a way to pay less (US$90) go for it. Its really good.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fredes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

This place was a dump and in a sketchy part of town. The first indication was the fact that they kept the front door locked all day and all night. The "business center" was one computer in a dark back room. The complimentary breakfast was terrible - stale bread and overly sweet drinks. This we could have dealt with. The room and location was another story. The carpet smelled like a wet, mildewed basement. The smell was so overpowering that the only way to control it was to turn the air conditioner as far up as it would go. This numbed our sense of smell enough to sleep. After our first night we had breakfast at an outdoor cafe up the block from the hotel. A very, very scary bum tried to mug us. As two women traveling alone we didn't feel safe staying at the hotel especially since we were planning on taking advantage of B.A.'s fantastic night life. We checked out the same day.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LiLiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2006

We booked the "Latin Triangle" tour with Traveland.com. We were supposed to stay at a Kempenski hotel in Recoleta. However, we were switched to this hotel. Our unmet expectations from the tour company certainly impacted our impression of this hotel. Mayflower Suites is less expensive than the hotel we were led to believe we were staying in. If you get a good price, you will probably be more satisfied. Since this was our first visit to Buenos Aires, and we were looking for some assistance from a tour guide, our problems were exacerbated by the fact that this is not a full service hotel. The beleaguered front desk staff had to serve as concierge, cashier, housekeeping, and repair staff. The AC did not work and the window broke when opened. They were nice, but it could not make up for the fact that our tour guide from "Special Travel" took the week-end off and could not speak English. We spent Fri, Sat., and Sun. nights there. Centro was deserted after the Friday workday. My husband was mugged because the only people left in the neighborhood were tourists and muggers. Others in our tour group who stayed in Recoleta had a much nicer experience. I would avoid Traveland because they are unresponsive and not available. Mayflower would be good for people who know the area and what they are getting into.
And re: the previous comments about no towels--that happened every day. I think they only have one set of towels and wash and replace them if they dry in time.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank maddoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

My sisters and I stayed in a triple room for only two nights, actually we only went to buenos aires to see the gig of the totally awesome Jamie Cullum.
The room was pretty big and the beds were comfy; the recepcionist wasn't very helpful with information about distance, but he has a very good attitude... There are some things you must know about this hotel: the best thing about it is the location, a radiotaxi can take you everywhere in 5 to 10 minutes, and you can also take a walk to Santa Fe or Corrientes about 4 to 5 blocks away; the buffet breakfast isn't very good, there are lots of food but the quality is not the best (specially the ham and the cheese), in the morning it gets pretty noisy, actually we woke up with the tipical sound of constructions but this was around 8 a.m. and the afternoon is very quiet...
So, in conclusion if I visit Buenos Aires again and if my budget is the same I definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We stayed at the Mayflower Suites for 10 days. The rooms are very spacious, with modern and clean bathrooms; however, several times we had to ask for the second set of towels after the room had been made up, a minor nuisance; however, the missing towels were always brought up right away. We also had fridge and microwave in the room (no silverware, plates and cups, but we took a set up to the room from the breakfast buffet, no problem). Speaking of the (included) breakfast: It's a nice spread with toast, croissants, cakes (!), serials, juices, coffee of course, ham, salami, cheese, marmalades etc., fruit salad -- definitely more than one should eat :)
There's a free Internet computer next to the breakfast room, but for in-room wi-fi there's an extra charge of US$10 per day. I used their free computer to check my e-mails etc., but I fear that eventually they might do away with this free service -- why else did they install wi-fi lately? However, there are plenty of cheap cybercafes in the city, one of them right next to the hotel!
The first night we spent in a room overlooking Parana street, which was quiet in the evening but got very noisy -- too loud for our taste -- early in the morning from the hustle and bustle down in the street (despite double-glazed windows), and upon our request the receptionist immediately accommodated us with another room out back (no view, but very quiet). Everybody working at the reception -- all of them speaking sufficient English -- is very friendly and accommodating, helping with taxis and information; they even got us super seats at a couple of tango shows and called in reservations at restaurants for us when we had problems reserving ourselves because of the Spanish language barrier.
We found the Mayflower Suites' location in Microcentro -- a couple of blocks from the opera house, next to a Days Inn -- very convenient . We often walked to Florida street and the tango places nearby (the Escuela de Tango in the Galeria Pacifico, the Academia de Tango on the Av. de Mayo, the Confiteria Ideal on Suipatcha, which we all recommend for tango aficionados!). To places a bit further away (Recoleta, San Telmo, La Boca, Palermo) we .took incredibly cheap taxis. After 8 p.m. we also always took taxis back to the hotel, no matter the distance. We never encountered a problem.
In general, we were very happy with the Mayflower Suites -- and the price can't be beat -- we paid US$74 per night, incl. taxes and breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank FV-RFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#139 of 440 in Buenos Aires
600 reviews
Hotel La Perla
#332 of 440 in Buenos Aires
100 reviews
Luey Hotel
#329 of 440 in Buenos Aires
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ayamitre
#311 of 440 in Buenos Aires
40 reviews
San Nicolás
Tucuman Palace Hotel
Tucuman Palace Hotel
#369 of 440 in Buenos Aires
206 reviews
San Nicolás
Viamonte Buenos Aires Apart
Viamonte Buenos Aires Apart
#112 of 440 in Buenos Aires
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Suites

Address: Parana 720, Buenos Aires 1017AAP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayflower Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Suites Mayflower Buenos Aires. A Boutique Hotel in the heart of the City of Buenos Aires, close-by its main tourist attractions and shopping centers. Its rooms and services, a combination between classic style and modern technology, make Suites Mayflower a unique option in its category. Each passenger is different and our purpose is to make him feel unique and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayflower Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing