We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you want to save” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dos Congresos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dos Congresos
Ranked #420 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only if you want to save”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Hotel was chosen for a business trip and a need of the room for 3 for a reasonable price, besides we needed a specific location in the Buenos Aires. Although, the hotel was definitely lower than 3 stars. Room was not clean at all, all the furtinure is old-fashioned - the hotel has never been renewed. The room had specific smell of moisture and cleaning fluids. Room is tiny for 3 beds and there is no space at all to move normally.
We had a chance to see that room for 1 is much better and has newer furniture and better view.
Brekafast is totally fine, gives a good variaty of food and drinks. Staff is extremely nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Book only if you are looking for a room for 1-2 persons and not for 3. Ask for a room with view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    16
    26
    15
    12
See reviews for
11
21
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is very clean, in a good location (you can take public transport to go anywhere in town). Good breakfast and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable and although the hotel is located in a busy street, the rooms are not noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CristinaEurope2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valinhos, SP, Brasil
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I just could spend 1 hour inside the room, most of the time trying set up the wireless connection to find other hotel in BA!
The room is old, dirty, poor furniture; wallpaper was falling off, and wood carpet with no maintenance. The mattress is terrible too.
The plastic toilet seat was falling off. The staff was not friendly.
The wireless is provided, but just works at the front door desk.
The room’s photos do not match with the realty.

Thanks Ibis Hotel had available rooms (considering it was on a Brazilian 7 day’s holiday) with a tax slightly up that H. Congressos, with an indisputable cleaning and comfort!

Definitively I DO NOT recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

On a five week trip to several cities in Argentina, we found that Dos Congresos was, without doubt, the worst three star hotel in which we stayed. Our first room was over the plaza, perhaps the busiest area of Buenos Aires. If you were to have this room, not only would you get no sleep until two in the morning due to the thousands of cars, buses and people under your window, but you would find a small, cheap bed in a tiny, dingy room with almost no furniture. It was depressing. Refusing this, our second room on the interior of the hotel, overlooking a dark shaft of concrete, had a sleeping loft and double bed, adequate but rating only a one-star designation, at best. All the bathroom fixtures were either cracked or broken. The plastic toilet seat was falling off, the small shelf under the mirror was broken and mold was permeating the grout in the shower and all corners of the floor. We booked this hotel partly based on the photographs, which were taken with a close-up, “fisheye” type lens, which makes the lobby and the rooms look far larger than they are. On the plus side, the breakfast was decent, and there was a mini-bar in the room. In short, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggyMae25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

A labor action against Aerolineas Argentinas airlines created a last-minute need for me to book a hotel for two nights in Buenos on my way back to the U.S. from Argentina. I had to do this online from El Calafate in the far south of the country. When I arrived at 2:30am, I walked into The Dos Congressos' small, dingy lobby to find the night clerk not willing to acknowledge my reservation (made on Expedia). Between his bad English and my bad Spanish, we were deadlocked. I was forced to pay anew for my two-night booking, despite my showing him the on-line receipt from Expedia. ("No Voucher!" he kept saying.)

When I was finally shown my room, I was aghast. I was greeted by a two story high arrangement of primary room and an iron sleeping loft, accessed by an industrial-looking metal staircase. The main room featured a small, lumpy bed, propped up against a wall painted electric blue and absolutely plastered with mold! The room's window, also two stories high, and filthy, was only partially covered by an ancient, heavy, blue curtain. Since this first floor room looked directly out onto the street, I sought to close the curtains, only to have them fall in a heap to the floor. The curtain rod was far too high for me to even consider trying to re-hang them. I chose, finally, to sleep in the loft, since the queen-sized bed there looked much more inviting and there was no discernible mold. (I will say that my extremely thorough search for evidence of bed bugs yielded none). The tub/shower was deeply, rustily pitted. it was far too late to even consider looking elsewhere for a hotel, so I stayed.

The next morning, I was delighted to discover that the location, directly adjacent to Buenos Aires' congress building, was right in the heart of the beautiful Retiro district. I took a three hour walk amid the richly ornamented, European-style buildings and beautiful, leafy parks and enjoyed every minute.

I'll say, too, that I had a peek into a room being made up on that day and it looked much more inviting than my dreary cavern, so it may just be that room 103 is the worst of the lot.
But I'd look carefully at a room in the hotel before paying for it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here for five nights. The first room we were given was awful (clean, but wallpaper was falling off, and carpet was stained). It was at the street level and was quite noisy, but the view of the Congreso was quite nice. We were later moved to an inside room with no view, but more quite. Unfortunately the A/C didn't work in that room, but it was spring time and we could do without it (but did have to use the ceiling fan all the time). Internet was provided, but it wasn't very reliable. Kept disconnecting and we had to call down to the front desk to get them to re-set it. The staff was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was average, or slightly better. The hotel is in a good location.

Probably wouldn't stay there again, as I think we could have found something better for what we ended up paying.

Room Tip: Hotel 113 has a beautiful view of the Congreso, but can get quite noisy. Ask for an inside room (e.g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Rooms: small, dirty, noisy. Poor TV signal, no internet at all (specifically asked when made the reservation), unhelpful personnel. Good location but for slightly less Ibis offers considerably more.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Apart Hotel & Spa Congreso
#214 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#310 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#120 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#133 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#113 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#122 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Congresos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Congresos

Property: Hotel Dos Congresos
Address: Avenida Rivadavia 1777, Buenos Aires C1033AAH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Dos Congresos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing