We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do they nickel and dime their clients?”
Review of Wilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wilton Hotel
Ranked #213 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Why do they nickel and dime their clients?”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

As you will read in many of the reviews of this hotel, use of the Internet is not free. In three months travelling in Argentina, this is the only hotel that has charged me for this service. Why do they not just tack on a few more pesos to the rate and make it "free"? Even more galling, when I called reception to get the password, I was told I'd have to come down to the lobby to pay my 20 pesos; I couldn't have it added to my bill. The man I dealt with when I got to the lobby was borderline rude. He's clearly very tired of trying to explain why his hotel is the only one that does this. He told me that the owners of the hotel had made this decision and wouldn't back down. When I asked for contact information so I could let the owners know what I thought of their decision, he said he couldn't give me that information. In other words, the owners don't much care what their customers think.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. My room was fine; the breakfast was better than average, but I will not stay here again until the owners change their policy of having their customers trek down to the lobby every day to pay for what is now a basic service in most other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please note that we have free Wi-Fi 24 hours in the hotel lobby and business center computers. If you want Wi-Fi in your room you can hire plans 24, 48 and 72 hours depending on your stay, and add it to the room bill to pay it when you make your check out. We are working to improve the quality of care and service to make your stay successful. We are pleased that you have been comfortable in your room. Our ample breakfast buffet includes: variety of croissants and breads, jams, meats, biscuits, fruits, juices, teas and more. If you want to contact us please write to info@hotelwilton.com.ar and we will reply your questions or comments. This information is also available on the website of the Hotel and is public for all passengers. Greetings from Wilton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    225
    169
    58
    25
See reviews for
101
223
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed at the Wilton for a few days at the beginning of March 2013. Location is everything and this hotel has it. The front desk arranged a city tour for 100 pesos )cash only....about $20) Make sure to ask for a fluent English guide. Our guide did a 2 minute Spanish description of a sight followed by a 15 second English description....did we miss something? WIFI for 24 hours is 20 pesos ($4) and for us very convenient. We also arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the Ezeiza airport. When we walked out of the terminal there is our name on a board and we are wisked off to the Wilton.....cost is 275 pesos and we don't pay the driver....the hotel does and then they charge us on the room tab. Well worth it and no money exchange problems. The front desk also recommended The Buenos Aires Grill for dinner which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel on Santa Fe ave. Great dinner of lomo (beef tenderloin) huge portion split with my wife, a platter of grilled vegetables, 2 glasses of wine and the best part...... limonchello after the meal. Cost about 230 pesos. Front desk also suggested LaFavarolla. (sp) Less than a block away. Excellent fugazza of ham cheese and smothered in onions.....soooo good. We know of 3 couples who were robbed in the first 2 days in BA. We were shouldered but lost nothing. Wear old jeans and a white tshirt to try and blend in. No jewlery or visible cameras or watches as well. A vibrant city but be vigilant.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back of the hotel for quietness and the walls do not have sound insulation so br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerbie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

We are working with our team to improve care and provide quality service to our guests.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have stayed at the Wilton Hotel for 2 nights on Friday29th March and Saturday 30th March 2013,The Hotel was very busy & seemed fully booked due to Easter week-end.

On arrival at the Hote, the Reception staff were extremely helpful and attempted to allocate ny room immediately. I was allocated on 1402 the top floor. It was excellant spacious twin bedded room and it was clean and everything worked eg air-conditioning, tv. small fridge , room safe etc.

The bathroom/toilet area was spacious and clean/ refreshing. Being on the 14th fllor it was quiett and bed were comfortable to sleep in.

The Hotel has gym,,,,sauna and roof terrace on the top floor.

Wilton Hotel provides free cold buffet breakfast..which is good value and with wide range of food and drinks eg breads/rolls, cerals, fresh fruit, yogurts,pastry, eggs and meats/cheese as well fruit juices and hot drinks such as coffee and tea, The staff was very helpfull and providing good service.

The lobby area also has free internet ( 2 computers) and wifi for use by Customers.
This is good free facility for keeping in touch with friends or family back home via e-mail or just surfing the web lookiing for local resturantes or places of interest.

The location of the Hotel is excellant in Recoleta..it few blocks away from Recoleta Village with its many resturantes, shops, cinema and world famous cementary.. . Ave Santa Fe with its shops and places to eat is only 1 minute away from the Hotel by walking. Downtown about 10 minutes by taxi..

I found the staff very helpful and professional and they even organised my transport to Buenos Aires International airport at a reasonable price (-Remis taxi). I felt very safe and well cared at the Wilton Hotel.

I will definately stay there again and will recommend to friends or colleagues. It was excellant Service and experience for me at very reasonable price,

Room Tip: Ask for room 1402 and it is on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel is OK (certainly not a 4 stars though!!) even if a bit old. It is very well located and has a nice terrace. Staff is professional but not friendly: this point could easily be enhanced!!
Air conditioning is noisy (but works). Bed in 907 is great (very very large, more than king) and just firm enough. 908 has a standard bed of lesser quality ...

Room Tip: The second tower has less noise (first in on Callao with heavy traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank More_Majorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

The Wilton Hotel has been categorized as 4 stars by the City Government, in compliance with all local regulations, however each region or country has its own standards. That's why you can find sites online where sales have categorized the hotel as 3 stars Superior.

We are working with our team to improve care and provide quality service to our guests.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

The Wilton is located just off Avenida Santa Fe in the fashionable Recoleta section of Buenos Aires. It is an older property with older furnishings. The bathrooms have been re-done recently and are spacious. The low price and location are what attracted me to the Wilton. The staff was helpful. They provide a complimentary breakfast. If you are spending just one or two nights and don't plan to do anything in the hotel but sleep, I would recommend it.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Thanks for staying at Wilton Hotel and share your experience with us. The Hotel is located in Avenida Callao at the intersection with Avenida Santa Fe. There you will find the best dining options, shopping, entertainment and more. In the morning we offer guests free full buffet breakfast from 7-11 am.

Our facilities are comfortable and quiet as the rooms. Our guests appreciate that very much.

We are working to improve the quality of service and hope you visit us again soon. Greetings from Wilton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I travelled with a friend for one week to Buenos Aires. We stayed at the Wilton Hotel, and it was very nice. Clean Hotel, Helpful staff, Nice breakfast buffet in the morning, but most of all we really liked the location, right at Ave Callao and Ave Santa Fe, everything was close, and there was never a problem finding a cab. Within walking distance to the Cemetario de la Recoleta and other main attractions. Rooms are small but it was perfect for our trip. Great Value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a small boutique style hotel in Recoleta which we found on Hotwire. It is in a good area, and it is possible to walk to many attractions. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Wireless internet was extra...about $4/day. As in many hotels that we stayed in in South America, the furnishings could use some updating...it may be customary to really wear out the furniture before replacing it. There was an included breakfast: nothing special, but adequate. If you ask yourself "what would I get in NYC for this price?" you will perhaps see things less critically. We were only here for one night, but we were quite satisfied with value received.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

We are working with our team to improve care and provide quality service to our guests.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Hotel Prince
Hotel Prince
#255 of 447 in Buenos Aires
103 reviews
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#256 of 447 in Buenos Aires
135 reviews
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#160 of 447 in Buenos Aires
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#354 of 447 in Buenos Aires
30 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#133 of 447 in Buenos Aires
426 reviews
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#134 of 447 in Buenos Aires
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Hotel

Property: Wilton Hotel
Address: Avenida Callao 1162 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1023AAR, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a cordial and friendly atmosphere, situated in the most fashionable area of Buenos Aires. All guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. These rooms are equipped with all the modern conveniences that most guests will need, including bathrobe, and special bath amenities. For those guests whose schedule is demanding, the hotel offers 24-hour room service and its business center is open around the clock with High speed Internet access. There is plenty to see and do nearby, only steps away from dining, shopping entertainment venues, and transport hubs. Local attractions, like Florida Street, the Congress Palace and the Colon Opera House Theatre are only a kilometer away. Guests will find a variety of dining options in the area, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Hotel Buenos Aires
Wilton Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing