We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Conquistador Hotel
Ranked #140 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned from this property with 3 teenagers and had a wonderful time. The staff could not do enough to make all accommodations more than pleasurable.
Palomino Island is beautiful whether you want to lay in the sun, enjoy the watersports or take in the great Jet Skis as we did .
The food was very good as we did eat in Chops Steakhouse 2 out of our 4 night stay.
Excellent place for a quick getaway and would definitely return.
Manny Melendez is the Hotel Assistant Manager and anything we needed he was on the money to be over accommodating..

Room Tip: Las Brisas rooms regardless of what floor your on have spectacular ocean views as you see it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTU104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I Stayed at this property for 3 days this past November. The hotel is not the newest. The rooms are small and the breakfast setup on the top of floor is mediocre at best. However the redeeming factor when I think back of the stay at the hotel is the LOCATION. Everything a first time visitor to Buenos Aires has to visit is within walking distance, furthermore taxi stands, bus stops and metro stations are also within 5 minutes. Last but not least the pricing of this property makes it an attractive proposition to any well seasoned city traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before joining cruise ship in November 2013. Hotel was booked by travel agent as part of package and we went with their recommendation. Hotel is very central, near main pedestrian street and with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. It seems to cater a lot to tours but is clean and comfortable. We only has breakfast which was good but breakfast area is quite busy. Free wifi is nice touch

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank broughbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms and public areas are very old. The beds are terrible. It is not a real 4 star and like a 3 stars. However location is perfect, it is in microcentro and easy access to many tourist attractions. Staff is very helpful and wifi is free and reachable in all areas of the hotel even in rooms

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kerem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is excellently located in downtown Buenos Aries, a few metres from the main boulevard Avenida 9 de Julio. From here you can walk to all the tourist attractions in central Buenos Aries and also to the up-market re-developed Old Port area. You can also walk a short distance to the Obelisk and catch the Metro (Subte) to the out of town attractions (fare £0.50).
The hotel was clean and functional. Rooms were a reasonable size.The staff were friendly and helpful. The food for breakfast and in the restaurant was very average.

Tip.. take US dollars and change to Argentina Pesos at the location. (The official currency rate is 60% overvalued). I didn't do this and lost an arm and a leg converting my unused Pesos back to sterling in the UK.

We were there in November. The Jacaranda trees were in full bloom in all directions as far as the eye can see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhoEpsilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 full week at a fantastic rate. I was looking for a hotel less than $70/night in downtown Buenos Aires and I found the perfect deal at the El Conquistador Hotel. The hotel and the room itself is very clean and kept in great condition. They cleaned our rooms every day and provided us with clean towels everyday. The bed was extremely comfortable and it wasn't that noisy even though it was only a few blocks away from the well known 9 de Julio street. They offered excellent breakfast every morning and free wi-fi. We had some trouble with our wi-fi but they were able to reset the router so that it could work in our room. Also, the hotel room had all the general amenities such as a small fridge, locking safe, and closet. However, they lacked having an iron. But they do have laundry service which was a bit expensive. Luckily I brought enough clothes to last me my entire trip. The air conditioner didn't blow out cold air so we kept the window open to let fresh cool air in. However, the hotel has very accommodating staff so I am sure that if we brought it to their attention they would have done something about it. There is also a gym and a sauna. Also, the restaurant/bar area was really accomodating with great food and drinks. The location is perfect. It is walking distance to the Obelisk, Teatro Colon, Plaza San Martin, Retiro, Recoleta, Puerto Madera, Santa Fe Street and Galerias Pacificas. There are also lots of shops and restaurants all around it. There are lots of other forms of transportation very close if you don't want to take taxi and want to use the buses, subways or trains. I was very satisfied with this hotel and its location and excellent customer service. I will come again and stay here and recommend it to others that don't want to spend a lot on a hotel but get a clean comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silkg715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First of all, this is not a 5 star hotel. So you have to temper your expectations. However, if you want value and convenience, this hotel is a good choice. It's affordable and in the heart of BA near shopping on La Florida and a short taxi ride to many sites and restaurants. Rooms were clean and hotel staff was courteous. Two negatives---WiFi in our room was hit and miss, and the walls in this hotel must be made of paper, because you can hear every little noise from guests in other rooms----that was the only real negative for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hed300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECH_costumer_service, Reservations Department at El Conquistador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Stephen,

We wanted to thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#78 of 444 in Buenos Aires
991 reviews
Retiro
Regente Palace Hotel
Regente Palace Hotel
#105 of 444 in Buenos Aires
836 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#49 of 444 in Buenos Aires
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Bisonte Palace
Bisonte Palace
#164 of 444 in Buenos Aires
595 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#118 of 444 in Buenos Aires
913 reviews
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#134 of 444 in Buenos Aires
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Hotel

Address: Calle Suipacha 948, Buenos Aires C1008AAT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#105 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £44 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Conquistador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star rated Conquistador Hotel is located on Buenos Aires city downtown, close to 9 de Julio Avenue and Santa Fe Avenue. No matter what your interests are - business, shopping, theatres, restaurants, parks - all of them are surrounding the hotel. The hotel offers 110 comfortable executive rooms and 23 suites (two rooms) decorated with a classic and distinguished European style. We remind you that The Conquistador Hotel is always thinking of your needs in order to satisfy them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Conquistador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Buenos Aires
Hotel El Conquistador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing