We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't lie to me Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Suites Buenos Aires
Ranked #172 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't lie to me Argentina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel had an English speaking reception staff, that tried to be as helpful as possible. Unfortunately, the Manager left much to be desired, so they were not as responsive to our complaints as they should have been. We traded a two room suite timeshare in Hollywood Florida for a two room suite here....but we received one room and no one cared. The air conditioner didn't work for three days and they lied about it being shut of and it would take 2 weeks to get it up and running. There was no daily newspaper in any language delivered to our room. When we asked about English TV news channels, because there was no newspaper, we told there were none. I have traveled all over the world and I have never been in a hotel that did not have CNN or BBC in English. We were told to get the news on the computer....to bad the computer had no speakers. When we mentioned it, the Manager said she would look in to it, like it was news to her. The staff said there were never speakers.
The pool that is mentioned is NOT FOR YOU. Its a decorative lap pool in the lobby. It is conveniently located if you can stand the inconveniences and lies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFHOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    203
    95
    43
    23
See reviews for
103
187
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Buenos Aires Design Suites is well situated near Santa Fe and Caillo across from a small park. It has newer rooms and older rooms. The newer rooms are similar but appointed in a more user friendly way ie places to set suitcases etc. The newer rooms are accessed through the computer room. Ask for them if you have a choice. We looked out onto an inner courtyard both times. Not attractive but despite all the very close apartment balconies it was quiet.

The hotel if decorated in "early sterile" with lots of mirrors to make it look bigger inside, chrome and plastic. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. All staff were helpful and friendly. There is a safe in the room. The breakfast was quite adequate with pastries, breads, sliced meats, cheese, fresh fruit and yogurt. I would have liked a toaster. The wifi was down for the first two of the three days we were there.
The tour company we have used for several years uses it as their B.A. joining hotel. Many great restaurants within a few minutes walking in any direction but the ones west on Santa Fe were great. We walked to the Carlos Thays Botanical Garden several blocks west on Santa Fe then taxied back. They allowed us to stay in our room for a couple of extra hours on our last day...that was decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffy3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked just one night as a stopover and arrived at the hotel very early in the morning. The staff were so accommodating and let us checkin well before 2pm, after a long bus trip. The rooms are compact and even have a real coffee machine for your use within a small kitchenette. The rooms were clean and the decor was very stylish. The location was very central to one of the main shopping and restaurant areas of Buenos Aires. We had an early flight the following morning and the hotel organised a private transfer for us for a small and reasonable fee. Would definitely stay again when next in BA.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasesinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I loved this place and would recommend it to everyone. There is an immediate calming, oasis-like experience just walking in, passing the pool on the way to the elevators. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to tourist attactions. There is good security (in that your room key activates the elevators). Rooms are large and bright with lots of shelving. The air conditoner works quietly. The beds are the most comfortable I slept in. Breakfast is excellent with lots of variety. The only negative things I can think of are the electrical outlets are positioned in such a way I had to support my electrical adaptors so they wouldn't pull out the the sockets. We also had occasional wifi outages. Easily a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justvisiting50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked 1 night via their website and then a week through our timeshare. So 8 nights in total. There was 4 of us. 2 adults and 2 children.

I had emailed them a number of times to try and see if we would be able to keep the same room and also to try and organise a transfer from EZE which they promote is available on their website. Unfortunately they never responded to my request regarding the rooms and I did get a response for the transfer once I posted on their Facebook page but they wanted me to get back in touch with them a week before arrival and this was not going to be possible as we were already travelling in South America, so we just organised a private transfer. Once we checked in and I asked if we could stay in the same room it was not a problem.

Our room was very clean and faced Plaza Rodriguez Pena. We had large windows which opened and it was nice to be able to let in fresh air rather than constant air-conditioning. We had a bath which was a bonus and did not find any smells as per previous reviews. There was a chair that seemed to be a waste of space an we found it unusable. We had a large king bed and the 2 sofa lounges were made up as single beds for the kids. There was a microwave and mini fridge, although no microwave bowls. (We ended up buying a few from the DISCO supermarket which is in the next street).

There was also a coffee machine but we felt it was very expensive and ended up buying a kettle from a department store for AUD 30 which we ended up using often to boil water for drinking during our 2 months in South America.

The curtains completely blacked out the room which was handy when we needed to sleep in the afternoon before a 2am flight out.

We didn't hear any noises from other rooms except for a party on the Saturday night in the hotel next door which didn't stop until 4am.

The transfer from EZE took about 30 minutes in the early evening.

The pool that is seen in many photos is NOT for swimming.

We were able to exchange money at the hotel easily. At the time it was 1US=8ARS and the official rate through the bank was 1US=5ARS.

The mini bar was expensive (a small bottle of water or a can of coke was AUD 4). As we arrived late we used a few items and then replenished it the following morning from the supermarket which was much cheaper.

Wi-Fi was free and we found the connection to be very strong in our room as well as throughout the hotel. It never dropped out during our 8 day stay and we used it a lot.

We found the location to be perfect. Directly across the road from Plaza Rodriguez Pena where we went most evenings after dinner so the kids could play on the playground. There were kids playing soccer, people walking their dogs and just enjoying the park. We felt very safe. Yes there are some homeless people on 1 side of the park but they do not bother anyone and mind their own business. We found out later that they are the ones who sometimes get robbed while they sleep. Sad.

1 block away from Av Sante Fe which was great walking down at night time. Again we never felt unsafe in any areas around the hotel either during the day or night.

Taxis were plentiful right out front of the hotel and we found it easier when coming back after a day out to say Plaza Rodriguez Pena rather than the name of the Av. Taxis during the day start at 1100ARS when you get in and go up in increments of 1.10 for every 200 meters driven of 1 minute of waiting.

Breakfast was available each morning from 7.30am to 10.30am. There was a huge variety of juices, hot drinks, yoghurts, 3 hot foods, cakes, breads, croissants, cereals, cold meats and cheeses.

Check out was very easy and hassle free. We had received our account under the door the day before to be able to check.

The majority of the staff spoke English well and were very helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It's not cheap to stay here and competition is tough when you start getting into this price bracket, so I was torn between giving it a 3/5 or a 4/5.

1) The breakfast is quite impressive for Argentina, there is a really good selection.
2) The staff are very friendly and helpful
3) The rooms are a good, our toilet/bathroom was a little bit smelly at times (poor drainage?)
4) There is a gym off-site but no swimming pool (our RCI info led us to believe that there was)

In my opinion it isn't a strong 4/5 purely because it is quite expensive for what you get overall. Nevertheless, my stay was pleasant enough to warrant a 4/5 experience, but then I had just spent the last couple of weeks in a dorm!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice enough to upgrade us since we were on our honeymoon and it was my husbands birthday, so we ended up in a suite with a huge balcony.

The bed was comfy and the bathroom was spacious, we appeared to be the only room on the floor too so that was a bonus.

This hotel appears to be just on the outskirts of Recoleta, which is ok but I found walking at night was a bit nerve wracking. The street it is on is ok in some parts but not in others, and we walked it for a while to get to the restaurant we had dinner at.

Good value, friendly staff and clean rooms. Can't ask for much more... Unless you want to stay closer to the tourist centre, then move closer into Recoleta, and to the cemetery.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ELP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
cE Hotel de Diseno
cE Hotel de Diseno
#77 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#47 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#132 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Hotel
Ayres de Recoleta Hotel
#163 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Buenos Aires

Property: Design Suites Buenos Aires
Address: Marcelo T. de Alvear 1683, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Suites Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable contemporary design, rooms with city views and hydro massage bathtubs can be enjoyed just 1 block from elegant Santa Fe Avenue. The lobby boasts an indoor reflecting pool and an art gallery. Wi-Fi is free.Design Suites Buenos Aires offers 4-star style facilities just 4 blocks from Callao subway station. Guests have free access to a top of the line gym 1 block and a half away.Air conditioned rooms feature designer style furniture with minimalistic inspired decor. There are flat-screen TVs and kitchenettes with microwaves and coffee makers.A full buffet breakfast with croissants and regional jams can be enjoyed in the dining area, decorated with local artwork. The restaurant offers a varied dining menu and room service.The historic Recoleta Cemetery and world renowned Colon Theater are less than 10 blocks away.Jorge Newbery Airport is 3 miles from the Suites. Private parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Suites Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites And Towers Hotel Buenos Aires
Design Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing