We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #107 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It is an old refurbished hotel located in the hart of the city, all theaters nearby at walking distance one block away from the famous Corrientes Avenue and the Obelisk.
I recommend it and always use it when traveling to BA

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bj8plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    346
    189
    33
    16
See reviews for
182
303
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BUNBURY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five few days in May 2013. It is well located within walking distance to shopping precinct and many tourist facilities in Buenos Aires. We walked everywhere. Our room was clean and comfortable and we considered it good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the service in the restaurant so much on our first evening in the hotel that we chose to eat there every night. Buenos Aires is a large bustling city and may seem noisy to some. Like many big cities, the city noise can be heard in the hotel rooms but we did not find it so loud or annoying that it distracted us from sleeping. May not be 5 star but recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed here a few days ago continuing my tour of Argentina and Buenos Aires. I stayed in Buenos Aires for 6 days which, in my opinion is too long. It is a very big city and the downtown area has about 3M people. Greater Buenos Aires is almost 13M. There is only so much you can do here though.

Hotel Bristol is regarded as a four star hotel. However, given its location on one of the widest streets in the world and the noise carrying through the hotel I would give this place 3.5 stars. The road this hotel is located on is Avenue 9 de Julio. It is 140 meters across and has a ton of traffic on it day and night.

Having noticed this as I checked in I requested a quiet room. I was given a room on the 7th floor not facing the main road. It was clean and well laid out. I believe there are 9 floors here. When I closed my bedroom door I could not really hear the traffic on the other side. However, I could easily hear people talking between the walls and floors. Most hotels in Argentina whether 2 or 4 star have very poor soundproofing; often the rooms are adjoining and you can hear everything! There are connecting doors, but not in Hotel Bristol.

The sockets in this hotel and Argentina in general, have the same kind as Australia and are 220V. This hotel and all the others I stayed in Argentina do not have radio/alarm clocks. You have to rely on getting a wakeup call (if there is a phone in the first place in your room!) or taking your cell phone with you. There was a phone in my room in Hotel Bristol and one night I asked for a wakeup call. I never got it the next morning though. I believe this is often the language barrier. Other places are just incompetent.

Checkout is 10am here. On my last day in Buenos Aires I was flying out at 6pm. I wanted to stay in the hotel until 3pm. This was easily requested with the front desk, though for a fee of $USD 60 or $Pesos 300. I found the staff in general polite and well mannered.

Room Tip: Remember to stay on the side of the hotel not facing traffic. In addition stay away from elevators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWithoutBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

in general, this is an old budget type hotel. facility is well kept but not updated.

the good:
- location is a block away from the oblisk on the july 9th avenue, the very center of the city.
- many eateries near the hotel from mcd's and b'king's to local restaurants, pizzarias, bars, etc.
- metro (subte) station is nearby if you plan to use it
- hotel staff are friendly
- walking distance to main tourist sites from 1km to 5km, taxi cab is also cheap, 5km will run you 50 pesos
- we booked three stays at non-refundable rates, quite a bit less than the normal rate. if you need flexibility you might want to reconsider.

the bad:
- surrounding areas are where thieves gather. however, if you don't have your expensive wares shown on the outside you'll be all right. and this isn't the hotel's fault.
- hotel charges more for airport transfer than if you book your own, i.e. with eze taxi. to eze it's 250p vs 180p. guess hotel has to take a cut.
- the view rooms facing the july 9th avenue are very noisy 24/7. but it does have views of the oblisk. if you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms not facing the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Without doubt the Hotel Bristol is superbly situated in Buenos Aries, with all the main attractions within easy walking distance. Unfortunately, on the inside the decor and facilities were somewhat dated and tatty. The dining room breakfast was excellent, but when we had an early morning departure and requested breakfast in our room it did not arrive. The reception desk then provided a cup of tea and a bit of dry cake, which didn't exactly set us off well for a day's travelling!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burien, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Staff were very helpful. We were allowed to check in at 9 a.m. as flights arrive early from the US Staff was helpful in arranging a topnotch tango show. Also came to the room promptly when I could not figure out the safe. Room was quite decent with good internet and kept very clean and surprisingly quiet for being on a very busy street. Breakfast is quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Bristol is an old-fashioned hotel with friendly, helpful staff, comfortable well-appointed rooms and a generous buffet breakfast. The lifts are worthy of a heritage listing and are fun to use. The postion near the obelisk is within walking distance of many attractions.

Room Tip: Book a room off the main street as it is noisy. A rather ugly outlook into a light-well is the trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#69 of 446 in Buenos Aires
707 reviews
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#84 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,005 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#112 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#45 of 446 in Buenos Aires
746 reviews
San Nicolas
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
#128 of 446 in Buenos Aires
469 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Globales Republica
Hotel Globales Republica
#183 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Cerrito 286, Buenos Aires C1010AAF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol is also 10 blocks from Puerto Madero, a typical touristic spot and stylish restaurant area, and just one block away from Corrientes Avenue, a major theater and entertainment venue. The rooms have ample windows and laminated floors, some of them with a view of the city. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, mini bar and safty box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing