We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different view of BA”
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Impala
Ranked #215 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 24 February 2012

on arrival in BA back in early jan. we stayed in a hostel near the microcenter for one night before picking up our car. it left us with a fairly dull view of the city. returning 5 weeks later (and 2 months sooner than planned due to a family emergency) we checked into what for us was quite the upgrade from what we'd been accustomed to. we were greeted by the spanish-only speaking senor oscar and the helpful and wonderfully bilingual sebastien. our room was clean, roomy enough and well-appointed. and on the 8th floor, which was fine until the night we returned to find the power out and the stairs just waiting for us. i felt like robert redford in "barefoot in the park" when he returns from work to discover his 5th floor walk-up. breakfast was varied and well-stocked which was a nice change. i imagine a stodgier bunch might find this place lacking but for ageing backpackers such as ourselves it was, as i said, a nice upgrade.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

We would rate this at about 1-2 star due to
Location not central
Rooms smell of stale cigarette smoke
Beds small and uncomfortable with one flat pillow we each. Prison pillows are better
Rooms are noisy
Breakfast average. Bread often a little old
Safes in rooms don't work
Staff are slow to fix anything
On the plus side: staff is friendly
Bed linen not changed regularly

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at theback of the building away from traffic. Ask for a double if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This is a decent enough hotel but the staff are what really make the difference.
My wife developed laryngitis shortly after arriving in Buenos Aires. Diego and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. They phoned taxis and doctors for us, helped us change check our changed flights and generally helped us sort ourselves out during the stay. It would have been a very different experience without their help.
The hotel was well located for getting around town and was good value for money.
It's easy to walk to town from there and it is handy for La Recoleta.
The only downside was that on our second stay there we got the very last room (which is obviously kept in reserve) but they did offer to change us the next day.
I'd just like to say another thank you to Diego. You really made our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The worst thing about this hotel is the horrible sound proofing. When you are in the room and someone does something in the room next to yours or in the corridor - you can hear everything. of course, after some time you get used to it and you feel like at home when your family members walk arond in the eveing, but in the beginning it was like a shck (although I read reviews at booking.com, but still it was a big surprise for me). The breakfast was also quite average, I do not remember any hot meal (except toasts). Of course, normally you do not need to eat too much but for some people it can be important. However, the location is very nice, you can go by feet to most of attractions, and if you can not or do not want to go by feet you can always choose a taxi as an option to travel everywehere for a bit of money. But I would not recommend this hotel, despite it good price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mordva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed that this hotel for four nights at the end of a 7 week South American trip before heading back to Sydney. Given the location, the nightly tariff was good value at US$55. We found the English speaking front desk staff extremely helpful (booking restaurants, checking airline details etc), much better service then you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

Breakfast is included with the room tariff. The buffet consisted of fresh fruits, pastries, yoghurt, bread, meat and cheeses, hot and cold drinks. No hot food, but given the room rate we paid, a very good spread.

The rooms were small, but this wouldn’t be unexpected in this area of town at this price point. Rooms at the back of the hotel only have limited natural light, via a light well....these rooms should be avoided. Ask for an upper level room at the front or the side of the building. Noise isn’t an issue as the windows are double glazed, and there are external roller shutters that block the noise out very well. The bathrooms are very small.....not easy to navigate in and out of the room when opening the door.

A VERY big .....BUT..... about this place is the quality of the beds. The first night we didn't arrive until 1am. We were put into room 555, a twin room. Both the beds were dreadful......just horrible.....there must have been about 2 millimetres of fabric between the springs and the sheets.....very old and worn mattresses. After travelling for 6 weeks, in some very dodgy hotels and hostels, these beds were the worst we had encountered. Fortunately we were so tired that night this wasn't much of an issue. The next morning, I asked to see another room. I was given the card for room on the 6th floor. Same problem.....dreadful beds. I was then shown to more rooms on the 7th floor.......much better....almost brand new mattresses.....same mattress, but obviously these rooms at been used far less frequently.

Overall, at a tariff of US$55 (with breakfast) this hotel offers good value for this area of BA as long you can find a comfortable mattress. The rooms were quiet and clean, and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

we booked for a group of 7 people(1 single bed room and 3 double bed).Our major problem with this hotel(night/evening front desk) started as checking in.They gave us 1 double and 3 single bed rooms even though we had reserve confirmated by local travel operator(cvc Brasil).when my wife and i got upstairs the room was with three single beds,and the room in front of ours, was like we booked. we immediatly went to talk to front desk thinking he had make a mistake.But he said that he had no double bed room available,in spite of we had seen the room like we booked in front of ours(the door was open and we checked that it was available).After some minutes arguing .. the front desk said it was cvc(local travel operator) fault.The amazing thing was that the cvc employee(Andres) was hearing all that talk and did nothing about...not a single word to help us.We did all the talk !
After our awful arriving at this hotel, what else can we say about our stay ?!Front desk(evening/night ) staff always with a fake smile on face.All the information that he gave us ,or was wrong or was imprecise . No complaints about all the other staff wich were friendly(maid,breakfast staff,lobby bar,etc...)
About the room :clean,small,leaking sink,uncomfortable bed with short sheets for that size of bed.The minibar ,the air conditioning/heat system and the hair dryer were ok.Thin walls and noisy rooms, like the major old buildings in Buenos Aires.
Free internet at the lobby(one machine),fair breakfast .And we also tried the chorizo beef with fries ,wich was tasty(good point at lobby bar).
Good location :near recoleta,near 9 de julio,2 blocks away from the supermarket and good restaurants and coffees. 15/20 minutes walking distance for florida street and galeria pacifico.One block from Santa fe subway.5/10 minutes walking distance from Patio Bullrich mall.Definitely good location !!

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Disconildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We booked through Gate 1 Travel. It is rated 3* but I think they forgot to put the minus sign before the 3. The reception is shabby, old fashioned and dirty. The rooms were worse. They were not only dirty but so filthy that what appeared to be a grey line around the base boards without my glasses on, turned out to be dust so thick and impacted it was a permanent feature! The orange carpets were stained so badly it looked like a kennel rug and the walls were splattered with liquids of goodness knows what. The view was a huge elevator shaft wall with trash at the bottom of it. What a let down! One thing in it's favour was the friendliness of the young lads in reception. You could see they got plenty of complaints and were unhappy about them, but because they didn't speak a word of English it was difficult to explain anything. There are a number of 4 star hotels in the same street that are of a much higher standard and only a few dollars more. We booked for 3 nights and at 6am after the first night we moved out.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelnutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Embajador Hotel
Embajador Hotel
#196 of 444 in Buenos Aires
433 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Sheltown
Hotel Sheltown
#321 of 444 in Buenos Aires
320 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#400 of 444 in Buenos Aires
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#192 of 444 in Buenos Aires
207 reviews
Retiro
Dora Hotel
Dora Hotel
#191 of 444 in Buenos Aires
296 reviews
Retiro
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
#375 of 444 in Buenos Aires
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: Calle Libertad 1215, Buenos Aires C1012AAY, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most elegant area of Buenos Aires, the Recoleta neighborhood. The hotel has an exceptional Access to the most prestigious cultural and entertainment centers of the city of Buenos Aires.The hotel has 60 comfortable rooms.Apart from its excellent location, the hotel offers valet service in its own private parking garage, Business Center, WI-FI in the entire hotel, Bar, Restaurant, Meeting Rooms, Room Service 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing