We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recolata retreat.”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #182 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Micro Center for a week then upgraded to the Recolata area that is far more user friendly and alot nicer area. The recolata area is more up market with fabulous architecture , footpaths that are not all broken up, less chance of being robbed and decent shopping.
the hotel is basic but clean, the foyer presentation exceed the room Facilities but cotton sheets, clean and tidy with wi fi that worked, a decent choice of food for breakfast and helpful reception staff,
so this is not a honeymoon hotel destination, this is cheap accomadation in a great location, and if you like good value and save on your room rate to spend on a decent meal then this is for you.

Room Tip: Like indian curries ? Visit the Delhi Mahal on 1147 Cordoba only 7 blocks away and enjoy a decent me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HachiNakagawa, Gerente at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos mucho los comentarios sobre el Hotel Solans Carlton de Buenos Aires. Esperamos puedan visitarnos pronto nuevamente y les deseamos un excelente nuevo año 2014 !!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is well located. It's within walking distance of Recolata, the obelisk, and shopping. It's also close to puerto madero. The hotel is very clean, not fancy. The price is very resobable. The breakfast is included, and had more than just coffee, and pastry. I can't say enough about how great the staff was! They went as far as leaving a box of chocolate with an anniversary card in my room when they overheard one of my friends wishing me happy anniversary. Everyone from the maid Victoria, to all of the front desk, and confeteria staff paid attention to detail. Whenever we called for ice or anything they were right there! Most of the staff spoke English. They made us feel welcome and safe!

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel. There was nothing to see, but no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DulcelelecheAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HachiNakagawa, Gerente at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios !!!! Nos da mucho gusto saber que se han sentido cómodos con nosotros, fue un placer tenerlos como Huéspedes en el Hotel Solans Carlton de Buenos Aires. Esperamos vuelvan a visitarnos pronto. Que tengan un muy buen año !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Well located, convenient hotel.
Small rooms but very comfy lounge. Very friendly + helpfull staff.

In the room the airco is a bit noisy.
Many restaurants and shops nearby.

We got the room at a good last minute rate (appx US$70, booked 3 weeks in advance), but the rate advertised at the reception would be excessive (appx US$ 200)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolansCarlton, Gerente at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped: Muchas gracias por sus observaciones !! Lo esperamos cuando guste nuevamente y quedamos a su disposición para lo que necesite. Cordiales saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three weeks in June of 2011. We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel needs some remodeling but overall it is very clean and the staff were always nice and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Next to Recoleta neighborhood and within walking distance to the Centro and other sites of interest.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank camiloquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel over 25 times in the last 10 years and it never has failed to satisfy me. The hotel is on the old side but very well maintained. The rooms are on the small side but more than adequate. The staff is outstanding with wonderful service. The price is very good for Buenos Aires and gives good value for the money.

If you want a luxury hotel, you might look elsewhere. However, for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Carlton september 2011 and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is old but very well kept.Keep in mind that the hotels in B.A. usually get more stars than deserve, so if you see 4 stars it means it is a three star hotel at top.In this special case the distinction lays on the staff's professionalism and the hotel location.I'm a boutique hotel enjoyer but I think it is very dangerous to assume that a little hotel can be named as a boutique based only in its size. We've tryed a smaller(boutique) hotel before and we're very disappointed but this time it was more than good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a lcd tv ,try to choose them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I stayed with my wife and our 1 year old daughter for six days right after christmas.
It is a good value for its price range, the location is OK.
People that work there were very kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luizclaudiotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Cyan Americas Towers Hotel
Cyan Americas Towers Hotel
#199 of 440 in Buenos Aires
76 reviews
Retiro
Own Recoleta
Own Recoleta
#135 of 440 in Buenos Aires
522 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#214 of 440 in Buenos Aires
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Hotel Bisonte Libertad
Hotel Bisonte Libertad
#180 of 440 in Buenos Aires
571 reviews
Retiro
Regente Palace Hotel
Regente Palace Hotel
#105 of 440 in Buenos Aires
900 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#85 of 440 in Buenos Aires
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Calle Libertad 1180 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1012AAX, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £38 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Buenos Aires. Hotel Carlton Buenos Aires, one of the most prestigious hotels of the capital city of Argentina, is conveniently located in the Recoleta neighborhood in the city of Buenos Aires. This hotel offers all the amenities our guests deserve in a strategic area of Buenos Aires.EL HOTELHotel Carlton is located at the entrance of the exclusive neighborhood Recoleta. Located a few meters away Santa Fe Avenue and one street from the famous 9 de Julio Avenue, the hotel is near traditional and modern restaurants as well as museums, theaters, art galleries, design venues and the best international stores. Thanks to its privileged location, the hotel is only a few steps away from the financial and banking area of downtown and at the same time it’s surrounded by pleasant streets, parks and a stunning French architecture.The hotel features a total of 84 rooms, two meeting facilities with different capacities and provides the services of catering for events, laundry, dry cleaner’s, business center, WiFi in all the building, medical service with 24/7 coverage, an external gym free of charge, security service and CCTV (please see Rooms for more information).With a hotel staff graduated from the bests schools of the country, Hotel Carlton is an excellent combination of a strategic location, high quality and convenient prices, making it perfect for your stay in Buenos Aires.Location of Hotel Carlton in Buenos Aires. Hotel Carlton is excellently located in the Recoleta neighborhood in Buenos Aires. Check out this map to see the exact location of the Hotel Carlton in Buenos Aires.Rooms of Hotel Carlton in Buenos Aires. Its pleasant atmosphere and comfortable rooms make Hotel Carlton Buenos Aires one of the best hotels in the city of Buenos Aires. This hotel features rooms designed for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing