We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Ranked #205 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Tarragona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good price”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It is located close to the Avenida Corrientes and to other famous streets (Calle Florida). Its location keeps it quiet during the night (at variance with other Hotels in Buenos Aires). Nice and comfortable rooms, with a good quality/price ratio. Good breakfast, but it could be improved.
I did not like the lifts: too small.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lius84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    165
    91
    30
    16
See reviews for
100
100
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville,Ky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is two blocks from mayor fareways, but its sorroundings are scary to say the least.
The lobby is confortable and the front desk personell is somewhat friendly but that is about all I can say about the place.
If you try to go to the rooms past the second floor, it has two elevators that fit only two people at a time, so it is an ordeal to try to get your luggage and youself in it at the same time; not to mention trying to catch it to go down during the day.
Literally, my wife and I stood for 20 minutes waiting for an empty elevator to go down for breakfast one morning, finally we gave up and used the stairwell.
The room has twin beds fit for 10yr old kids, if you are over 5'-5" be prepare to have your feet hang out of the bed. there are no outlets to charge a phone or a camara battery.
Everything is tiny we felt like we were in a doll's house. the hallways are decorated with carpet half ofway up the walls and the odor was not pleasant , it looked dirty as it was the room.
They must use starch on their bed sheets, they are stiff and wrough to the touch .
Their breakfast was somewhat decent, but when they run out of something ,which is usally the good stuff, it was rarely replenished.
The only night we went out to see a show we found someone sleeping at the door of the hotel on the street.
Definately BsAS have better hotels for about the same price .

Room Tip: get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajerofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Longmont, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This was our second trip to Buenos Aires in two years. Previously we stayed two blocks away at Rooney's Boutique Hotel. Much larger and nicer rooms, but $185.00 a night compared to $65.00. The breakfast at Sarmiento was much better without a doubt and it was served for a long period each day. The real drawback to Rooney's is the two discos directly below it on street level. It was so loud for 6 nights that we hardly slept. I would never stay there again. The Sarmiento is small, older and nicely kept. The rooms are not big to say the least, but they were clean. Old yes, but clean was the key. The staff was very polite and helpful when needed. Only a couple spoke English, but that is typical in BA.

We are going back next winter and will plan to stay here again. It's about 1 1/2 blocks to the metro and one block from the theatre district. This area of BA is extremely central to everywhere and this price just can't be beat.

My pictures are not too awesome as they were a quick after thought. You can simply see them for size and age. The stuff in the rooms is old, but the AC worked great and the rooms were fine. Not the Ritz, but comfortable for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The hotel was not very clean. Noisy room on the street. Called 4 times to fix air-conditioner - last time maid stuffed a piece of paper in the switch to keep it on. Ants on the crossiants at breakfast. Some unprofessional people at the front desk - man clipping his nails at the front desk. Charged for breakfast but never had breakfast - had trouble removing it from our bill. Had them call a cab for airport - half an hour late - saw at least a dozen cabs go by - finally a front desk person hailed a cab and negotiated a airport fee - 45 minutes later. This is the first bad review I have written but I had to warn other travelers. We tried to change hotels but others were full. Beware!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangotravelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed here for quite a few nights before a wedding... location was excellent for eating, shopping, and clubs... free wireless high speed internet should be an essential in all hotels these days and it was a nice surprise to find it here... staff were very friendly

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Well, this title really sums up most European Style hotels, doesn't it. The hotel provided a very pleasant stay. The staff was friendly, the prices were reasonable, and the bar was a great place to meet other guests and friends we were traveling with. They even served late night sandwich snacks (although I wouldn't rely on them to fill you up!). Rooms were average sized for a european style hotel. The location was a little off the beaten track, but you could easily walk to all the main areas in 15 minutes. Plus, you get a little bit of the local feel in the surrounding neighborhood, which was safe as far as we could tell. The only downside was that the hot-tub wasn't open while we were there. Oh well, can't have it all.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodTravelerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

I had a fantastic experience with this cozy, comfortable, well located, and overall affordable place. Scrumptious breakfast. A great little gem.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheepwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
BA Central Hotel
#177 of 445 in Buenos Aires
359 reviews
San Nicolas
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
#111 of 445 in Buenos Aires
497 reviews
Bauen Suite Hotel
#218 of 445 in Buenos Aires
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#149 of 445 in Buenos Aires
503 reviews
Hotel Lyon
#243 of 445 in Buenos Aires
74 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#223 of 445 in Buenos Aires
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarmiento Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarmiento Palace Hotel

Property: Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Address: 1953-55 Sarmiento, Buenos Aires 1044AAC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarmiento Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarmiento Palace Hotel recently modernized facilities provide:Included Services Buffet breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice Wireless connection to Internet available through out our facilities Courtesy PCs with Broadband Internet Solarium Hot tubs Fitness center All rooms include individual air-conditioner, heating, cable TV, safety box, private bathroom with hairdryer, box-spring mattress, telephone, electronic lock and wake up service 24 hours reception, concierge and room service Back up power generator Messages to host from our Web siteOptional services Club with spa, swimming pool, fitness center and free classes (Tango, Pilates, Aqua Gym and many others) Bar Restaurant Private indoor parking Conference Center with air-conditioner, PC with Internet, TV, DVD and writing board Business center Fax LaundryLocationWe are located in one of the safest centric zones of Buenos Aires, one block away from the famous Corrientes and Callao Avenues, at three blocks from the National Congress and steps away from theaters, restaurants and cultural / entertainment complexes. Less than ten blocks away are the Obelisco, 9 de Julio Ave., Recoleta and the Abasto Shopping Center (the largest in the Capital framed in a typical tango neighborhood) along with the "Children’s Museum", the only one of its kind in Latin America. Additionally, we are one block away from a Metro Station for easy and cheap access to almost all important points of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sarmiento Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarmiento Palace Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing