We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarmiento Palace Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Ranked #204 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Sarmiento Palace Hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived in Buenos Airies on Xmas Eve staying at the Sarmiento Palace Hotel. The Hotel is about 35 minutes from Ministro Pistarini (EZE) airport. The Hotel arranged for an airport pickup. The staff were very helpful. The room was excellent. I highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank demonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks Michael and Nellie for your comments. We try always to do our best to satisfy our guests. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!!

We wish you a happy new year, all the best wishes!

Kind Regards,

Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    165
    90
    30
    16
See reviews for
99
100
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Although I didn't have a poor experience with this hotel, it wasn't great either. As they say, "the devil is in the details," and I felt that customer service was lacking in small ways that made our overall experience just average.

I stayed in a 9th floor triple which was a little tight for three beds, but barely toed the line between cozy rather than too small. The breakfast was pretty good - pastry, fresh orange juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals, coffee/tea, and warm eggs and hot dogs (which I didn't try). It has a good location near buses, metro, and although there isn't a ton to do at night in that part of the city, its centrality makes it easy to get to other parts of the city.

Now, the details I was talking about:
* Although our room was kept clean, we had to call several times for fresh towels; sometimes the towels arrived, sometimes they didn't.
* Every two days, our room keys stopped working. This wasn't deactivation by proximity to cell phones or the like - it was all three keys at once on a standard two-day cycle, and for an eight-day stay, very annoying. When we repeatedly asked why at reception, it was laughed off and we weren't given an explanation.
* The air-con in the lobby broke one night and began dripping water everywhere. I watched as the receptionists moved the couch below the AC unit but made no move to clean the water or put up signage to warn guests (as there was a woman who was a victim of the spray). For the next few days, I saw that the lobby was in a bit of disarray with the couch moved out of the way but water still all over the floor.
* The internet was very spotty everywhere but the lobby, and when we asked, "it was being worked on" with no timeline for resolution.

The above issues aren't deal breakers, but it was the inattentiveness and lack of customer service by the staff that concerned me the most. I don't think I'd recommend a stay here, or if so, go in with low expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had at the hotel. Unfortunately we are trying to do our best to improve the air conditioning conditions by working on a solution.
The problem with the keys is because we are changing the system in order to provide an unique key to the guest and do not desactivate it during the stay.

Thanks for your comments.

Best regards

Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I go to Buenos Aires fairly frequently, and I have always stayed here. It's extremely conveniently located (one block from the Red line subway) and only a few blocks from major cross streets (Corrientes and Callao). The hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff who are always ready to do what they can to make your stay pleasant. For the price, you can't beat the quality of the service or the value of the rooms. I'll be back the next time I'm in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street (noisy in the evening). Lower floors are more convenient since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments. We wait for you soon again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very nice hotel. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff willing to help. Very comfortable rooms, which were clean and spacious. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet with a large variety of options to pick from. We also had a delicious meal at their local restaurant. Would highly recommend to any and all visiting!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks a lot James for all the comments made.

We are glad to hear every single opinion!

We wait for you soon again.

Best regards,

Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

During check-in one my carry-on bag was stolen containing cameras, lenses, laptop etc. as well as all my photos of a two-week tour of Brazil. My request to view the footage of the incident on the CCTV was denied. Inside job ?

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Odette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Odette,

Like I said the same day of the incident, I am so sorry for what happened to you. Really it was the first time, and we acted the best we could.

The cameras were not working due to a problem on the system and the insurance did not recognize the missing bag.

We are sure that somebody from the outside was the responsable because all the employees here have been working for 10 or more years.

So sorry again.

Yours sinceraly,

Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed 3 separate times as we passed through Buenos Airies. Rooms varied in size, with 2 including tea making facilities. All were clean and with air conditioning. Elevator is tiny - barely enough room for 2 people with suitcases. Service we found exceptional - and good English. They ensured our requirements were met. We had several airport transfers, all arranged by the hotel. Apart from an early morning no-show to go to the airport (which the hotel quickly covered at 5am), all their arrangements were excellent. Restaurant available but evening meals start at 8pm (which we found a little late) - however several good alternatives available 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments. It is a pleasure to us satisfy all the requirements and wishes of our guests.

We wait for you soon again. Happy new year.

Best regards,

Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

If you expect all that you see in the photos online, you will be disappointed. But I had a great stay nonetheless. The staff was most of the reason for that. They went out of their way to be courteous and helpful, and fix problems I had with my room (which resulted in my changing to another room). I wish I remembered her name - the female supervisor of the desk staff was exceptionally capable and helpful to me.

The elevator is tiny - two people, or one person with luggage is plenty! I was in Buenos Aires for a conference, and walked nearly everywhere I needed to go and I was fine.

Know that the hot tub is outdoors, and was not functional in winter (I was there in August). The photos are of places like the lobby bathroom (beautiful, but your room won't look like that!) and the spa which is off premises. I didn't hold the photo situation against them - of course a hotel wants to show you the best of what they've got. And, as I said, the staff was as sincere and helpful as you could ask of any human doing those jobs. There's a small "fitness center" in the basement; a small bar in the lobby. If you do not expect New York City luxury hotel, and know that you are in a small hotel where the staff are doing what they can to raise the reputation of an aging hotel, you will be fine. I think it's a fine hotel, and not a bad bargain. I would certainly stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstruck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina Solange A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thanks a lot for your comment!! We appreciate every single observation to improve our service. We wait for you soon again.

Kind regards. Lic. Melina Solange Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
BA Central Hotel
#184 of 446 in Buenos Aires
359 reviews
San Nicolas
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
#112 of 446 in Buenos Aires
495 reviews
Bauen Suite Hotel
#219 of 446 in Buenos Aires
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyon
#249 of 446 in Buenos Aires
74 reviews
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#144 of 446 in Buenos Aires
500 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#234 of 446 in Buenos Aires
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarmiento Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarmiento Palace Hotel

Property: Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Address: 1953-55 Sarmiento, Buenos Aires 1044AAC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarmiento Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarmiento Palace Hotel recently modernized facilities provide:Included Services Buffet breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice Wireless connection to Internet available through out our facilities Courtesy PCs with Broadband Internet Solarium Hot tubs Fitness center All rooms include individual air-conditioner, heating, cable TV, safety box, private bathroom with hairdryer, box-spring mattress, telephone, electronic lock and wake up service 24 hours reception, concierge and room service Back up power generator Messages to host from our Web siteOptional services Club with spa, swimming pool, fitness center and free classes (Tango, Pilates, Aqua Gym and many others) Bar Restaurant Private indoor parking Conference Center with air-conditioner, PC with Internet, TV, DVD and writing board Business center Fax LaundryLocationWe are located in one of the safest centric zones of Buenos Aires, one block away from the famous Corrientes and Callao Avenues, at three blocks from the National Congress and steps away from theaters, restaurants and cultural / entertainment complexes. Less than ten blocks away are the Obelisco, 9 de Julio Ave., Recoleta and the Abasto Shopping Center (the largest in the Capital framed in a typical tango neighborhood) along with the "Children’s Museum", the only one of its kind in Latin America. Additionally, we are one block away from a Metro Station for easy and cheap access to almost all important points of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sarmiento Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarmiento Palace Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing