We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Palermo”
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
Ranked #127 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The property is an old convent/nunnery and has a little extra charm because of that. In addition, the location in Palermo is really excellent if you want to stay in Palermo (we enjoyed our other stay in Recoleta a bit more- slightly more residential, cleaner, etc). Service was good and staff spoke reasonable English. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast consisted of fruit/yogurt/pastries/pretty good coffee and was pretty good for a few days. They also had a reasonable discount for paying in USD. Overall, a nice, clean well located place to stay if you want to stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: We did a 2nd floor room with a private (tiny, but private) bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived 11am ish - room not ready which wasn't great after an overnight flight but we were given refreshments in their lounge area and we popped out for lunch. You have accept this I guess in smaller places, they just don't have the number of rooms available for early check-ins.

We stayed in a room with our own private bathroom which was across the hallway, I was initially nervous about this set up but it worked just fine for us. Both the room and bathroom were tastefully decorated.

The young woman on the desk called Cynthia was fantastic, full of suggestions and ideas on restaurants and things to do. We like the fact that we could eat breakfast at 'any time' - we always ate alone so I guess everyone else got up earlier than us.

Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and allowed us to practise our Spanish with the young woman in the kitchen (who never stopped smiling !)

This was our second trip to BA, we much preferred this area of the city and this boutique hotel compared to the chain hotel we stayed in previously. I enjoyed the personal service which was delivered in a friendly but professional manner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Malabia House is a wonderful, cozy hotel in an ideal location in Palermo Soho, within easy walking distance to everything in this part of town. The rooms are tidy, tastefully and simply decorated, maximizing space. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful...they make you feel at home. This is really a great place to stay--location, price, beautiful space, and staff. Would recommend it in a second to anyone traveling to Buenos Aires!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It is a small boutique hotel with charm and people that care. I have been there twice, always very helpful attendants. This is my story there. Once, I arrived at 4 or 5 am in the morning after the Milongas of BA, breakfast is up to 10 am. I woke up around noon, and when I went to the kitchen and I was pleasantly surprised, they had prepared my breakfast, the whole table all for myself, with fruits, fresh coffee, eggs, croissants (facturitas). It felt like home when you were a kid and your mom had the food ready when you wake up :). I could not believe it and I never forget. Remember, it is always good to be nice to the people that serve us too and make them comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingtheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

That's my third time in Malabia House. Again, a lovely stay. The staff is very courteous, the location is great, breakfast is better than the average. All together makes Malabia House a great option.
As cons, the rooms are a bit tight, with little furniture.
Definitely, worths a stay, specially with the benefits-costs ratio.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had such a lovely visit, a 5 night stay at the Malabia House - something came together with the kind hospitality and friendliness of the staff, little interior pocket gardens and this beautiful area of BA - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwells45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I often complain about customer service in Buenos Aires. It is just not something you can rely on, unfortunately. However, at 1555 Malabia, the service was very good. I must agree with other reviewers in that the breakfast and area/location are great. However, it is possible to find something better in the same price range...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroDiazNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#146 of 444 in Buenos Aires
296 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#24 of 444 in Buenos Aires
667 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#126 of 444 in Buenos Aires
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Five Cool Rooms
Five Cool Rooms
#380 of 444 in Buenos Aires
158 reviews
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#374 of 444 in Buenos Aires
336 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#30 of 444 in Buenos Aires
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Address: Calle Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#80 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing