We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly disappointing”
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
Ranked #139 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“slightly disappointing”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

given the price (100 usd a night) i was disappointed. the room was good but had no window. the bathroom was very very tiny and there were lots of black marks on the wall, looked kind of old.
the service was super friendly but slightly disorganised. the location however is awesome.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    158
    29
    17
    8
See reviews for
43
288
70
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Lovely place to stay. Located in a great part of the city, close to lots of little boutiques and interesting restaurants. Very safe neighbourhood which allows you to walk around at night. Rooms have nice features, high ceilings and wooden floors. Good dual aircon and fan option. Large comfy bed. Staff are very pleasant and helpful with city suggestions, maps and taxis. Breakfast of coffee/tea, fresh juice, fruit salad, bread, croissants, jams, ham and cheese. Good wifi connection, computer room available. Arranged an airport pickup for us which we organised with them just as we got on the plane! Great value for money, lovely calming atmosphere, and a really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcckav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It had been three years since we last visited lovely Buenos Aries and stayed in Malabia House. While some little touches have not been retained the pleasure of being there has not decreased and i would recommend the hotel to my very best friends. What makes Malabia House so special? There is a feeling of calm and safe haven there in a great location in elegant Palermo. The rooms have a simple elegance and and the small size of the hotel creates a feeling of home. The most important element always has been the staff who are professional kind and helpfull. I would hate to think that life would not allow a return to magical Buenos Aries and a stay in Malabia House.
Best regards to all from Evelyn and Des

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyndublin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautifully restored former convent. It maintains character of convent and provides a wonderful stay, and respite from the hectic energy of Buenos Aires. The hotel is located one street away from the center of Palermo Soho - so you are right by the action, but on a much quieter street.

The hotel feels narrow (it was a convent after all) but the high ceilings make up for it and really gives the feel of being in someone's amazing apartment. We had room 107 with balcony looking out to the streets - we liked it so we can hear some of the action - but if you are sensitive to noise you should avoid that room. Our bathroom was down the hall which threw us off initially but I ended up liking having the bathroom outside of our bedroom.

Room Tip: We had room 107 with balcony looking out to the streets - we liked it so we can hear some of the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senhora da Hora, Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this B&B for 4 nights and loved it! I arrived close to midnight and even so they took the time to understand what my plan was for BA and showed me on the map the city and what to do. I had no expectations as I got a really good price for the room. But it was perfect! The room was really nice, very simple and neat and the right size for me!
The breakfast was delicious, with the essentials and very well laid out. The staff were all very friendly always available to give you informations and recommendations. The location is in a very safe hip neighbourhood. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The property is an old convent/nunnery and has a little extra charm because of that. In addition, the location in Palermo is really excellent if you want to stay in Palermo (we enjoyed our other stay in Recoleta a bit more- slightly more residential, cleaner, etc). Service was good and staff spoke reasonable English. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast consisted of fruit/yogurt/pastries/pretty good coffee and was pretty good for a few days. They also had a reasonable discount for paying in USD. Overall, a nice, clean well located place to stay if you want to stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: We did a 2nd floor room with a private (tiny, but private) bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived 11am ish - room not ready which wasn't great after an overnight flight but we were given refreshments in their lounge area and we popped out for lunch. You have accept this I guess in smaller places, they just don't have the number of rooms available for early check-ins.

We stayed in a room with our own private bathroom which was across the hallway, I was initially nervous about this set up but it worked just fine for us. Both the room and bathroom were tastefully decorated.

The young woman on the desk called Cynthia was fantastic, full of suggestions and ideas on restaurants and things to do. We like the fact that we could eat breakfast at 'any time' - we always ate alone so I guess everyone else got up earlier than us.

Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and allowed us to practise our Spanish with the young woman in the kitchen (who never stopped smiling !)

This was our second trip to BA, we much preferred this area of the city and this boutique hotel compared to the chain hotel we stayed in previously. I enjoyed the personal service which was delivered in a friendly but professional manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
#151 of 446 in Buenos Aires
396 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#23 of 446 in Buenos Aires
636 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,373 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#26 of 446 in Buenos Aires
813 reviews
Palermo
Blue Soho Hotel
Blue Soho Hotel
#403 of 446 in Buenos Aires
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Property: 1555 Malabia House
Address: Calle Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#80 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing