We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upset honeymooners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Buenos Aires City
Ranked #73 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
FSJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“upset honeymooners”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked here for the last night of our honeymoon because we wanted somewhere a little classier. We ended up coming back to the city a day earlier so we added a night. They confused the two reservations on a number of occasions, tried to check us out a day earlier (by waking us up, twice!), the housekeepers took the extra pillows we requested (the two provided were flat, lumpy seperated foam), suggested a restaurant to go to for excellent dinner (worst meal we had in Argentina), and said they made a reservation for a tango show (they did not and we stood at the door of the show waiting to see if they room). They also gave us a room that was different from that requested and paid for, so when i mentioned this, they promised a free upgrade to a junior suite. They instructed us to go pack and they would call us when the room was ready in 1 hour. We waited 1.5 hours then had to leave for our tango show. When we returned, there was a different guy at the front desk that said he knew nothing of the transaction and that all of the suites were now booked. And the fridge did not work. This was the worst service we experienced in all of Argentina!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. The value for what you pay for is very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacyknov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    632
    226
    71
    43
See reviews for
231
524
109
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I like this Hotel. It is superb hotel with a great location. I use it for business and pleasure. I hace sateyd many times.a nd I like the chain, the front desk and teh rooms are vary modern.

I stronly recomend it. Some rooms are two rroms in one Very conveninet. Teh single rooms a bit small but nice and elegant.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank M Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The NH City hotel is older but nicely renovated the rooms I have seen are nicely done. I have been in a Queen room a Double Queen and a small Suite. All were nicely renovated and spacious enough, after all we were just sleeping here. The bathrooms were large and looked newly remodeled.f
After playing at La Trastienda we would eat and return to the lobby bar, then hopefully get up for breakfast and tour the city.
The breakfast buffet was very good, and all the employees were very nice.
We all had a great time.
The price for rooms was real good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfrquently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIEGO B, Director General at NH Buenos Aires City, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to know you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and tasted our breakfast too.

We are also glad to know that you feel at home because the professionalism of our staff.

We hope to see soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very clean, great service at all times...the rooms nice. They don't have a garage for the hotel but there is one next to it. The manager was very nice, all the employes were great. The location is good, in a quiet street. It is a good bargain for your money

Room Tip: Take an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This place is tolerable with a little work. My first room had the sewer smell coming up through the bathroom vent. It stunk up the whole room. The housekeeper came in and wrinkled her nose, then was going to spray some stuff at the drain, which was the point I was on the way downstairs for a room change, which I was graciously given. (More on this later). My new room was worse, smaller and on the noisy street hotel front. Rather dingy, all the place needed was an elevated subway running by and a flashing neon sign lighting the room. Two days out of six nobody serviced the room. Nonetheless, if you are on a budget and complain more than I did, the hotel is a serviceable and well located place.
The staff, on the other hand, was great. Front desk, concierge-- helpful, friendly, and very nice and professional. Housekeeping, nice people but the management needs to get that part together.
All in all, ok for a flop.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlo3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIEGO B, Director General at NH Buenos Aires City, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we do thank you for having taken the time to write to us about your experience during your stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience on the cleaning service in your room. We also excuse for not having filled the expectations in both rooms you have occupied.

Your opinion is very important for us to continue working on our improvement plan.

On the other hand, we are grateful to know that you have felt comfortable with the kindness and professionalism of our team.

We hope to see you back in our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Region, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

In general...good services..good rooms..price fare..my only recommendation and disappointing for every time when I come to NH..it is the fourth time... is the poor and nule signal of Wi fi antenna in the floors.. I have been in the 4th floor in front of the stairs and wifi signal was nule..however in the lobby wifi signals are strong...you have to improve...from Chile..I recommend NH

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcovarrubiasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIEGO B, Director General at NH Buenos Aires City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for leaving your opinion on this website. We do apologize for not to fill your expectations about the WI-FI connection in your room but we take note about the item you mentioned in order to improve it.
We hope you give us a second chance and have you as our guest again in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Classic building with large lobby. I was in the second floor, rooms could be bigger but good size bathrooms. Prices are fare. Breakfast was very good, nice location with subway connection very close. Casa Rosada, Catedral, Museum, Puerto Madero just walking few meters.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIEGO B, Gerente at NH Buenos Aires City, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Although the room was not big enough for your comfort we are glad to know that anyway you have enjoy our breakfast and the location of the hotel allowed to you to know the tourist attractions of the city.

We hope to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#58 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Montserrat
NH Collection Buenos Aires Centro Historico
NH Collection Buenos Aires Centr...
#125 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
San Nicolas
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
#55 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
NH Collection Buenos Aires Jousten
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#71 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#63 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Buenos Aires City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Buenos Aires City

Property: NH Buenos Aires City
Address: Calle Gral Simon Bolivar 160, Buenos Aires C1066AAD, Argentina (Formerly NH City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#28 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#57 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Buenos Aires City 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the cusp of Buenos Aires's historic district, five-star NH Buenos Aires City immediately captures your attention with an art deco facade and striking interior that takes you back to a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Buenos Aires City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Buenos Aires
Nh Hotels Buenos Aires
Nh City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing