We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel”
Review of Atlas Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlas Tower Hotel
Ranked #197 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was put up in this hotel by my hosts during a business trip. For the most part, the hotel is fine; the rooms are small but clean and comfortable, the shower works well, etc. It is on a very noisy street, so if your room faces the street, you may want to keep the window closed. But my room had such a strong smell of moth balls and perfume that I had to keep the window open the whole time.

The service is helpful as long as you only buy their own services. For example, I wanted to take a Manuel Tienda Leon shuttle to the airport, because that is what I had taken on the way to. I asked the hotel front desk attendant if he could call and arrange for a pickup. He said he could only call me a more expensive private car. I insisted that I preferred to take the shuttle, and he told me flat out that if I don't use their own car service, then I will have to call and make arrangements myself. Not very helpful.

Room Tip: Try not to get one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    77
    53
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
46
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is very central with a metro station very conveniently situated outside. English is a problem, but the staff were always helpful and tried to help. They also made good recommendations regarding tango shows, day trips etc. The room was small but clean. The shower was also small, but with good power. Breakfast very basic, but sufficient (given the good nighly rate). One computer in hotel for guests, but internet is free. Only two negative points: it was very noisy and the air conditioner was not sufficient for the very hot month of December we were there. All over decent value for money if you're only looking for a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

After having read reviews on Tripadvisor, I was slightly wary of booking this hotel. However, I found it to provide a pleasant stay. On entering the hotel, there is a slight musty smell in the foyer and the corridors. However, this did not extend to the rooms. Our room overlooked Avenida Corrientes. Again, I was dreading this as I had read it was a very busy street. It was, but it did not affect our sleep. The hotel is about five blocks from Obelisco. You can see it from the front of the hotel. There is also a Subte just to the left of the hotel; this is an excellent way to travel around. The front desk staff explained how the system worked, which was helpful.

The staff here were helpful and pleasant. They did not speak much english, but they always managed to find someone who could, which was good, as we have limited Spanish. The W.C. was recently fitted and modern with a good shower and toiletries provided. TV in the room also. No tea/ coffee facilities though. The minibar was well stocked and probably one of the most reasonably priced I have seen.

The breakfast was not excellent. One type of cheese and one type of ham, bread and a toaster. Cereal and yoghurt, tea/ coffee and fruit juice, pastries and cakes; but that was about it. It's not really a complaint, but it could do with a quick review and update. Do not expect hot food.

We asked for a taxi to the airport on the way back, but the person that turned up was possibly a friend of the staff as it was a plain car! To be honest, this didn't bother me at all. We just had a bit of a laugh at it. Some people are desperately poor or on terrible salaries, so this type of thing I can understand. The price was cheaper than a street taxi.

All in all, I was captivated by the city itself and the older fashioned feel of this hotel simply added to the overall atmosphere. I would stay again and would recommend it to friends and fellow travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

I had come several times to Buenos Aires but I've never stayed in that neighborhood. Atlas Tower Hotel was chosen solely based on its location, Avenida Corrientes near Callao.
This time I didn't want to stay at downtown, nor around the Obelisco, nor Puerto Madero, nor desert places by night. As I was coming alone the proximity with bookstores, places to eat, subway station, was a plus.

The hotel was quite a surprise! Although small, it was new and clean. Everything was really new! My room was tide, but everything was ok. The bed was very comfortable, the tv w/ many cable channels, there was a safe, the bathroom was clean and ok, etc. Only sometimes the noise was a bit too much because of the avenue. And I missed a litter basket.

The breakfast was ok, although I missed some fruits (there was only fruit juice). There was a free internet, but only one computer, so you had to be lucky sometimes.

It was a very great stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank prisci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights. It was $74 US (including all taxes, which are about 20% + room rate in Argentina).

Very excellent location, about 6 blocks from the Obelisk. Subway stop is literally outside the hotel. Walking distance to many of the sights in Buenos Aires and parks. Lots of places to eat within 1 block radius of the hotel. Very safe location as people are walking around the street at all hours (compared to where I stayed in Palermo). fast food and convinience stores around the neighborhood.

Room are great, especially for the cost. Cable TV, Air conditioning. Room was clean and adequate in size and nicely furnished. But I've stayed in bigger hotel rooms, which can cost $200 + taxes. Most of the time I wasn't in the room so it didn't matter. I didn't come to Buenos Aires to hang out in a hotel room. No pool.

Breakfast is included (pretty standard for Argentina). I've had much much worse breakfasts (Che Lu Lu) and better along the way. Standards include the medialunas, coffee, toast, fruit, etc. Free internet in the breakfast room 24/7.

The best part was the front staff. I spoke no spanish so there was always someone who spoke English at the front desk. Furthermore, they always went the extra mile to ensure I had a pleasant stay. They made recommendations about places to eat and hang out. They called radiotaxis and went outside to tell the taxi driver where to take me (because the taxi people rarely spoke English). They were all nice young guys too who gave me recommendations about where to buy some wine to take home and fun to talk to.

They can arrange some tours for you and give you some recommendations for where to go in the city. I didn't really care for the bus tour they recommended, but it only cost $10 so I didn't lose much.

Since my flight from BA took off at 10 PM, they let me check my baggage with them for the day and then I walked around the city. They also let me hang out in the internet room and use the bathroom to freshen up before my flight.

They have a radiotaxi service they can call to take you to the international airport for 60 pesos ($20). Be careful to bring exact change for that ride since a friend said they driver wouldn't make change. Not really the fault of the hotel. Would stay there again. Hope I can go back to Buenos Aires soon.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TravelSpicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
BA Central Hotel
#183 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Bauen Suite Hotel
#215 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
San Nicolas
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
#191 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#204 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#108 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Apart Hotel & Spa Congreso
#233 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Tower Hotel

Property: Atlas Tower Hotel
Address: Avenida Corrientes 1778, Buenos Aires C1042AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing