We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Martin Suites -- good location -- poor room conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Royal Buenos Aires
Ranked #109 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 13 March 2012

You may read my reviews on breakfast and room amenities.

Room Tip: When I travel on business I don't have space to carry personal items such as lotion, tissues and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Mrs. Cuqui,

Thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that our toileteries did not meet your expectations. Being a 3* hotel, we do provide our guests with shampoo, conditioner, soap and moisturizer, as well as other products on request, contacting our Housekeeping Department. We apologize for the inconvenience with your TV and the attention from our breakfast staff on Tuesday that you found unpleasant; this will not be overlooked.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel while we were in B.A. this February. This was the first time for us in B.A. and the location was just perfect to be central for B.A., near colectivo buses, near Retiro Station for micros and trains, near pedestrian streets Florida and Lavalle, near the Subte Plaza San Martin station, and near to Plaza San Martin park and monuments. The reception staff is professional and very helpful with any request. The internet service is excellent and is a very important part of traveling, especially in a new place. The rooms are very comfortable with only a couple of things to mention. They have installed new windows in each room which prevent the sounds of the busy streets below from disturbing your stay. The couch and chairs in the couple of rooms that we stayed in were a bit old and stiff but overall the amenities like the mini kitchen, cable tv, bedding, bathroom and shower were more than adequate for a fun and comfortable stay. I would suggest a higher room for less street noise. The breakfast was wholesome and plentiful but it was the same every day.
There are some good items very close by to make this your home away from home like: 24 hour food delivery, public bus and Subte within one block, taxis, ATM's, retail stores, grocery, shopping galeria (mall), and green park area.

Thank you again to the staff that made our trip so pleasant: Sebastian, Julian, Jonathan, Ricardo, and others whose name we did not get.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeneralMail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your motivating comments, thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful that your father was our guest and that we now had the pleasure of hosting you. Thank your for highlighting our amenities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My father used to stay for work when he travelled from Brasil ,in this area , and we decided to come with my friend here ,and was great .The suite was very confortable , as its kitchen ,bed and linens .But the location was great ,as it is in a central location , near Av Santa Fe good for shopping , also to Recoleta for nice places to eat ,and Plaza San Martin , but it is not too much noice , as traffic is not as bad as rest of the area .Train and Subway station is very close too,we will come back ,as price was very good for what you get.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite facing the steet is good chooice as they have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baby1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your motivating comments, thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful that your father was our guest and that we now had the pleasure of hosting you. Thank your for highlighting our amenities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Plaza San Martin Suites for 10 nights in Feb 2012 with my teenage daughter. It was a family vacation that we were doing on a budget. I selected the hotel based on reviews here and elsewhere, price and location. As it turned out, I was pleased on all scores.

I would like to single out the staff as one of the highlights of the stay. Although they were all young, they all seemed extremely competent, consistently helpful and friendly. Since I travel frequently for business, I see a lot of hotel staff and the front desk staff are very good here. They also supply good security at the point of the lobby.

The hotel location turned out to be a good choice. It is just two blocks from the San Martin Plaza Subte (Subway) station, which is one stop from Retiro, with regional rail connections. We used the Subte system extensively. While it can get crowded and lacks proper air conditioning, the Subte is very effective means to get around BA. Also, we found that from the hotel, it is a reasonably easy walk into Recoleta.

We were given a complementary upgrade to the next larger size room at check in, which I appreciated. The suite (501) had a large sitting area combined with dining table and kitchenette, a bedroom with two beds, and a connecting sink area and adjoining bathroom. As other reviewers have noted, the carpet and perhaps the furniture is due for an upgrade. I also saw minor maintenance issues (leaking faucet seal), but the rooms were very clean and comfortable. While we didn't use the kitchenette to cook, the fridge was very useful.

The breakfast that was included in the price was basic but very nice. It certainly eased the start of the day.

If you are looking for absolutely five star accommodations, then you may want to look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for good value for money, great service and a very useful location, then I recommend you try Plaza San Martin Suites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil_Young55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed reading your review, as you kindly pointed our strengths, and this definitely motivates us to continue improving our services. We like the idea of being the best alternative for guests who are looking for good value for money, without sacrificing warm and attentive services at all times.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I recently spent 5 days in Buenos Aires with my daughter. I booked Plaza San Martin Suites based on some reviews I saw here.
Our suite was a corner suite on the 3rd floor. Very large living room, kitchen (we never used), nice size bedroom with a comfortable bed and nice linen. The carpet and furniture is very dated and frankly that is the only negative about this hotel.
The staff is very accommodating and nice. You come back from a long day of sightseeing to a very sweet smile and yummy dolce de leche candy at the front desk. Breakfast was just ok. Then again we were coming from Brazil with all that tropical fruits and fresh squeezed juices that had spoiled us. Loved the location. Walking distance to a subway station, bus lines, and taxi of course. If you are a good walker you can walk to a lot of areas of interest (like recoleta cemetery, florida street for shopping, even san telmo). Again , the hotel needs to update the carpet and some of the furniture... but then again for the price and location it is hard to beat. Thanks St. Martin for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and sunny. The double pane windows help keep the noise out, so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Mrs. Tara,

We appreciate your positive comments, thank you so much for sharing them on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at one of our Business Suites. We will take note on your suggestions regarding the carpet and furniture.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I and my family of four went to Buenos Aires for an adventure. We knew we weren’t going to be spending much time in the hotel so we were looking for reasonable accommodations at a good price. That is what we got at the Plaza San Martin. The hotel is clean, secure, and the staff is great. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. The location is centrally located and is perfect for those who want to get out and explore Buenos Aires by foot.

Room Tip: Get the highest room possible. The hotel is located in a busy section of Buenos Aires and the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments, thank you so much for sharing them on TripAdvisor. We are glad to have met your expectations in value and location, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We arrived to San Martin Suites for a 5 days stay in Buenos Aires. "We" means my wife, my 24 years old son and myself. We arrived to Buenos Aires from Cordoba by Cama Bus very early in the morning, and although Check in start at 14:00 we were allowed to go into our room as courtesy by the hotel. The San Martin Suites is very good located, at down town Buenos Aires, at walking distance of the very center of the city: the Obelisco, Florida Street, Corrientes Av, etc. The suite was outstanding (see pictures) and service was superb. Just to point out: our son felt ill, so we asked the staff for a doctor. The personnel of the hotel not just made the arrangements for a doctor to come to our suite, they checke with us how the boy felt until the doctor arrived and they followed up also after the doctor left and the issue was over. Not to mention that the doctor visit was at the hotel account as a service to the passanger. This is wat I call first class service

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusti017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the hotel facilities and services. We are grateful that you have highlighted our location and the sights around us, and the comfort of our apartments. We deeply regret that your child has suffered a health problem during your stay; however, it was a pleasure for us to provide all the necessary medical care for his recovery. The health of our guests is definitely a priority for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Hotel Dolmen
Hotel Dolmen
#115 of 444 in Buenos Aires
622 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 444 in Buenos Aires
543 reviews
Retiro
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
#91 of 444 in Buenos Aires
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#89 of 444 in Buenos Aires
923 reviews
Retiro
Loi Suites Esmeralda
Loi Suites Esmeralda
#200 of 444 in Buenos Aires
315 reviews
Retiro
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Str...
#101 of 444 in Buenos Aires
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Buenos Aires

Address: Suipacha 1092, Buenos Aires 1008AAV, Argentina (Formerly Plaza San Martin Suites)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £33 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Royal Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged central location of Park Royal Buenos Aires invites you to discover the City’s historical monuments, its cafes, museums & stone pavements in atmosphere filled with history and art. The 56 rooms of the hotel feature an elegant and modern decoration. All the rooms are equipped with kitchenette, dinnerware set, microwave oven, coffee maker, cable TV, telephone, hair dryer & safety box. They also feature a living area, central air conditioning & Blackout curtains for a peaceful rest. Delight yourself in the mornings with the continental breakfasts included in your reservation. Buenos Aires is one of the most cosmopolitan cities of Latin America due to its European style. Live it with Park Royal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Royal Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza San Martin Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing