We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a 5 star at least, 3* standard”
Review of Abasto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abasto Hotel
Ranked #240 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was last week in this hotel.
I work in tourism and I use to visit different hotels over the world.
This is at least a 3 stars hotel. Furniture, WC, sheets (in very bad conditions, very things due to the time and use), poor breakfast and bad coffee (it is made with something similar to nescafe)
The situation is ok, you are close to the metro (100meters).

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 5 stars hotel avoid this election
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was booked in here by my travel agent for 2 nights in February, en route to and from Antarctica. Previous reviews made me a bit apprehensive, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The welcome from the (English-speaking) receptionist was warm and helpful, and both my rooms were large, clean and well-equipped, and the air-conditioning worked! (I arrived the first time during a heat wave.) The decor was certainly not to my taste (very heavy with lots of dark red), but fresh and spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was a sumptuous expanse of marble, mirrors and fluffy white towels, with lovely bath gel and shampoo in dispenser jars inside the shower. Breakfast (included in my package) was one of the best I have ever encountered. The dining room overlooks the terrace and the swimming pool and the offerings included fresh tropical fruits, numerous breads, all the usual cereals and juices, eggs, bacon and sausages, as well as the standard Argentinian offerings of ham and sliced cheese. And of course coffee, tea and hot chocolate. And no limit on the number of times you can return for more. It was very easy to make a pig of yourself.

The hotel advertises tango classes every night, but I did not have a chance to check this out. You are greeted as you enter by a huge mural of a tango-ing couple, a bit in your face. I am sure the classes are wonderful.

HOWEVER, if you are travelling to or from BA by air, be warned. This hotel is on good bus and subway links, but none of these go the airport. The cheapest way to get to and from airports is by the limosine service, Tiendra Leon, which only serves hotels in the central tourist area, and this hotel is OUTSIDE this area. The limousine will take you to the boundaries of its area, and you have to make your own way to the hotel on foot or by taxi. The other option is private car or taxi, especially if you have an early morning flight, and this costs about double the limousine service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hort4short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Im from Argentina, my husband is american. We got married in Buenos Aires, last December, as gift some of my friends booked us the room Mi Buenos Aires querido, OMG, we couldn't believe it. It is like an apartment, it has 2 big rooms, 2 bathrooms, a balcony and a jacuzzi.
We got a menu, so we order some good food, I think was milanesas with french fries and some steaks, it was delicious. In the morning, we went to the restaurant in the hotel, to have some breakfast, everything was fresh and also very good.
Me and my husband enjoyed it a lot, plus, we were so close to the mall, to downtown and to some awesome Peruvian restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

What a disgusting place this is.
The rooms are noisy, dirty, and unkempt.
The staff is unhelpful, inefficient, and nasty.
DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emiliobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Abasto has seen better days. The beds and bedspeads need to be replaced . The decoration if you can call it that needs a major upgrade. Some of the staff are nice while others are totally conceited. Don't be fooled by the nice lobby it has nothing to do with the depressing rooms. An average hotel at an average price, not well situated except for the Gardel museum, la esquina Carlos Gardel or Abasto Shopping. The neighbourhood can get pretty funky.

Room Tip: Some floors are non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pocoapoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We spent only one night at this place. It`s nothing like the pictures on internet. We arrived late at night and left as soon as the sunrised!!! I read other reviews and can`t even imagine better rooms... Anyway, Baires is plenty of good deals hotels at much better areas. Wouldn`t recomend it! The room was very old, dirt and smelling smook.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolina_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was in this hotel for business by January this year. Room was spacious and comfortable but the room view was to next building roof. I couldn try the tango lessons offered on the hotel but seems to be there are many people that goes there to stay in a thematic room and learn to dance tango. Hotel has a nice solarium and food is good, specially the argentinians empanadas served at breakfast. Hotel is allocated along famous Corrientes avenue and there is a subway station just one block away. You can walk down corrientes avenue up to the very down town, in just 25 minutes you will be at Av. 9 de Julio. I would say it is a good hotel to stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malexrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#78 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,052 reviews
Palermo
Awwa Suites & Spa
Awwa Suites & Spa
#81 of 442 in Buenos Aires
657 reviews
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#208 of 442 in Buenos Aires
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#66 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,070 reviews
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#280 of 442 in Buenos Aires
317 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#136 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abasto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abasto Hotel

Address: Avenida Corrientes 3190, Buenos Aires C1193AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £57 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abasto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abasto Hotel is located on Corrientes Avenue, opposite Abasto Shopping Mall, only a few steps from Carlos Gardel metro station (B line). It features light spacious rooms, equipped with air-conditioning, 32” TV, telephone, desk, safe and iron. The bathroom has a hairdryer and standard rooms have either a bathtub or walk-in shower subject to availability. All executive rooms have a whirlpool bathtub, bathrobes, slippers and minibar. Our buffet breakfast includes coffee, milk, croissants, toast, jam, orange juice, grapefruit juice, pastries, fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt and cereal. ​ You can enjoy our ​inexpensive Business Menu every day for lunch or dinner at Volver Restaurant for a fixed price. Other services include our seasonal outdoor swimming-pool (from December to March), tango lessons free of charge for guests every day at 7pm, and free wi-fi. Parking has an extra charge and is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Abasto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abasto Plaza Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing