We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service and poor location - rooms are good, though...”
Review of Abasto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abasto Hotel
Ranked #213 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed 5 nights at the end of December/2010 and begining of January/2011.

Rooms: Stayed with my parents. Big and comfortable room with 2 queen size (?) beds. Air conditioning pretty good and good shower also. Matress a little too soft for my taste.

Breakfast: Very good selection and good quality. Maybe the best thing about the hotel.

Location: Really poor... It is located in a section of Avenida Corrientes, next to a very popular shopping mall. This section of street is very dirty and not very well frequented. Did not feel very safe at night. This section of this city is really not cared. There is a lot of better locations in Buenos Aires. The hotel is 100m from the subway system, which I thought very dirty and useless for sightseeing.

Service: Horrible. Very rude staff (with a couple of exceptions) and not attentive at all. They just do not try to help at all. I can explain lots of unnaceptable behaviors but I prefer not to lost my time.

Summarizing: the hotel itself is good, but very poor location and service. I do not recommend. Not a 5-star hotel at all!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndaiatubaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

Abasto Hotel is a bit tired, the maintenance is not great and charging for internet access is a let down. But the bad side fits in this single sentence.
On the other side, the rates were fair, the room was huge, the staff is nice, the breakfast is great, and the location, even not being very central is still very handy, with a metro station just one block away and the taxis are very cheap in Buenos Aires. Abasto Mall just opposite from the hotel is also very handy for snacks and shopping.
Overall, I would stay there again despite it's bearable flaws.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marcos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Not only is the only Tango theme five star hotel in Buenos Aires but it gives free tango lessons every day at 7 pm for guests and paying a small fee for people not at the hotel ! you can also find the brand of tango shoes Madreselva at the tango boutique on the 1st floor!! more information at www.abastoplazahotel.com.ar and www.madreselvazapatos.com.ar

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalia_laguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Although the hotel is modern, I loved it. I had a huge bedroom on the 18th floor (for smokers) including terrace and a small space with two chairs, a table and lamps. For those who love whirpool, it has that also. I do not understand those things so I did not use it. The room was neat and so was the bathroom.

The location is great if you like to walk in old places like Abasto. You can also walk from the hotel to the Carlos Gardel Museum located at 735 Jean Jaures.

The subte (subway) is two blocks away (to your left).

You can walk to get cheese and onions empanadas four blocks to the left from the hotel. They are great and very cheap.

Internet service is NOT free but you may choose 6, 12 or 24 hours of service. Do not forget to ask for the internet cable!!! Wireless did not work. The internet cable is free!

As with everything, some of the staff were nice and others were not too nice.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
Thank Clara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We booked this hotel at clickhoteles.com.ar. It was offered as a 5 star hotel & spa with swimming pool. The offer was a Deluxe Suite for U$82 tax included and buffet breakfast.
First: Spa? No jacuzzi, no dry/wet sauna. Swimming pool: yes, only open to 1PM to 7PM. The gym was clean and in very good condition. We had to go to the reception to get a key to open it (?).
Five star rating: Not really. The room was big enough and pretty clean, basic amenities, the smell of cigarettes was awful, the color TV set was old, and the furniture had seen better days. The internet was charged a $15 pesos for 6 hours. Not a smile from the staff. The buffet offered for breakfast was good.It was really very good the table of cheese and cold cuts plus a great red wine we had at the hotel restaurant for $70 pesos for both of us. It is a 3 star plus hotel. Comfortable and good located.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbkr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Really enjoyed the stay. The rooms at Abasto Plaza were a decent size. We were staying on the 16th floor and the view was incredible. We also had a chance to spend a day at the pool, which was a great perk in 90 degree weather. One con - the location. Although, the hotel is situated across the street from a shopping center and one of the best tango shows in Buenos Aires, the location is not the nicest. If you can afford to spend a bit more, stay in Palermo or Recoleta. Otherwise, if you are looking for a budget conscious vacation, Abasto Plaza will be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_SoloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We've stayed here 3 times as its close to our friends houses. Its clean, safe and has a good breakfast. As a point of interest all our Argentinian friends consider it the place you go to for your wedding night!.

Sadly no where is safe to walk in BA at night so all should be cautious but security is good here. Most of the front desk staff speak English the restuarant staff possibly do but can be selective about it - they can be slightly grumpy which is the weak point of the hotel.

The pool was closed for some reason while we were there.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Hotel Nontue
#416 of 443 in Buenos Aires
165 reviews
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#163 of 443 in Buenos Aires
628 reviews
Hotel Masliah
#287 of 443 in Buenos Aires
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 443 in Buenos Aires
225 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#66 of 443 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
BA Central Hotel
#168 of 443 in Buenos Aires
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abasto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abasto Hotel

Address: Avenida Corrientes 3190, Buenos Aires C1193AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £55 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abasto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abasto Hotel is located on Corrientes Avenue, opposite Abasto Shopping Mall, only a few steps from Carlos Gardel metro station (B line). It features light spacious rooms, equipped with air-conditioning, 32” TV, telephone, desk, safe and iron. The bathroom has a hairdryer and standard rooms have either a bathtub or walk-in shower subject to availability. All executive rooms have a whirlpool bathtub, bathrobes, slippers and minibar. Our buffet breakfast includes coffee, milk, croissants, toast, jam, orange juice, grapefruit juice, pastries, fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt and cereal. ​ You can enjoy our ​inexpensive Business Menu every day for lunch or dinner at Volver Restaurant for a fixed price. Other services include our seasonal outdoor swimming-pool (from December to March), tango lessons free of charge for guests every day at 7pm, and free wi-fi. Parking has an extra charge and is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abasto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abasto Plaza Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing