We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location for tourists!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Classic
Ranked #104 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location for tourists!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. We got upgraded to a suite for no apparent reason and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room, great breakfast, and a convenient location. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    736
    288
    76
    53
See reviews for
427
636
88
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel here on trip advisor and it was a good choice. It is close to the subway (Lavalle station) and close to a lot of touristic places. The accommodations are reasonables and they offer a good breakfast (not included in the price). The building is very old, though. The check out time quite early (10am) and the elevators is only capable to carry three people per time. If you have too much luggage you will suffer.
Although, if you look for a hotel located close to public transport and close to the main touristic places and with a good price and reasonable comfort, you should pick this hotel.
By the way, the Internet in the hotel is not included and really expensive (39 pesos). I recommend to go to a Cafe and get free Internet. At least you drink a coffee as local people do and get cheaper Internet access. :-)

Helpful?
Thank Cschappo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tucumán
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Clean, well located, secure. With cheap parking very close. Recommended. One thing that you must be considere is that it has small rooms, small bathrooms (take into account that this rooms are bigger than the other rochester in Buenos Aires) but it is a cheaper four stars hotel. I could not know the breakfast because in january they offered a very cheap price but with no meal included. The internet conexion is not included either. You have to pay for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We would to thank you for sending us your comments on your stay as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
We take this opportunity to inform you that Rochester Classic Hotel has three different room categories featuring different size, in-room facilities and location within the property: standard, superior and triple rooms. For your next trip to Buenos Aires we recommend you staying at Rochester M: a superior four-star hotel in Buenos Aires that is also part of our hotel chain. We believe Rochester M will perfectly suit your needs and expectations.
Rochester Hotels does not offer connection to Internet but offers 10MB wifi service -while other properties only have 2MB- being it possible for our guests to access to a speedy wireless connection 24/7. Moreover, our technical support team is available to solve any inconvenience with mobile devices 24hs a day. For both of the abovementioned services, which may be used in the privacy of guestrooms as well as in our public areas, we charge $39 (Argentinean pesos) per day.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Lobby looks fantastic but room is disappointing. No net curtains on old broken windows so had experiences of other guests looking in or sitting in darkness with heavy curtain pulled. Staff member on duty at check out tried to charge me twice for room and seemed reluctant to let me see itemised bill. Some differences of opinion on bill for mini bar. Other staff friendly and provided adaptors for plug points as they are not standard Argentina plug points. Please note: cleaning staff IGNORE your do not disturb sign and on one occasion knocked repeatedly on door and receiving no answer then called the room, waking me from sleep after a long journey. On second occasion walked into my room using key as I dressed. Terrible!

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Google Translation
Estimado, sus comentarios son sumamente importantes para nuestro establecimiento, ya que nos permiten mejorar nuestro estándar de servicio adaptando el mismo a las necesidades y solicitudes de nuestros huéspedes.
Junto con el Gerente de Área estaremos realizando una auditoría de lo sucedido para evaluar sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for three nights, its in a great location, the breakfast is fantastic, the staff were incredibly helpful. The rooms are well kept and clean. The only down side is that you have to pay for WIFI.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deagle769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We would to thank you for sending us your comments on your stay as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Hotels does not offer connection to Internet but offers 10MB wifi service -while other properties only have 2MB- being it possible for our guests to access to a speedy wireless connection 24/7. Moreover, our technical support team is available to solve any inconvenience with mobile devices 24hs a day. For both of the abovementioned services, which may be used in the privacy of guestrooms as well as in our public areas, we charge $39 (Argentinean pesos) per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I traveled by myself to Buenos Aires on my way to Salta, where I'll be studying for a year. It's in a convenient location because it's in the middle of everything. It's also right across the street from Subte Line C. Air conditioning in my room was great, although the room overall was a little small (I went with the Standard room because I was traveling alone). My room was EXTREMELY quiet and tucked away -- no view at all, just looking across to other rooms. But it was silent at all hours.
The one major downside is that I didn't feel like the area around the hotel was very safe, so I was reluctant to leave alone at night. I was also disappointed to have to pay for wifi (35 pesos/day) which added up about $45 USD at the end of my stay. The electricity also went out three times over a 6 night stay at the hotel. Not sure why this kept happening. It went out around 10 PM every time and was off for 10-15 minutes each time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolethompson427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We would to thank you for sending us your comments on your stay as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Hotels does not offer connection to Internet but offers 10MB wifi service -while other properties only have 2MB- being it possible for our guests to access to a speedy wireless connection 24/7. Moreover, our technical support team is available to solve any inconvenience with mobile devices 24hs a day. For both of the abovementioned services, which may be used in the privacy of guestrooms as well as in our public areas, we charge $35 (Argentinean pesos) per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The hotel is very centrally located.
Only 60 metres or so to the subway( Metro Station Lavalle) and very close to Florida and
Lavalle Street.
The street itself (Esmeralda) feels a little bit uneasy but the room i excellent and the
front desk personnel is very friendly and helpful.
A huge annoyance for me was the the extra Wi-Fi charge .It is about time hoteliers realize that
this is an essential service and must be either included in the price or be offered for free.

Everyone was very courteous ,polite and helpful,A big thank you to the staff!

Room Tip: As for the Deluxe room.Avoid a room facing Esmeralda Street. The rest of the rooms face a very ugly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
We would to thank you for sending us your comments on your stay as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Hotels does not offer connection to Internet but offers 10MB wifi service -while other properties only have 2MB- being it possible for our guests to access to a speedy wireless connection 24/7. Moreover, our technical support team is available to solve any inconvenience with mobile devices 24hs a day. For both of the abovementioned services, which may be used in the privacy of guestrooms as well as in our public areas, we charge $35 (Argentinean pesos) per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#120 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,398 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester M
Rochester M
#126 of 446 in Buenos Aires
613 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#155 of 446 in Buenos Aires
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#97 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,183 reviews
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#69 of 446 in Buenos Aires
705 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#105 of 446 in Buenos Aires
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Classic

Property: Rochester Hotel Classic
Address: Calle Esmeralda 542, Buenos Aires C1007ABD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#104 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Hotel Classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel Classic is located between the Obelisk, Buenos Aires' epicenter, and the trendy Puerto Madero. Along the shopping district of Florida, Lavalle and 9 de Julio Street, the hotel presents a stylish decor beautifully combined with modern details. Equipped with a modern gym, lobby with vanguard furniture, business center and bar combination. The rooms have independent climate control, renovated laminate flooring, Led TV with cable, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers rooms and apartments with 2 bedrooms for an extended stay, equipped with microwave ovens. The hotel provides high speed Wifi internet and offers breakfast service with artisan bakery and hot dishes. The restaurant enjoys an extensive selection of local and international dishes. The bar offers cocktails drinks and high end drinks. The hotel provides a 24-hour front desk assistance and room service, as well as tour information, transfers and tours around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rochester Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Classic Buenos Aires
Rochester Classic Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing