We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see tango”
Review of Cafe Tortoni

Cafe Tortoni
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.00*
and up
Milonga Dance Lesson and Tango History Tour in Buenos Aires
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
Private Customizable City Tour of Buenos Aires
More Info
US$184.99*
and up
Private Full-Day Walking Tour in Buenos Aires
Ranked #58 of 758 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous cafe, the oldest in Argentina, features reasonably priced tango shows in its velvet-covered back room.
Boulder,Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to see tango”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fun Tango Club, it has been there forever, it is the oldest in BA. it is a good show at a very good price. The singers the night we were there were very good.
There was a man with a drum - he was amazing and worth the price of admission for his act alone!
You should get your tickets early and get there early as there are columns to hold the floors up in your way, in some of the seats. They do move around the floor and are aware of this, so they do keep it moving across the stage. The food was good - had some pizza before the show. I felt this show was just what I wanted, not a Las Vegas type show.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OK2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    874
    343
    112
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good tango show for less expense”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

A great short tango show which is much cheaper than the others as you don't have to eat dinner. The dancers are beautiful to watch and it is mixed up by a bit of singing and incredible tap dancing too. Situated in the classic Café Tortoni with it's famous churros it's a great start or end to the evening, depending on which showing you see. Books up quickly and you need to get your tickets from the cafe beforehand.

Helpful?
Thank Tash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent tango show for the money”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went there for their evening tango show and enjoyed it, but were't wowed. I wish I could give this a 3.5 ranking. We saw 6 different tango pieces that were all danced by the same 2 dancers. There is definitely more singing than dancing. A group of 4 older gentleman sing a lot. They're quite good, but I would have enjoyed more dancing and less singing. Its a cute intimate setting though and much cheaper than the rest of the tango shows in the City.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caresse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Of the finest cafes in the world”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is one of the finest cafes in the world. You just don't come here for the coffee or the food, (which are incredible).

You come here for the history, the architecture, the atmosphere, the books, the museum inside, the paintings, the interesting and intellectual people gathering here. Absolutely exquisite cafe.

The atmosphere is about Argentina, tango, cafe, books, talking with friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank XYZ n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good ambient”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved the food and Cappuccino. The only reservation we had is service. The waiters were constantly on their cell phones. The food and décor was great. We would go back if we return to Buenos Aires.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rysanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Tortoni also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Cafe Tortoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing