We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #149 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I agree with most of the comments... I've been there twice and never disappointed. I'll be back to the Claridge hotel in a few weeks. Great location, very central, great service, very helpful. The pool area is really nice. Martha is a fabulous masseuse, hopefully she's still there! Rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. Overall, great place for the price!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    522
    320
    113
    68
See reviews for
230
578
76
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Well located, clean, charming hotel. Breakfast is very good and the rooms and bathrooms are big enough. We recomend this english style hotel in BA.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaKastrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed twice already at the Claridge and I would not hesitate to return.
The hotel has a nice charming loby and the entrance with the big white pillars is grand.
We enjoyed the breakfast.
The only negative aspect is that the rooms are in need of refurbishing, they have a tired feel.
Staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soninni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Give Claridge a chance.

I've just returned from Buenos Aires. Once again I loved it. Once again I talked to myself: "What in heaven's name are the Argentinians trying to do (or allowing to be done) to that country". Economy is upside down. People are lacking confidence (I don't blame them, by the way) and you leave the place with a bad feeling, no matter how good your experience there must have been (and normally is, for they are fantastic).
Clardige, in a way, reflects that situation: it's a 1940's classic hotel, but is not ready today (but bare in mind what the administration of the establishment asserts: "so far") to offer you everything it should. It's got a truly charming lobby bar, one of the most representative of that typical Porteño habit of having a tea, a snack or a drink amidst good conversation on whatever subject that may cross your mind, preferably politics or something you can "make more complex". But rooms, however comfortable, are needing a great deal of work. The hotel lobby's been just refurbished, but the spa has been forgotten. How contradictory!
By the way, the most impressive, negative fact of the hotel was the room. It might have been a matter related to the rate I paid. Ok. But if a hotel presents itself as classy, it should definitely NOT offer to its guests second class, badly conserved accommodations. As to that point, Cladirdge seems to be living a sort of "Titanic syndrome": it's known for its first class qualities, but there's a lot of second and third class hidden places. Careful not to fall in one of the latter traps (and I'm not sure whether there's much of alternative...).
But I'm being nasty to the place and it's not what I mean. I talked to the staff there, which, by the way, comprises a wonderful group of people: helpful, kind and efficient. They promised they're about to carry out a profound set of modifications and betterments in the rooms and spa, which, as they allege, have not been carried out yet given to the fact that too much has been spent in the lobby, the bar, and other general areas. Fair deal. I'll wait and I do not hesitate to give them that credit. I will come back.
Breakfast is veeeeeerrryyyy gooood, with a show of courtesy and a myriad of Argentinian delicacies. The people in charge of service couldn't be more polite.
The bar, as said before, has recovered its good, old reputation - and deserve it. Service, drinks, and snacks are great.
The neighborhood has become not that charming area with time (especially in the evening), to a point that Claridge stands in the middle of it as an island of beauty (the building is really a piece of art). But that's a matter related to Buenos Aires as a whole and there's little the hotel might be able to do to that respect. Nonetheless, it'll be good to know the hotel stays steps from Florida (the famous "open mall" in BA), 9 de Julio (and its Obelisk), Corrientes (with its cinemas, theaters, book stores, and restaurants), not to mention all the other streets (such as Lavalle, Suipacha, etc.) where you'll find the real BAires. You may also decide to go to Puerto Madero by foot (it's about 15 blocks from there).
So, all I'm saying is give Clardige a chance. Don't get there expecting too much nor too little. Arrive with an open mind and a generous heart. Although the place might not be what its history could suggest ("so far", remember that with a Homer Simpson's voice in your brain), I trust that time will do more good than harm to that good, old fellow.
Oh, by the way: if I were a staff member, I would sue the neighbor restaurant. No matter how much I do love meat, I trust it's primitive to have a fan blowing kitchen smoke to the hotel rooms windows, when they need to be open. And that's exactly what that restaurant does to Clardige. Do something, people!!

Room Tip: I wish I could help you all better, but the most I can say is that rooms in the back area of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlimpicCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claygate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently stayed once again at Claridges, and again really enjoyed the experience, I must say the staff are exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for them, we were greeted at 7.30 am by Tomas, who had been on night duty, he was full of smiles, the rest of the staff (who were on duty while we were ther) Fernando, Martin, Patricia and Alex were all extremely helpful as well.
The breakfast buffet was as ever very good. I agree with some of the other reviews it would be good if the owners of the Hotel spent some money on refurbishing the rooms, the TV was ancient.
Next time we are in Buenos Aires we will deffinetely return to Claridges, full marks to the staff for making this Hotel special for me!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbird444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We got upgraded at this hotel and I loved the room we were in. The hotel has a grand feel to it. Located centrally - very convenient. Good customer service and absoloutly loved the breakfast here in a really nice restaurant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The area is a little run down but only a short walk to the docks and antique districts. I have stayed on three occasions and although its a little shabby, something pulls me back. Maybe its the good service, maybe it just looks right. Give the Claridge a try, you might fall in love with it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intcopiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#50 of 445 in Buenos Aires
891 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 445 in Buenos Aires
900 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Galerias Hotel
Galerias Hotel
#279 of 445 in Buenos Aires
418 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#154 of 445 in Buenos Aires
921 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#82 of 445 in Buenos Aires
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Property: Claridge Hotel
Address: Tucuman 535, Buenos Aires C1049AAK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires is defined by its prestige and elegance, with neo-classical and British touches. The guests can enjoy Tudor-style lounges, rooms with antique furniture of enormous value, a thousand-and-one details that recall the Victorian era in England and, even, five-o'clock tea at the Claridge Bar. This luxurious hotel, located in the capital of Argentina, combines perfectly tradition with the most modern services like an open-air swimming pool (spring/summer) and a Business Centre, that will cover all the needs of the business men and women. At the Claridge Hotel we have also a great involvement with the world of art and culture, holding painting exhibitions, opera recitals or cultural events, among other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Eurostars, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Buenos Aires
Claridge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing