We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel nice area”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #154 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice hotel nice area”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a very nice hotel in the center of Buenos Airies. Our room was not reserved but after a little confusion we were upgraded to a suite. Breakfast was fine and the pool facilities were great on a hot day. The bar was very nice and I am sure Louise would have had a few G and T's even though they were a little pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    512
    316
    113
    66
See reviews for
229
567
75
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location, in walking distance from lots of different attractions. Stayed there for 4/5 nights. The pool was amazing, used it every day, would be nice if it stayed open until later though.
A bit outdated and probably expected more from a hotel like this one. However staff were very helpful. Breakfast was really good, incredible wide range of things to chose from

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuanaJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lovely hotel which we last stayed at about 8 years ago and it's still as good as ever. Ideal position for walking around the city with plenty of shops and excellent restaurants. A very good 4 star hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I first stayed in this hotel over 20 years ago - it was fantastic. Have stayed in it 6 times since, the last time was 4 years and everything was great. Now it is terrible. No bellman, spa closed, rooms and bedding tired. It is now cheap but I came here for old memories not value.

Last time I will ever stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanhuatulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

When I read the reviews of this hotel, I wasn't expecting much. We had just come from a brand new hotel in Montevideo, so I thought I would be disappointed with the Claridge. However, the staff was great, they put in an extra bed for my daughter .. the room was old, but completely comfortable and all we needed. The pool is the best part of the hotel - we spent the whole afternoon there. Beautiful in the 38 degree Buenos Aires heat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyinChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had booked three nights at the Calridge hotel not reading the reviews which I wish I had done. The facade is beautiful don't be fooled. And the location is excellent! Given the service was great there was only one person at concierge in the lobby he was very kind.
When going into the elevators that looked like they hadn't been renovated since the 50's, little did I know the rooms were even worse. The carpets had staining, the rooms smelled, bed a were horrible and hard, the bathroom was leaking all over, and the curtains were broken. The only thing that was modern was the television.
My family and I (4 of us) stayed one night had horrible sleep and decided to switch hotels to the hilton for about 50 dollars more a night! WOW the hilton is EXCELLENT highly recommend the hilton!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyZeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We like this hotel right in the centre of Buenos Aires. You cannot beat for value: Us$105 to sleep in the commercial heart of Buenos aires, and within walking distance from la Casa Rosada shops and department stores.
The room we had was a little on the small size, but adequate for just two night of our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#46 of 447 in Buenos Aires
875 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#84 of 447 in Buenos Aires
958 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#153 of 447 in Buenos Aires
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Galerias Hotel
Galerias Hotel
#263 of 447 in Buenos Aires
408 reviews
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#86 of 447 in Buenos Aires
994 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 447 in Buenos Aires
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Property: Claridge Hotel
Address: Calle Tucuman 535, Buenos Aires C1049AAK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires is defined by its prestige and elegance, with neo-classical and British touches. The guests can enjoy Tudor-style lounges, rooms with antique furniture of enormous value, a thousand-and-one details that recall the Victorian era in England and, even, five-o'clock tea at the Claridge Bar. This luxurious hotel, located in the capital of Argentina, combines perfectly tradition with the most modern services like an open-air swimming pool (spring/summer) and a Business Centre, that will cover all the needs of the business men and women. At the Claridge Hotel we have also a great involvement with the world of art and culture, holding painting exhibitions, opera recitals or cultural events, among other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Eurostars, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Buenos Aires
Claridge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing