We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Carsson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carsson Hotel
Ranked #257 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a second time and found it clean but old looking. Couldn't open the window shutter, but there was nothing to look at anyway. The staff were friendly and I like it because it is near Calle Florida and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

The locaion is good. Its downtown next to a great shopping mall with a brilliant food court. The staff are helpful. Wifi cost ten american dollars a day! However the wifi connection is good. Breakfast is mediocre but very cheap. Our room was very small. The bathroom
door did not close properly. The shower was tiny! I would describe the accomodation as basic.

Thank Alvy86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Arrived here after traveling for 24 hours and really needing sleep. Greeted at reception by very unfriendly staff! Room was on the second floor and what a treat. The shower was disgusting, water goes everywhere! Base of stall would be maximum 1x1m. The drain was blocked by scum and when showering it would overflow after a couple of minutes with water throughout bathroom. In their defence, when advised of problem they fixed it!! No free wifi and after boasting "high speed Internet" the reception is obviously substandard with Internet Sites taking ages to download. Our "king size" bed is 2 king singles joined together which is extremely uncomfortable especially the centre seam! The only positive with this hotel is the location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Looks like a 5 star hotel at one point in history. They were working on the elevators, but that didn't affect me as I was on the 2nd floor and took the stairs. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was included. Stayed for 9 days. Could have used new carpet in the room. Bathroom was nice size. AC was a little hard to figure out, but worked fine once I got it set up. Location was fantastic.
BUT: No free wifi. Not a fan of paying for wifi after I'm already shelling out for a room. Also, the credit-card looking keys were used....and for whatever reason, every 2nd or 3rd day or so, they wouldn't work and I'd have to go back down to the desk to get new ones. This would usually happen late at night after I was exhausted from the heat and walking...and rather aggravating after the third or fourth time.
Otherwise, I would stay at this hotel for the location and the cheap price. Other places to get a coffee and wifi included.

Room Tip: DEMAND a room with AC. Was unbearable when first arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Located on a busy street half a block from Florida, the Carsson is in the thick of things. A long entrance hall leads to an elegant reception area complete with a magnificent chandelier, period fire place and huge fresh flower displays. There is a beautiful little courtyard (complete with ashtray for the smokers!) at the rear of reception. Charming old-fashioned lifts/elevators cause mayhem with the double doors that people inevitably forget to close when leaving! I had a well-decorated room with a high ceiling, pendant light and dark wood furniture. There was a wall-mounted TV and fridge/mini-bar. The a/c worked well (after I asked reception to activate it. The bathroom was fine (as opposed to other posts of having a small shower). My only gripe was the cost of wifi (US$10 per 24 hours). Apparently, this is because we were part of a tour - if you book independently it's free. I didn't try the breakfast as it wasn't included in my booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I also stayed here as part of a tour company package. There was a surcharge for Wi-Fi and breakfast was not included. McDonalds is around the corner with free Wi-Fi. A nice surprise was the small refrigerator, but there were no controls anywhere for heat or A/C. I've never seen such a tiny shower stall! As one person noted, it was about 2 ft. by 2 ft. My elbows hit the sides while washing my hair. A large person would not fit in there! Hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed here as part of a group-tour while in Buenos Aires. The hotel is central located, near the shopping neighborhood, which is a plus. I was placed in a room without airconditioning, and with 30 celcius outside, this was not really great. The room was rundown, maybe it was clean, but it didn't look like it. The bathroom was old. The hotel staff was friendly. The reason why I rate it as poor is that there are quite a lot of hotels in the neighborhood which have a much better price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
El Centro
Algeciras Hotel
Algeciras Hotel
#231 of 442 in Buenos Aires
99 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel Avenida
Gran Hotel Avenida
#311 of 442 in Buenos Aires
10 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#109 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#173 of 442 in Buenos Aires
353 reviews
Montserrat
Imperial Park Hotel
Imperial Park Hotel
#216 of 442 in Buenos Aires
390 reviews
San Nicolas
Unique Executive Central
Unique Executive Central
#220 of 442 in Buenos Aires
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carsson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carsson Hotel

Address: Viamonte 650, Buenos Aires 1053ABN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carsson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic French-style Hotel located in downtown financial district, convenient to shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carsson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carsson Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing