We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dora Hotel: A traditional hotel for those who appreciate art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dora Hotel
Ranked #193 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dora Hotel: A traditional hotel for those who appreciate art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

The hotel is located 200 mts. from the main tourist street of Buenos Aires - Calle Florida-.
It is surrounded by hotels on all sides, and even so, it does not lose his poise.
Its owners, art lovers and culture (a real hobby for them) became
the hotel entrance (30x15 mts.) in a real showroom.
There are several pictures of Argentine painters, such as Juan Carlos Castagnino (a 3x3mts.)
Nicolas Espózito, and several sculptures by Mariano Pages, Clare Vinuzinski and others, all
finely arranged and illuminated.
All corridors and rooms have paintings on the wall.
Want to know Buenos Aires artistically? Begin by Dora.
A winter garden in the back and, in the middle of the hall, a cascade of water illuminated
open ceiling, so that birds can get water to drink.
The Dora has a good bar, open 24 hs. Room for small meetings, and on the last floor
one "solarium", for guests who want to sunbathe.
Keeping the hotel tradition, is today one of the few hotels that offers the
Breakfast (included in daily), lunch and dinner.
The apartment is comfortable, with TV, air conditioning, minibar, desk, chair.
There is wifi in the apartment.
For the ladies there are three mirrors made of crystals of enormous size.
Ideal for anyone who needs to dress up to go to a party.
The three receptionists are true gentlemen and very helpful as the guests
mostly in Buenos Aires tourist
The cost-benefit ratio is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo_Pinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    105
    73
    23
    10
See reviews for
48
87
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Because of New Year, and the kickoff of Dakar Rally, most hotels in BA are full (or charge steep prices), so I ended up at Dora for three nights around NYE. I paid US$99-110 for a double room.
It is located very close to Plaza San Martin, and Florida (the pedestrian street).
As other contributors have indicated, the front desk staff has an average age of approximately 85 years, but they do speak English.
There is a computer in the lobby with internet for free, and they also have a relatively fast wi-fi connection in the guest rooms.
Rooms are ok, but quite old fashioned. TV, minibar, but no safety deposit box.
Bathrooms have bathtub, and basic toiletries are provided.

Basically, I would recommend this to people who like the way hotels were back in the days.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Not a glitzy chain hotel that could be anywhere, but a grand old dame with all the advantages and a few of the drawbacks this brings. Courteous and unhurried service from polite older staff, not automaton youngsters, a perfect position near the metro, and a feeling of calm and reassurance as you walk through the doors. Ignore the outrageous review here by one American who clearly can't stand anything unAmerican! Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikestrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

This is a nice hotel with godd location in Buenos Aires. The rooms are small but confortable enough. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is very clean and everything worked as it should.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2005

We stayed in Dorà for 4 nights, the first 4 ever for us in Argentina. There's nothing much to complain or get excited about this hotel. It's definitely not the cheapest option (we were charged 60 USD/night), but on the other hand offers a good location and a clean room and bathroom. We had a room on the eight floor, with a balcony (overlooking only the roofs of the surrounding buildings however) on the street side. I cannot say that we got woken up by any noises, although I can imagine that the lower floors might suffer more noise as Calle Maipù is a very narrow and rather busy street (especially during weekdays). The breakfast was okay, maybe a bit boring (3 croissants and 3 slices of toast for 2 people) but well presented by the friendly waiters. Internet is free to use (they have 2 computer terminals).
The staff consists of mostly older men, so don't expect much english out of them.
I certainly don't regret having stayed there, but I might try something different next time.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tintin_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2005

Just stayed last week for eight nights and found the hotel to be nice and easy to get everywhere from. Rooms are small yes but I didnt need luxury as I was hardly in the room. I only had the break fast once and it was fine. The other days the dining room was full so I went out for a small breakfast in the neighborhood. I find the staff to be amiable and patient with my less than adequate Spanish. I never had a problem with getting change or asking for info about the city or where to buy a particular item. I would return to the hotel for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UrsaMajorNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2005

The location is great, almost a stone's throw to the San Martin subte (subway) stop. Just around the corner from the busy pedestrian street Florida.
The lobby provides a glimmer of hope as it is fairly attractive and looks fairly recently remodeled.
We had prepaid for a five night stay with octupustravel.
Our room was another story. First of all, it was small, as was the bathroom. Very small in fact, although there was adequate long term storage in drawers in the closet. It was also very worn, dingy carpet, scuffed walls, etc.
It was in desperate need of a fresh coat of paint. The door to the bathroom almost touched the toilet when opened making it very awkward to get in and out.
As far as the "cold breakfast" goes, one out of two ain't bad. It was cold but hardly a breakfast. We sat for 10 minutes before being acknowledged. The breakfast consisted of a big bowl of fruit salad which was 95% pears, a bowl of prunes, a plate of cheese and one type of cold meat cuts. After being served our coffee and a bowl with two pieces of toast and two croissants we went up to the food. The cheese plate was empty and never refilled with hours to go. We tired of waiting and set out on our first day in the city.
We spent one night in that small room and asked the front desk for a bigger room. We were told that bigger rooms were on the front of the hotel overlooking the street. We went up, looked at the room. It was big, it was bright, it was sparkling with fresh paint. But is was loud, even with the European style metal louvers down. We foolishly assumed it would be less noisy at night. We were wrong. It was unbearable. And don't plan on sleeping in past 6 AM, when the garbage truck literally sits outside for 10 minutes, making sounds that I did not know existed.
The hotel advertises that it is air conditioned, and this is true technically. However, be aware there are no controls in the room. When the air comes on everybody gets it. And it is not set very cool and they turn it off at night completely. It was cool outside but the windows have no screens and coupled with the noise, opening the windows is not an option. And if you are cold and want heat, you are out of luck.
We then convinced ourselves it wouldn’t be so bad the next night (weekend) but we were wrong. We didn’t want to go back to “the hole” so even though it was prepaid, and we stood a chance of losing our money on the last two nights we checked the Internet and found out the Howard Johnson’s around the corner was the only hotel available in a reasonable price range. That turned out to be the best decision of the trip (see our review of that property for our glowing review) and after checking out of the Dora and into the Hojo’s, I told my wife I felt like I was out of an abusive relationship.
I have heard that you should not consider the best or worst reviews of a hotel but rather the average. I hate, hate, hated this hotel. Remember, I left a prepaid room empty for two nights, rather than spend another ruined night of my vacation.
If you can live with the small dingy room and a horrible “breakfast” and don’t mind being warm at night, then maybe you will be happy. But I doubt it.
They will not hold your baggage for you after you check out as most other hotels will (a must if you are planning a trip to Iguazu and only want a few nights worth of clothing).

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#176 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#98 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#179 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#153 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
San Nicolas
Grand King Hotel
Grand King Hotel
#213 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Retiro
Bisonte Palace
Bisonte Palace
#139 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Hotel

Property: Dora Hotel
Address: Calle Maipu 963, Buenos Aires C1006ACM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dora Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing