We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel,Handy Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Hotel Hispano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Hotel Hispano
Ranked #223 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
AdventureLovers
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Hotel,Handy Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is not a 4 star but is adequate for a short stay. The hotel is
older,the rooms are a good size but the bathrooms are small(not unlike
many in Argentina) More of a European flavor. The breakfasts are much
like most Argentinian breakfasts ,toast,croissants,and sweetbreads with
juice and coffee.
The location of this hotel is what makes it very attractive.Close to downtown
and the Florida Mall,and many restaurants.This is where many activities are
in Buenos Aires.
This housekeeping service was great and the rooms clean and the front desk
people were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    74
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
27
39
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayd their when we landed in B.A for three days and come back two nights to flyback to the US. Do not stop your mind on the old style rooms, they are clean and well hold. You can enjoy an included breakfast in the nice patio. Just avoid rooms close to Av de Mayo that are noisy, Management will kindly change your location if they can. Location, Prices and Service are really good for the Buenos Aires Downtown.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManuGraillansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is a very nice hotel, clean, quiet, helpful staff. Coffee at breakfast the best we had in our month in Argentina. This was the fifth place we stayed in Argentina, including two resorts, and it held its own with them.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. SubTe right out the front door gives you access to nearly the whole city. Buses that come by frequently (and for only $1.25 pesos) can get you where SubTe doesn't yet go. SanTelmo is walking distance. Always something going on down the street in Plaza de Mayo, and always sales on Florida Street 3 blocks away. On Sundays, start on Defensa/Peru Street and walk the 1-1/2 miles through the street artisan sales to free tango at Plaza Dorrego in the late afternoon.

Only one caution. We booked in for a 3-night special at $340 US*. It included a city tour (which was very good), a bottle of wine (delicious), and a tango show (which would have been very good, I think, if it had been at Senor Tango as expected, but due to overflow there, we were sent to 'Sabor a Tango', too touristy, too expensive for drinks, and lousy view of the stage. So if you take the special, insist on Senor Tango). *If I understood the regular room rate, the special does save you some if you plan to do these extras anyway.

As for tango shows, two doors down is the famous Cafe Tortoni (a cool enough place anyway) which has an excellent tango show for $100 pesos (~$25 US) and the Hotel Hispano staff can direct you to a bus to go to Caminito to see good tango up close while enjoying reasonably priced drinks and food.

If you don't like Gran Hotel Hispano, you might be just a bit too picky.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel is a piece of history, nothing has changed since the 50's. My Husband and I found it charming. The location is excellent, staff helpfull and prices very reasonable. However it's noisy, don't go there if you looking for calm.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEME1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel in 2008 and wanted to stay here again as it is not the usual run-of-the-mill chain hotel and we like that. The hotel was exactly as we remember it - so we were glad to be back.
There were two negatives of our visit this time, though.
The first was we arrived at the hotel around 8pm and our room was not ready!!!!!!!! Really? Turns out that the people who were in our room asked for an additional half day, and then stayed past the time they were supposed to leave - because one of the people in the room was ill. So, it was not a good feeling to enter that room, KNOWING someone had been ill in there. Felt very uneasy for a few hours there after that. Granted, that could happen anywhere without being aware of it, but it's just that this time, we knew.
Second, since it was winter, the hotel had the heaters going and there was no way to regulate the air in our rooms if we wanted them a little cooler. Without windows in the rooms, the only other alternative is to keep the door to the room open for fresh air, and who wants to do that??? Fortunately our room had a small fan, and we lent it to our son-in-law, whose room was a lot hotter than ours.
Some of the rooms have windows, and in 2008, we were lucky enough to get one of those rooms. If you need fresh air, try to get a room with a window! In 2008, we also had a room that faced Avenida de Mayo - a street noisy 24/7 - but were told that they had recently installed noise proof windows in those front rooms.
Pros of this hotel: Avenida de Mayo, the street the hotel is on, is an exciting street and any and all kinds of things can happen on that street; Cafe Tortoni is just a few feet away; the inside of the hotel has a very charming inner courtyard; some rooms have quite comfortable and spacious bathrooms with nice upgrades; there are two computers for guests to use; water in breakfast area to fill water bottles with; nice outdoor patio for guests to use; the hotel just has a feel of South America..
Cons of this hotel: windowless rooms can get quite warm in winter; breakfast is just ordinary; some rooms have only a shower curtain separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom; lots of stairs to climb if you don't want to wait for the old-timey elevator.
Would we stay here a third time? Definitely.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

We have been in the Hispano Hotel in 1998 ( not 2007, but the menu doesnt allow earlier than that). The room was basic, but clean. The rooms are set very romantically. It is central and it was not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertbreak-Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

If you want a nice clean comfortable place to stay that is central in the city, this is the place for you. This is not the Hilton or Mariott. It is an older hotel that has been kept up with it's original classic style. This hotel has class.

We were there in the summer and it was hot outside. They put us in a room with a ceiling fan but no air. My daughter had been living in Buenos Aires for 18 months and she thought the room was fine but my wife and I needed air conditioning. The next day we asked for a room with air and they moved us to a room with central air. The central air was not as cold as I like a room but it was fine.

The rooms are small but not so small that they are uncomfortable. The bathrooms are fine. It was all very clean. The furnishings and wall coverings were colorful and clean.

The rooms are all around a central atrium. If you had time you could relax in this atrium and read or eat breakfast.

They had computers for guests to use. We had our own computer and the wireless internet was very fast. They also have a safety deposit box in the closet and it was easy to use. We did not use the gym

The staff was friendly and helpful. They got me everything I needed. I don't speak spanish but they understood whatever I needed.

The elevator is small but it worked and was fine. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked Ave. de Mayo and there is constant noise from the street but it was not so loud that it kept us awake. The other rooms do not have windows so we were happy to have the balcony and a little noise. Breakfast is typical for Argentina, a couple of different types of sweet bread and juice, milk or coffee.

This hotel is right in the center of things in Buenos Aires. It is a short walk to all the street shopping and great dining. We used the subway a lot to get around and the stations are right out the door. With the subway so close it was quick and easy to see all of Buenos Aires.

If you want to relax by a pool or get pampered in a spa then the Hotel Gran Hispano is not for you. If you want to see Buenos Aires and experience a classic hotel and the Argentina culture then stay at the Hotel Gran Hispano.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Father0f6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#176 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#111 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Montserrat
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#212 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#58 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#124 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Pop Hotel
#98 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Hispano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Hispano

Property: Gran Hotel Hispano
Address: Avenida de Mayo 861, Buenos Aires C1084AAD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gran Hotel Hispano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Hispano has a Spanish colonial style architecture, very colorful and bright. It highlights the large courtyard with glass roof and sliding, the living rooms of the second and third floor and terrace, a small oasis that can take some sun in the center of the city.Rooms, carefully refurbished trying to The structure of the building from the late nineteenth century, are illuminated through French windows that open to the courtyard. Rooms with windows to the outside, spacious and bright.Among the common use facilities features a large breakfast room with TV, that can also be used for meetings or events, two computers in the first floor lobby with internet access and printers, and cozy places to be on the different floors of the hotel.Also offer cribs for babies (up to one year of age do not pay accommodation), we dispenser hot and cold water, laundry service, and all our efforts to please you and make your stay at the Gran Hotel Hispano enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Hispano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing