We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Gran Hotel Hispano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Hispano
Ranked #222 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booked into the hotel based on TA review and no regret. Stayed for 5/4N followed by another night before returning to KL. Location is perfect, metro or subte station right in front of the hotel. Easy access to most touristic places and no trouble finding places to eat.
Staff are super friendly, simple breakfast, room was cleaned everyday and cleanliness is above average.
The best part is you can laze around the courtyard to enjoy a drink and quiet chat.
WIFI works well.
For the price, really worth the stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor is best where you can access to the courtyard and with 2 Pcs for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cps5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    75
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
28
39
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was definitely a good choice for my first time in BA. The hotel is very quiet, had a good central location to most of BA, and had a friendly staff. A small but noticeable thing...they also stored my luggage, even going so far as to tag it and make me show identification when retrieving it. Overall, it was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is steeped in history and is located conveniently in the heart of Buenos Aires on the Av de Mayo. The rooms are clean and adequate, maybe a bit on the small side with equally small bathrooms. Most rooms face an inside corridor (i.e have no windows), but on the bright side this also means that the street noise cannot reach the rooms. The overall decor of the hotel is quite nice, with a lot of plants lining the corridors. Breakfast is okay, but again a bit small. Staff was friendly but spoke Spanish only.
The rooms are air-conditioned but the system is a central-air in the classical sense, meaning that the temperature is controlled from a central switch for all rooms - the occupant of the room has no control over either the temperature or whether the air conditioner is on or off, meaning that it can get quite chilly at times at night when the air conditioner is running at full power even though outside temperatures may have dropped.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyprusguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel has a number of things going for it: the price, the interior and the location.

If you like to stay in old buildings with interesting architecture, then look no further. Stepping into this hotel is like stepping into the past. The interior seems to be very well maintained and includes a beautiful central area in which one can sit and relax.

The hotel is located on Avenida Mayo near Avenida 9 de Julio which makes it an ideal location from which to visit the main sites of downtown including easy access to the Florida pedestrian road, the Sunday market, the government buildings, and other downtown landmarks. You can easily access the subway just outside the hotel to visit other locations in Buenos Aires.

The only negative of this hotel is the stuffy rooms. There seems to be air conditioning in the hotel, but my room had none. In order for it to get into the room, I would have had to leave the door open.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrunkardsWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The location is just perfect in Buenos Aires, close to the Casa Rosada and the Avenida de 9 de Julio, and at the center where all the major tube stations meet. The staff was very friendly, rooms are overall nice though the bathrooms are really small, and breakfast was about average. This was my second stay at the Gran Hotel Hispano already, and I'd definitely go there again as value for money and location-wise it's a great option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great hotel with perfect location. Have stayed there every time I go to Buenos Aires. Near Cafe Tortoni and Plaza de Mayo. Ave Florida nearby as well as ave. 9 De Julio. Puerto Moderno within walking distance as well as San Telmo on a Sunday afternoon. Hotel is old but comfortable with a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
364 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I contacted the Gran Hotel Hispano as it was listed as one of Tripadvisor's best value hotels and I was not disappointed at any time during my stay. Their timely responsiveness to all my emails requesting additional information and other details is commendable. I was able to make a 5 night reservation without requiring a credit card deposit and check-in was fast and efficient. A room rate discount is extended for those paying cash in lieu of using a credit card. A hotel safe and a room safe with key lock were available (the latter for a small additional fee). They convert foreign currency and gave me an excellent exchange rate for my US Dollars.

I got a room overlooking Avenida de Mayo with a balcony (on my first night there was a two hour peaceful demonstration on the street below). Complimentary and very fast wi-fi was available in my room at all times, night and day. Two personal computers are located in the common area and are for use at no cost to the hotel guests. The air conditioner was effective and cooled down the room very quickly. Color TV with almost 80 channels and many English-speaking channels was nice. There was no bathub in my room, but the shower was satisfactory and there was never a lack of hot water. My bathroom even had a bidet and some bath amenities were included.

Free breakfast consisted of a croissant, a medialuna, one slice of toast, coffee and orange juice. They offer laundry service and I think there is a bar. Additionally, due to my lack of Spanish, they helped me arrange my transfer back to the airport through Manuel Tienda Leon ($31 USD round-trip bought on arrival in Buenos Aires).

I would recommend this hotel to any budget conscience traveler due to the excellent room rate, its convenient location in microcentro, and for the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#183 of 447 in Buenos Aires
479 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#132 of 447 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Montserrat
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#211 of 447 in Buenos Aires
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel El Cabildo
Hotel El Cabildo
#181 of 447 in Buenos Aires
208 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Uthgra de las Luces
Hotel Uthgra de las Luces
#214 of 447 in Buenos Aires
275 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#387 of 447 in Buenos Aires
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Hispano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Hispano

Property: Gran Hotel Hispano
Address: Avenida de Mayo 861, Buenos Aires C1084AAD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gran Hotel Hispano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Hispano has a Spanish colonial style architecture, very colorful and bright. It highlights the large courtyard with glass roof and sliding, the living rooms of the second and third floor and terrace, a small oasis that can take some sun in the center of the city.Rooms, carefully refurbished trying to The structure of the building from the late nineteenth century, are illuminated through French windows that open to the courtyard. Rooms with windows to the outside, spacious and bright.Among the common use facilities features a large breakfast room with TV, that can also be used for meetings or events, two computers in the first floor lobby with internet access and printers, and cozy places to be on the different floors of the hotel.Also offer cribs for babies (up to one year of age do not pay accommodation), we dispenser hot and cold water, laundry service, and all our efforts to please you and make your stay at the Gran Hotel Hispano enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Hispano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing