We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lion d'Or
Ranked #286 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great service and value. If you are a solo traveler like myself, who wants a clean safe place to stay, this is great place. The staff are exceptional. The booked my transportation on two legs to the domestic and international airports. They exchanged dollars for me. In addition, I had a very cheap breakfast down the street with a coupon. The place is safe and secure. It's close to the buses and tourist sites like the cemetery in Recolata. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    49
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
35
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I just checked out of this dump, yesterday. We were taken in by others accounts of the romontic notions of past grandour. We didn´t find it so. This once fine mansion is in sad disrepair with peeling paint, a non-functioning elevator and nightly power-outages leaving you sweating in 35 C humid BA. The non-English speaking staff explained away in spanish, when we ansked them what to do when the lights and electricity went out. A small sign in spanish caught us off-guard last day. It says, Cash-only, no credit Cards. We had US dollars and they short-changed us to a rediculous low rate. With the elevator out no one in the reception got off their behinds to assist us with the luggage for the stairs; they just sat there; allways un-smiling. The room we got was their most expensive, but it was just a tired old box. At our departure we had asked them to arrage for transportation to the airport. We expected some autorized van or professional. Instead a private driver pulled up and in his own private car drove us to the airport after some dispute with the hotel owner over what rate to charge us. This is a bummer.

Room Tip: Speak spanish and carry a flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightfoot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I just returned from 3 weeks in Argentina, and I stayed at Lion D'Or twice, for a week at the start of my trip and then 2 nights at the end. In between, I went to Patagonia. I really appreciated the hotel, because for a very low price I got a clean, comfortable room with excellent staff who went out of their way to help me. The included Continental breakfast at nearby Cafe Pilar was yummy, the hotel arranged my shuttles to and from the airport and the hotel's beautiful old marble staircase gave the place a special charm. The elevator was having problems, but I didn't mind using the stairs and staff helped me with my bags. I did notice that people with rooms near the elevators found it noisy and all the old buildings in Buenos Aires seem to echo and reverberate sound, which can be a problem if you are trying to sleep and there is something else happening nearby. But for a no-frills experience in a great, safe neighborhood with nice staff, Lion D'Or can't be beat!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergerjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is my affordable go to when visiting BA. Located in one of the most expensive neighborhoods in the city, Recoletta, this hotel is clean, safe, family run and offers fair prices for a wide variety of room types and configurations.
You can walk to so many cool places from here including the Recolleta Cemetary, several parks, open air market, museums and more.
If you are looking to save money, are traveling during a warmer season and don't mind sharing a bathroom the rooms in the top terrace are great. Grab a bottle of Malbec and enjoy sitting on the terrace near the rooms relaxing and listening to the sounds of the city. remember the seasons are opposite from North America!
In my opinion The best rooms are on the second floor facing the street with French doors. These can be a bit louder because of the proximity to the street but it is so cool to sit looking out on the action on the street in Recolleta.
I love the architecture of this hotel from the original elevator to the staircases. This was originally an embassy and although it is lacking modern updates, it provides such a unique look at the history of the area.
Must pay in cash as of my last stay. Much better rate when paying in US Dollars but you must ask for the discount.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room with a window! Interior rooms are without airflow and claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastCoastJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked this hotel due to the location and price. Overall it was a great stay. The hotel is ideally located in the Recoleta neighborhood. Note the hotel charges upfront in cash for the stay. We paid in US dollars and got a better rate. The rate was in Argentinian pesos and stayed the same, however we got a a better exchange rate from the hotel when we paid in US dollars. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were soft and the rooms were quiet. This is more like a B&B. than a hotel. Dont expect room service, a mini bar, nice toiletries. We walked at night to dinner without any issues. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The rooms need some painting/fixing but this may bring up the price.. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Gerente at Hotel Lion d'Or, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are glad you had a great stay!
I commented already started painting some of the rooms (which made ​​them lack), and lack of time not to.
We wait for another time, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Lion d'Or in July and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is an old embassy, which is pretty cool, and they still have the original elevator and beautiful staircase. The hotel itself is a little neglected, but we found it to be clean, and the front desk staff were very helpful. We had a triple room, which had one double bed and two twin beds. The bathroom was quite large with a full bathtub. The room also had a safe, which was a nice touch. It's an excellent location for visiting many sights on foot--the Recoleta Cemetery is just a couple of blocks away as well as the Museo de Bellas Artes. We also walked to the Teatro Colon without a problem. A nice choice in the Recoleta neighborhood--great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulip579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Gerente at Hotel Lion d'Or, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimados:

Es un gusto que se hayan alojado en el Lion Dor !!!

Los esperamos en otra oportunidad,muchas gracias.Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I thought it was very good value for Buenos Aires, considering that I was able to get a private room in Recoletta, within an easy walk of the cemetary. The old building is lovely and has a lot of personality. I was staying in a single room, which was an enclosed area on the roof with other enclosed single rooms beside it. The staff walked my luggage up to the room, as the elevator doesn't go up to the roof. Even though it was winter, the room was quite a comfortable temperature. My one gripe would be that the rooms (at least on the roof) are not very sound proof, which became an issue the last night I stayed there when I could hear a woman nearby moving her luggage into the room, chatting on the phone and opening and closing her door. The bathroom was also very small, and with the curtain it was almost impossible to shower and not get the whole bathroom wet. Some of the staff do not speak English, which was occasionally an issue for me (as I do not know Spanish), but they still did their best to help!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftingsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Gerente at Hotel Lion d'Or, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Google Translation
Es un gusto que se hay alojado con nosotros en el Hotel Lion Dor.

Como usted sabrá,las habitaciones son cómodas,limpias,con calefacción central,pero lamentamos que los pasajeros que transitaron por el pasillo,hablando por teléfono,lo hayan molestado.
Lo esperamos en otra oportunidad.Muchas gracias.Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Hotel Prince
Hotel Prince
#253 of 446 in Buenos Aires
104 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#340 of 446 in Buenos Aires
24 reviews
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#291 of 446 in Buenos Aires
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#162 of 446 in Buenos Aires
566 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#172 of 446 in Buenos Aires
321 reviews
Recoleta
Epico Recoleta Hotel
Epico Recoleta Hotel
#244 of 446 in Buenos Aires
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion d'Or

Property: Hotel Lion d'Or
Address: Calle Pacheco de Melo 2019 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1126AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lion d'Or 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have over 10 years of experience in the sector, the Hotel Lion d'Or is a stylish, comfortable, with a familiar and highly personalized attention, making our hotel your best hosting experience. Our hotel features: 30 Rooms with and without balconies, central heating, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, Wi-Fi, digital safes, vending drinks and snacks, terrace, lift, breakfast optional, Assistance 24 hour care, tours, shows, car rental service, personalized attention to address everything our guests need. It is located in Recoleta, one of the most distinguished of Buenos Aires, surrounded by shopping centers such as Buenos Aires Desing, Patio Bullrich, restaurants, parks, museums: National Museum of Fine Arts, the Centro Cultural Recoleta, Malba, Palais de Glace, churches like the Basilica of Our Lady of Pilar, Recoleta Cemetery, the National Library, 1 block from the Recoleta Mall and attractive night where tranquility and security ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion d Or
Lion d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing