We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive”
Review of Hotel Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lion d'Or
Ranked #277 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 26 October 2010

If you are on a budget, but want a safe area - this one is for you. Shabby, but clean. Quiet. Use the web site discount and get a day free for each 4 days you buy. The 220 peso room w/bath is quite small. We wanted the large 250 peso one, but none were available. I was able to use the shower without getting the floor wet. Bed was not comfortable. Toilet has a surprise. Everything worked properly, and hot water always available. Staff was helpful. This hotel is CASH in pesos only. Take US dollars and exchange for pesos at any Banco Nacion.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilfulRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

The hotel is in a convenient location in Recoleta. This was our second visit to Buenos Aires. We first stayed at the Intercontinental but like the Recoleta area much better even though the IC itself was very nice. Although breakfast is not served, there was an excellent bakery around the corner. We mainly used this place to sleep, shower and change. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke enough English to get basic information. A pay laundromat is nearby. We arrived without a reservation and were happily accommodated bit we did have to change rooms at least three times during our stay. We were happy to at least have a clean and comfortable place to stay. The hotel only accepts cash. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISPpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This was a find that we would recommend to anyone. The hotel is in the safest part of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta, with fabulous restaurants and patisseries nearby (we liked Louis XV patisserie). It is next to BA’s stunning cemetery. The rooms are huge and comfortable – parquet floors, high ceilings, old European feel. TV has English channels. Bathroom is a little poky but water is hot all day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Overall, the hotel is clean and the location is really what you would pay for. The safe recoleta neighborhood is probably the sole reason you should choose this hotel. Given the more economical price of the hotel in this expensive neighborhood, it's a reasonable deal.

The owner and the managers are decent people. They're not overly welcoming and at times you might think they're even a bit pissed at their job, but they're ok. They'll help you with everything you need and give you what you want...just don't expect them to be all smiles because they're not.

The room was ok. It had a TV, telephone, and they changed the linens everyday. They do have Wireless Internet but for some reason mine kept getting disconnected regularly.

The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. It is extremely small. Everything has been cramped into this small square room (dare I call it a room). The shower place was just too small. You can just stand there and the shower curtains will still keep hitting against you. And the curtains don't stop the water from going out anyway.

Stay there for the location. Buenos Aires is a great place and will take care of you during the day. At night...just drop to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Messi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed here for three nights and was quite pleased. Upgraded to the 3rd story (2nd floor) which had a nice balcony. The traffic from the street didn't bother me but the overly amorous couple next door did ;-) Didn't notice that they don't accept credit cards until I was checking out (there was a big sign that I ignored apparently). So after a frantic trip to the ATM, I was happy to pay cash cause I didn't have to pay VAT (shh...don't tell anyone).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PManCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This old hotel is conveniently situated in Recoleta. The single room with bathroom was ok for the price but it would help if they had a curtain over the glass door to the corridor. Impossible to sleep unless I hung a blanket over the door.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Me and my friend we stayed in this hotel for 2 days - we wanted a great location with a great price, and this hotel delivers. We could walk alone in the night, no problems, in one of the bests buenos aires areas. Restaurants and shops nearby, very cool. And the hotel is charming, because is a adapted gigantic town house. Like all in BA, is old - the beds, the bathroom, but, if you're looking to just crash at night, this is the place. Is all very clean, be carefull with choosing the room: problems with ar conditioned and showers are common (not in my case) and this is the most important: you want something romantic, go to another place - this is a hotel for shopping travellers and friends who wants party!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhellFibla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenos Aires
Ker Urquiza Hotel & Suites
#215 of 440 in Buenos Aires
178 reviews
Belgrano
Cristal Palace
Cristal Palace
#357 of 440 in Buenos Aires
112 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#330 of 440 in Buenos Aires
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Koten Hotel
Koten Hotel
#405 of 440 in Buenos Aires
161 reviews
Ramada Buenos Aires
#2 of 2 in Vicente Lopez
309 reviews
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#157 of 440 in Buenos Aires
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion d'Or

Address: Calle Pacheco de Melo 2019 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1126AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lion d'Or 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have over 10 years of experience in the sector, the Hotel Lion d'Or is a stylish, comfortable, with a familiar and highly personalized attention, making our hotel your best hosting experience. Our hotel features: 30 Rooms with and without balconies, central heating, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, Wi-Fi, digital safes, vending drinks and snacks, terrace, lift, breakfast optional, Assistance 24 hour care, tours, shows, car rental service, personalized attention to address everything our guests need. It is located in Recoleta, one of the most distinguished of Buenos Aires, surrounded by shopping centers such as Buenos Aires Desing, Patio Bullrich, restaurants, parks, museums: National Museum of Fine Arts, the Centro Cultural Recoleta, Malba, Palais de Glace, churches like the Basilica of Our Lady of Pilar, Recoleta Cemetery, the National Library, 1 block from the Recoleta Mall and attractive night where tranquility and security ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion d Or
Lion d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing