We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find but very worthwhile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Usina del Arte

Usina del Arte
Ranked #20 of 716 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard to find but very worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A century old electricity plant has been converted into an arts center, with emphasis on music. A chamber music hall plus a large auditorium are venues for popular and classic music concerts taking place several times throughout the week. Entrance is free. The only problem is that not too many taxi drivers know about the place, so before getting there make sure you have the proper coordinates.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fbakermf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    624
    87
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cool cultural center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Located in Boca neighborhood, this culture center was a real gem in the city. We went to see a photo exhibit, but they had lots of interesting classes and exhibitions available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A worthwhile excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our family went here on a Saturday. It was VERY challenging to find for our drivers (we took 2 taxis as there are 5 of us and we didn't follow each other). I had the road and the neighborhood to give - knew it was a huge building and figured that would be enough. My husband had the street number and the pin on a map on his iphone - and it was still really hard for them to find. Our first driver didn't even want to try and passed us off to another driver. SO - if you are going to head there, best if you have some good directions to pass off in Spanish.
Getting there aside - the space is really great - in a refurbished factory - and the "3D" Van Gogh exhibit was really clever. They had prints of all (?) Van Gogh's work lined on walls, and then every so often, a little booth with 3D glasses attached by fishing string (so they wouldn't go walking off) where you could see a selected painting sort of come to life. Even though they don't have any of the original works, it was interesting to see the prints all hung in one place together and follow the progression/trends of his art. We all enjoyed ourselves and recommend it as an excursion if you have some extended time in BsAs (we are here for 8 days)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeTheWorld109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Van Gogh exhibit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Immersive experience, including 3D transitions of some of Van Gogh's greatest works. The Elrich "Edificio" is spectacular too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Clemmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Usina del Arte also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Usina del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing