We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Recoleta Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Recoleta Grand
Ranked #37 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent one night as part of a cruise tour. The rooms were very nice. The continental breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about. Drinks at the bar were quite expensive $32 for one Jack Daniels and one Absolute on the rocks. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Recepción at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Utterly disappointing. Booked a deluxe suite which nothing but a long, narrow, rectangular shaped room with a table. They have the most idiotic of door signs (you know the one that says "do not disturb"). On our first day when we left the room we turned that sign around thinking they would clean the room, well wait for this, it actually reads: "someone is cleaning your room". So when we returned at 7pm from a long day the room was not clean, the laundry had not been picked up, etc. total disaster. When we complained they offered to send someone in 20 mins. Instead I asked to be transferred to a different room that would already been cleaned. We were moved to a lower floor room facing the street (bad idea as it is very noisy). We then slowly realised the room was even smaller than the previous one. I made a big fuss at reception but the poor chap clearly had no power on his ends and the GM was away. I asked him to contact the GM and that upon our return that night we would have a solution/upgrade/refund of some sort.

When we returned we got the best room in the hotel, the actual only real suite (as per the standards of any well travelled individual, i.e. a bedroom + a separate living room). So they did compensate I guess but the aggravation we endured and the fact that we had to kick up a fuss is just not what you would expect for a 5 star hotel in Argentina. This is well located but far from impressive as a building and rooms are generally quite small with low ceilings which doesn't help. positives? good breakfast and good choice of tv channels and a short stroll to the Recoleta cemetery. That's it.

Avoid if you can

Room Tip: just stay somewhere else if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank genevatopreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Recepción at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Discovered via TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! The location is ideal set in a fairly quiet main thoroughfare within good walking distance of most of Buenos Aires sites or a reasonable cab ride. The hotel was opened a few years ago and the rooms are well appointed, good WiFi throughout hotel and a very comfortable large double bed. A small rooftop plunge pool and well equipped small gym are on the 10th floor. There is a restaurant at the hotel which looks nice though did not use. Reception and all staff met were very helpful and professional. BA Grand was a good find for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were most pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt cared by our team

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

BGH is located in Recoleta district and is close to many tourist attractions; it is well run, clean and staff is friendly. It is worth paying extra for superior rooms as they are considerably bigger and better equipped. Complimentaries given are also better quality. The breakfast is okay by Argentinian standarts. The swimmimg pool at the roof is small. Overall it represents a good value.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Recepción at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are looking for a nice hotel, this is the one. The service is great. The rooms are very quiet and well decorated. The location is great, very centered for Buenos Aires. The breakfast is good, but we did not go to the restaurant. You will have a very good cost benefit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were most pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt cared by our team

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here based on trip advisor reviews. While the hotel itself is lovely, the service we received was not up to what we would expect given the price we paid. We had to book 2 rooms that adjoined as the rooms cannot accommodate more than 2. The cost for this was almost $500 US per night, by far the most expensive stay we had over the 17 days and 4 cities we visited. We arrived earlier than the check in time and we were advised that our rooms were not ready and that check in wasn't until 3. It was only 10:30am and we asked that they do what they could to get us into our rooms as soon as possible. We have 2 small children and asked that if one room could be cleaned as soon as possible we would appreciate it. We came back at 2:30 and still only 1 room was ready. The other room we didn't get until almost 4pm. The booking promised us welcome champagne, nightly turndown service and fresh flowers, we did not receive any of this. It also heavily advertises both online and in the In-room literature, the fact that you will have"butler" service. At no time did we ever see or hear from any such person so I have no idea what the butler service was supposed to entail. The hotel is in a lovely area, close to nice shopping, restaurants, etc. the rooms are tastefully decorated with high quality linens and nespresso machines however you receive only 2 capsules per STAY so despite being in the hotel for 2 nights, we only had one cup of coffee each. The breakfast buffet is great although we did encounter one very rude server who did everything in her power to not understand a word we were saying, telling us in perfect English that she didn't speak any. The concierges are very nice and all speak excellent English. We stayed over New Years eve and New Year's Day which isn't a great idea. There is virtually nothing open and we spent more than an hour walking around to try to find an open restaurant. We finally returned to the hotel to have room service and were told they had closed it early. We were never informed of this and having never been to Argentina would not have known that everything is closed. The front desk should have informed us of this when we checked in. We did end up getting room service after all but not until we went down to the restaurant to try to eat and were told it was fully booked for the evening. We would not have had anything to eat had they not accommodated us which they eventually did. There is a small gym and a small pool on the deck however they have just 6 lounging chairs total which is ridiculous. We ended up sitting on the deck floor as there were no other options. The rooms are comfortable, clean etc but our main complaint was really all about the service. I am it sure if it was because we are a family with small children, or if we just had some bad luck but we received much better service from all other hotels we stayed in. Tip: ask the concierge about changing money, they do have a great place that they will recommend that provides excellent exchange rates.

Room Tip: Rooms are surrounded by taller buildings so there is no views. If you can afford the deluxe rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Recepción at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I read many great reviews on this hotel so we decided to stay here for 5 nights. We have stayed at hotels in other countries (Spain, Italy, France, & Canada) before and they have always been a little under American standards in terms of looks and cleanliness. We were blown away once we stepped inside this hotel. It is modern and very clean. The staff spoke English extremely well and gave us tips on where to get currency for the best rates and showed us on a map where to go or what to see/eat.

Our room was great! The bed was pretty comfortable and there's a big flat screen tv that actually has channels in English! The best part of the whole stay was the FREE Wi-Fi so we could keep in touch with our friends and family back home. (We stayed a night at the Emperador due to our flight being delayed a day and they charged us $15 for 24 hours). Our room was an interior room so it was nice and quiet for us to sleep. We really liked the automatic shades that come down to make the room darker since sunrise was sometime around 5am.

The location is within walking distance to most sites. Recoleta Cemetery is about a 5-10 min walk (be sure to eat at Pani). We ate at Piegari, Fervor, and El Sanjuanino (empanadas) which were all within a 10 min walk down Callao Street. We walked home from Tango Porteno and it was about a 20-30 min stroll (quite nice at night...not so much during the day). Taxis are really cheap (about $5 for a 15-20 min ride) so we used them when we could (ask the front desk to call for one before you head out). During the rush hour you may not get one easily but you can hail one on the corner. Look for a lit up "libre" in the the upper left corner of the cab coming at you.

Book this place, it's great! We would definitely stay here again if we are in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oupharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisSeroM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Recoleta Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Recoleta Grand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were most pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt cared by our team

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Luis Sero Mantero
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#28 of 440 in Buenos Aires
871 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 440 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#30 of 440 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#47 of 440 in Buenos Aires
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recoleta Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recoleta Grand

Address: Avenida Gral Las Heras 1745 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1018AAB, Argentina (Formerly Buenos Aires Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Recoleta Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recoleta Grand was inaugurated in October 2012. It is located in the upscale Recoleta neighbourhood, the cultural centre of the Argentine capital. This boutique hotel is oriented to satisfy the needs of business and leisure travellers. It features 90 rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with a stunning view of the city, a solarium, a SPA and an outdoor garden. Following the LEED certification requirements (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) it manages eco-friendly policies such as: smoke free spaces and use of recycled materials It is decorated with native plants watered with an efficient irrigation system, greywater and recycling treatment for toilet use, thermal insulation and VRF air-conditioning system, LED and energy-efficient lightening and furniture manufactured with wood from responsibly managed forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Recoleta Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing