We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gotan Tours

Gotan Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tango tours and tango lessons will lead you into the hidden, passionate world of tango. Created by international artists (musicians, dancers, writers) who have found their inspiration in Buenos Aires, Gotan Tours creates experiences designed for those who seek a deeper understanding of Argentine tango and are not satisfied by pre-packaged tourist fare. Our tango lessons - available as part of our tours or separately - are designed to give absolute beginners a relaxed and meaningful introduction to dancing tango. Whether you plan to take just one class "to get the feel" of tango or suspect it could be the beginning of a life-long passion, we will help you take your first steps in tango. Because we are a part of the local arts scene, Gotan Tours can escort you through the Buenos Aires nights like no one else.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our first introduction to Buenos Aires was Gotan Tours Milonguera Tour. It was perfect for us traveling with our three adult kids. Kevin and Lourdes gave us such a great welcome and were so gracious with their time. It felt as though we were with friends. I loved this tour because it wasn't "touristy" or flashy. It felt very authentic and it was very personal! We watched regular people dancing because they loved it - not because they were professional performers. Kevin offered instruction to any of us who wanted it and while I felt a bit shy to try, I'm so glad I did. He did a great job giving us a little introduction to the dance. The tango hall was followed by great pizza and then the evening capped off at a lovely cafe. We walked from venue to venue and got a great feel for that part of the city. Kevin is very knowledgeable about the city and about tango and he was a wonderful host. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who'd like a more intimate and personal experience. Also, I thought it was very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank feiners01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Thank you so much! For us, these tours we host really are like going out with friends. New friends, of course, but friends all the same. I am glad that you enjoyed it and that we could get everyone to at least try a few tango steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Milonguero Tour - Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had Matilde & Lourdes take us on this very enjoyable night out. Starting at a very old famous dance hall it was lovely to watch the locals on the dance floor - as well as Matilde showing us her dancing skills! Learning about the traditions attached to the Tango was great. After the dance hall we went to eat pizza Buenos Aires style - which was delicious & fun. It was then through the theatre district & also past some of the cities most beautiful buildings all lit up at night. We finished with coffee & churros at another famous location. Both Matilde & Lourdes were great company & we would highly recommend this tour to spend a few hours with the locals & get a feel for the real Buenos Aires. Sue & Geoff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Sue & Geoff: Many thanks for joining us for the Milonguero Tour! It was our great pleasure to show you those special places in Buenos Aires that we love. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing local experience with a renowned musician”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This tour truly provided an unforgettable opportunity to experience tango music as a local. My husband and I went to a neighborhood tango club where we spent the evening enjoying the music of young tango artists who were debuting their new CD. Kevin is a humble yet incredibly accomplished musician himself. ( You can view his own concert on NPR) You will truly feel like an "insider" as you are welcomed so graciously by Kevin into the Buenos Aires tango scene.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012LaVieEnRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Thank you! It was a special night at the club given that the band was presenting their new CD and had invited many other musicians to be a part of the celebration. I was glad we could make you a part of a night like that. Buenos Aires is full of generous surprises like that. Till next time we meet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get personal with Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

What makes this tour unique, is you do not feel like you were on a "tour". What you really experience is being invited to go on a night out with locals meeting up with friends at a Tango hall, pizza cafe, small intimate concert and then some. The people Kevin introduces you to are open, warm, friendly and happy to share their evening with you. Kevin is an American musician who moved to Buenos Aires some 20 years ago so you get a unique perspective without loosing the true essence of the city, its culture and people. You can choose to do an early tour which starts at a beautiful old Tango hall where people who have obviously devoted years to perfecting the dance go, then on to a cafe where you sample the local take on pizza. The later tour starts with a small intimate concert you won't find anywhere on your own and ends at a more modern tango local. All along the way you meet locals who make you feel welcome and learn a little more than usual run of the mill tour pointing out everywhere Evita was. Highly recommended night out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarryR081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Exactly! For us it really is all about going out with friends to do those things we love in Buenos Aires. Yes, it is a business -- but it is a business based on doing the things we love. Tango is our world and inspires our art. We love sharing that with people who come to visit us in BA. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A night out on the town - Buenos Aires style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Argentina Music Tour I undertook with Kevin provided a great look at the real world of Tango in Buenos Aires. I had no knowledge of the whole Tango 'thing' but it obviously one of the things to do when in BA.
The personalised service provided by Kevin, who is himself both a musician and a man with a passion for tango, gave great insights to the whole "Milonga" culture.
Learning about the traditions and unwritten rules of Tango was a real treat, with the tour beginning at a traditional Sunday night Milonga at Ideal Confiteria, we then moved on to Guerrin Pizza, for a slice of pizza standing at the 'bar' while watching empanadas being made, then a walk and Subte ride in BA to see some of the music and theatre world, all finished off with a visit to a more contemporary Milonga in Carlos Cardel...all this for a great price. Highly recommend this tour, for a look at the real world of Tango dancing and music, as opposed the 'showy show view of tango' so prevalent around town. The personalised service and obvious passion Kevin has for both the Tango and Tango music made the night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
You are absolutely right: tango is one of the things you are "supposed" to do in Buenos Aires. But there are many different ways to approach it. We like to take people to see the hidden world of tango that the tour buses and dinner show packages can't show you. We only lead private, personalized explorations where we all get to know each other. The essence of tango is connection, so we make that the centerpiece of what we do. We're thrilled you joined us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gotan Tours also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Gotan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing