We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome intimate encounter with Buenos Aires!”
Review of Gotan Tours

Gotan Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tango tours and tango lessons will lead you into the hidden, passionate world of tango. Created by international artists (musicians, dancers, writers) who have found their inspiration in Buenos Aires, Gotan Tours creates experiences designed for those who seek a deeper understanding of Argentine tango and are not satisfied by pre-packaged tourist fare. Our tango lessons - available as part of our tours or separately - are designed to give absolute beginners a relaxed and meaningful introduction to dancing tango. Whether you plan to take just one class "to get the feel" of tango or suspect it could be the beginning of a life-long passion, we will help you take your first steps in tango. Because we are a part of the local arts scene, Gotan Tours can escort you through the Buenos Aires nights like no one else.
Chicago IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome intimate encounter with Buenos Aires!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm not a hardcore fan of Tango myself, but I'm always curious about different cultural layers one can uncover while traveling, especially those underneath the 'touristy icing'. Tango is naturally the main theme with Gotan Tours, and I can say that for the relatively short time I was exposed to it, the Tango feeling sucked me in! A very genuine choice of venues by Kevin, the guide. Not least, the walk afterwards along Avenida Corrientes forced our group to deeply mingle with locals, and finished off with the most down-to-earth empanadas and pizza ever (and faina!)...

One can only wish every city offered an opportunity for such an intimate encounter, even if for just a night :-)
Thumbs up up up!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crashlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments! Our goal is to show you the real tango scene, the one most tourists don't get a chance to see. Whether your love affair with tango is a one-night stand or becomes something lasting, we always take you to the places where the authentic tango thrives today. Glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“The GOTAN tango experience!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We didn't want to leave Buenos Aires without having had an authentic tango experience. We were thrilled to hear about GOTAN and were pleased by Kevin's thorough attention to detail and his proactive approach to customizing our experience. He picked us up from our hotel and we cabbed to a small art gallery where he and his friend Fernanda gave us a warm and friendly reception, Fernanda turned on the tango and we spent the next hour or so learning the basic steps of the dance. After the lesson, the 4 of us went to GUERRIN to savor some of BA's best slices! We spent the rest of the evening visiting a traditional milonga and then a somewhat alternative/modern Milonga. We were in awe of the Buenos Aires tango scene and felt very fortunate that we were able to experience it with Kevin and Fernanda, 2 very passionate and talented artists. If you are looking for an authentic and unique tango experience in BA, GOTAN is the way to go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NDEVRIES71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks. We are glad you opted to take the tango class followed by the milonga tour. Taking your first tango steps allowed you a much deeper understanding of what's going on on the dance floor when we later visited the milonga. We think it's the ideal combination when exploring the tango scene in Buenos Aires. We had a great time with you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gotan Tours rocks!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Four of us in Buenos Aires for just a night went out on the town with Kevin and Melinde. They gladly took our reservation online with a quick confirmation for that same evening. Our guides picked us up at our hotel and the tour began. The tango club, the walk thru the streets to see the sights of BA at night and the fantastic pizza were wonderful. Our evening concluded at a lovely coffe bar just down the street from Teatro Colon. The entire tour felt just like visiting friends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeslieAnnDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you! We're thrilled you enjoyed the tour. There are many hidden spots in Buenos Aires and we love sharing our favorites with people like you who appreciate these little treasures. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our first introduction to Buenos Aires was Gotan Tours Milonguera Tour. It was perfect for us traveling with our three adult kids. Kevin and Lourdes gave us such a great welcome and were so gracious with their time. It felt as though we were with friends. I loved this tour because it wasn't "touristy" or flashy. It felt very authentic and it was very personal! We watched regular people dancing because they loved it - not because they were professional performers. Kevin offered instruction to any of us who wanted it and while I felt a bit shy to try, I'm so glad I did. He did a great job giving us a little introduction to the dance. The tango hall was followed by great pizza and then the evening capped off at a lovely cafe. We walked from venue to venue and got a great feel for that part of the city. Kevin is very knowledgeable about the city and about tango and he was a wonderful host. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who'd like a more intimate and personal experience. Also, I thought it was very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank feiners01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotanTours, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Thank you so much! For us, these tours we host really are like going out with friends. New friends, of course, but friends all the same. I am glad that you enjoyed it and that we could get everyone to at least try a few tango steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Milonguero Tour - Great Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had Matilde & Lourdes take us on this very enjoyable night out. Starting at a very old famous dance hall it was lovely to watch the locals on the dance floor - as well as Matilde showing us her dancing skills! Learning about the traditions attached to the Tango was great. After the dance hall we went to eat pizza Buenos Aires style - which was delicious & fun. It was then through the theatre district & also past some of the cities most beautiful buildings all lit up at night. We finished with coffee & churros at another famous location. Both Matilde & Lourdes were great company & we would highly recommend this tour to spend a few hours with the locals & get a feel for the real Buenos Aires. Sue & Geoff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F, Owner at Gotan Tours, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Sue & Geoff: Many thanks for joining us for the Milonguero Tour! It was our great pleasure to show you those special places in Buenos Aires that we love. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gotan Tours also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Gotan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing