We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadians Please Stay here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Babel Suites
Ranked #264 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadians Please Stay here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just returned home to Canada and we stayed at the Babel Suites during our stay in Buenos Aires. I highly recommend this place! Large rooms, balcony, pool, a great breakfast, and great service by the staff! especially Pablo! He is so informative. To all Canadians thinking of spending time in Buenos Aires, stay here! San Telmo is a great part of Buenos Aires, nice and central! and like I said the staff are great and very helpful! For the value, hands down, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrogknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    105
    71
    30
    28
See reviews for
32
155
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We just returned from 12 nights at Hotel Babel Suites (our second visit to BA). The hotel is small, quiet and the feel is casual, hip, modern. And very clean...excellent value. Charming young guys at the front desk, no attitude.
The rooms are as shown in the photos, huge actually, with a kitchenette at one end. Each suite has a balcony. The rooftop pool is rather small, but the deck is quite nice and unlike a lot of other hotel pools, this one gets good sun because there isn't anything blocking the light.
Breakfast is croissants, toast, tea, coffee, fruit, various juices and yoghurt and eggs. The two ladies in charge are very pleasant. It's ok. I'd recommend this hotel, for location and reasonable priced accommodation in a charming, boutique environment.

Room Tip: We were at the back and it overlooks the carpark. I would have preferred a front location overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Babel Suites made us feel like we were living in our own appartment. The superior room was huge and comfortable, and very well worth the money. The location is perfect, just 2 minutes from the bus and another 7 to reach the obelisk. We also enjoyed the swimming pool/bar at the roof and the breakfast was good enough for being included.

The reception was nice and helpful by ordering taxi's, booking tables at restaurants and giving us directions by map. A special thank you to Rodrigo!!

Don't mind the bad reviews. If you're gonna complain about a remote control, you should find something else. We are definitely coming back. Highly reccomended!

Alba & Nico

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicodahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My fiancé & I just got back from our first trip to Latin America & it was so much more than we ever anticipated. Initially we were planing on staying in two different hotels to get a nice feel for the city and to have options in case we didn't like the first one. That was not the case, we loved it at the Hotel Babel Suites and extended our stay there for the rest of our trip. It's simplicity of design and attention to detail gives this hotel a very understated sophisticated feel. We stayed at the Superior Suite, the room was a perfect size and although the design is contemporary it does not lack warmth. Location of the Hotel is perfect, near the subway and just a few minutes away from 9 de Julio! Though both of us are from Russia and do not speak any Spanish, English was just enough not to create a language barrier with the staff at the Hotel. Lovely service and very helpful with recommendations of where to go and what to see. As it turns out, we came during the hottest time of the year and the heat was taking it's toll on us after a day of walking around, coming back to a cool room and going for a dip in the pool was the perfect medicine. Such a friendly and warm atmosphere all around. The service was very personable and helpful. This hotel is a winner. And it will forever stay in our memories as part of a wonderful pre-wedding vacation, we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyapotanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel location is excellent just block and half from the metro bus area (9 de Julio) and few blocks away from Obelisco. Hotel is nice and clean, there is a beautiful breakfast inside and outside huge balcony, breakfast is poor compared to other hotels but is good enough to morning start, The staff are friendly enough to make your stay comfortable, rooms are huge with a little kitchen and reading area and balcony in some of them. One objection I have is the AC which was not working or very light (not good for summer season stay, and make sure you ask about the charges by using hotel phone on the room. Other that than is a very good !!!

Room Tip: All the room are the same size, outside view some to the street (which are little noise) and other a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Service seems to have improved from previous reviews. They were helpful in setting us up an extra night in the same room. Rooms are big clean with nice bathrooms and a balcony.

Rooms however we're not ready for a couple hours because they were short staffed.

Location is close to many things although surrounding not as nice. Felt safe to walk around though even at night, but there were a few drunk people.

Good value if booked online.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was one of what appears to be a number of travelers who originally booked Hotel Babel but ended up getting moved to Hotel Babel Suite. In my case, I was notified my reservations were getting moved while I was waiting to board my plane to Buenos Aires.

Hotel Babel Suites is located in a less desirable part of San Telmo, closer to Av 9 de Julio than the weekend San Telmo fair. There are what appear to be residential homes across the street from the hotel and each morning I was awoken by large groups of young men talking and horsing around on the sidewalk across the street. Some of the men would sit around late at night which made me nervious.

Also, I found the front desk attendant either unhelpful or dismissive. Let me give two examples.

When I checked in I realized my room was located next to the elevator. I had a bad experience at another hotel so I immediately asked to be moved. The front desk attendant told me he couldn’t move me without even look at the computer system. I realize they may have been fully booked but considering I was moved from Hotel Babel approximately 12 hours before I checked in this is unlikely. Unless I took the last room in the entire hotel the front desk attendant simply didn’t want to do any extra work.

Later that evening I was thirsty. I went to the front desk and asked where I could buy a bottle of water. He reminded me that there was a bottle of water in my room. I mentioned it caused US$10 and wanted something more affordable. The front desk attendant rolled his eyes and told me there was a drugstore around the corner. I never found the drugstore but did find some bottled water. When I returned with my US$1 bottle of water he smiled and flippantly asked if I found cheaper water.

On the positive side, my room was spacious and clean. Although the rooms are actually quite nice, the forced last minute move, unimpressive hotel location and frustrating issues with the front desk staff you probably want to keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from Mexico (the street the hotel is on). There are young men who congregate on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Monserrat Apart Hotel
Monserrat Apart Hotel
#165 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#363 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#91 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Babel City
Babel City
#195 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Retiro
Ker Recoleta Hotel & Spa
Ker Recoleta Hotel & Spa
#150 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#114 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babel Suites

Property: Babel Suites
Address: Calle Mexico 840, Buenos Aires C1097AAR, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Babel Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the experience achieved in our first home, the acknowleged Babel Boutique, we created a new hotel that will renew the San Telmo scene: Babel Suites. We aim to become a cultural meeting point, dissolving the distance between visitor and resident through our art events that connect the local scene with the world traveller. Our staff, a selected team specialized in knowing it all about Buenos Aires, will display every day an eclectic agenda of what is not to be missed, reflecting how active and cool San Telmo district has become. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing