We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and aggrieved”
Review of 1828 Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1828 Smart Hotel
Ranked #119 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros: located in nice neighbourhood; comfortable bed; clean room; recent fit-out.
Cons: over-priced; cramped; significant mismatch between online impression and reality; short-sighted management.

The owners obviously invest a lot of effort ensuring that this hotel presents well online, from the impressive images on the website to the dutiful replies to customer reviews on TripAdvisor. Fair enough as we all need to make a living but perhaps this hotel has crossed the line into something disingenuous.

When we booked this hotel in Jan it was ranked #3 of all hotels in BA. Quite a ranking, although we see it has since slipped to #17. Also, almost all of the reviews are faultless in their assessment (rather interesting in hindsight..). We therefore thought we had a safe bet in booking this hotel. Sadly, this proved not to be the case.

To put this review into perspective, I have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels. I often use TripAdvisor to help make a quick decision when booking a hotel. However, this is my first review, as until now what we got from a hotel was what we expected from TripAdvisor. Not so in this case and consequently I feel some responsibility to let others know that, in my view, this hotel is not what it seems. Hotel costs are quite often your biggest expense when traveling and a bad experience with a hotel can overshadow your entire stay in the city. This is what we suffered as a result of several instances with this hotel which I won't go into detail here.

Our overall impression is that we were taken advantage of and that this hotel represents poor value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1828SmartHotel, Guest Relations Manager at 1828 Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Stephen m, we are very surprised by the recent comment from your wife (Sandra V) on Trip Advisor after our exchange of emails with you in respect to this present comment. We really thought we were aligned to achieve a change of your perception about our Hotel and your stay with us.

We take special care with the service provided to our guests because we know that the smallest detail can turn a simple stay into an unforgettable experience. We understand that each person may have a different perception of events and we are always open to suggestions and comments from our guests to ensure that our service is accurate.
In your particular case, we really think we did our best to fulfill and exceed your expectations, as we made as much concessions as we could, during your stay.
As this discussion got public, we decided to state the events and let the viewers decide for themselves if the actions we took where appropriate or not.
First of all, unluckily your flight changed the date of departure and you got at the Hotel one night later. As you made a non refundable reservation, the money of that night could not be refund. But, as we are flexible because we prioritize service, we decided to make an exception and let you use the credit of the first night, on one of the new nights you wanted to extend, also providing you a special rate for those days.
Also this non refundable rate was without breakfast included. As you said you did not notice this condition and we didn’t want you to get upset on your trip, we decided to offer you the breakfast with no charge.
The day of your departure, you delivered our Satisfaction Survey completed with nothing but excellent or very good calcifications in all of our categories of questions (service, facilities, etc.), also you highlighted the attention of our Front Desk Manager and our Front Desk Responsible of the afternoon. Also the Acting Manager, Natalia, specially greeted you on your way out. At this time you told her that you have lost a book and we committed to find it and send it back to you...which we did immediately found.
We acknowledge that we have some delay in sending you the book, but after some days it arrived properly to destination, at Hotel’s expenses.

We truly hope that when you read this you may understand that from the beginning we had the will to help and solve any concerns or misunderstandings; we perform many exceptions in order to make of your stay a great one.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for our first visit to BsAs and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is extremely well maintained and the staff incredibly helpful. The breakfast, which was part of our room rate, was just enough to get us going for the day. Mauro and Geronimo gave us plenty of local insight and were just so lovely. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in Palermo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very nice new property in charming neighborhood. Convenient to many restaurants and nice shops. We were greeted to very friendly staff and checked in quickly. We were given a Samsung Tablet to use for the room controls but it was more of a bother. You can use thermostat and curtain controls without this devise. The staff was very helpful to make reservations, map navigation, have a cocktail, etc.
Our king room overlooked pool on floor 1. It was very clean with a large patio, chairs and table overlooking pool. The TV had over 700 channels with CNN and music stations. The A/C was worked perfectly, nice & cool. The bed was very comfortable, room so quite! There was a fridge for drinks with ample storage for hanging and many storage drawers with a safe. Bathroom was small but good water pressure, shower only.
The pool was heated and patio area clean & comfortable. We paid a small price with reservation for the full breakfast which was well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This little gem is tucked away in the Soho area of BA, and it is like being in the upper east side of New York. The area is not close to the bigger attractions, but it is in a lovely quiet area of the city that is just teaming with shops and restaurants. The hotel itself seems to have only about 16 rooms and they are a bit tight but the beds are very comfortable and the wi-fi works fine and the pool is good for cooling off, the staff is great, they can get everything done for you, the breakfast is sufficient and even though you have toe travel a little for the bigger tourist attractions, we prefer the quiet atmosphere of the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First the good things: the suite is really wonderful, great design with a nice jacuzzi on the balcony. The served breakfast is very good, nice collection of fresh fruits, cheeses and juices.
The bed is very comfortable and wide, only for taller people (+1.90) it is rather short.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to bars and restaurants.

The hotel calls itself a "smart" hotel because you can control lights, curtains, TV via the provided Samsung tablet. The "app" is nothing more than a pointer to a website (php) where you supposedly can control. I would say it is a rather retarted system which gets you irritated. Looks like somebody build it with a technical background without any thoughts about usability. Trying to control the TV is the most stupid, in the end I used the remote control of the TV. One funny thing about that is that with one of the buttons of the TV remote you can control the odor appliance. One nice thing about the so called "app", it offers information about nearby restaurants.

Another smaller complaint is that the hotel does not have sufficient adapters for their guests. I expected that they would offer a adapter in the suite (in other hotels in Argentina this is standard in a suite) for my electronic equipment, however they did not have enough adapters for all guests, annoying and this is something that can easily be solved.

I think the price is rather high, there a similar hotels in Buenos Aires that offer equally beautiful rooms with a more traditional level of service. I would come back though when the "smart" part is optimized.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markito0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for the last leg of our honeymoon and it is a little diamond in the rough. The pool is nice and heated for the days that it may be a little chilly. The rooms are very nice- everything is controlled from a tablet. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bartender made fantastic margaritas- definitely try one! We were there during the superbowl and the staff watched the game with us, which was really fun!
Our plane was delayed until the next day and the hotel let us come back at 4 AM and stay in our same room even though we had already checked out. They also let us check out late and held our luggage all day the next day until we had to go back to the airport. The area is fun and there are great bars and fun little cafes and restaurants three blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1828SmartHotel, Guest Relations at 1828 Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear JJamail,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at 1828 Smart Hotel and we are honored that you have chosen us for your last days of your honeymoon.
We hope to welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary!
See you soon...
Best regards,
1828 Smart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel end of January and at first look the hotel looks really fine. We liked the concept with the tablet to arrange your room - even if room service and other apps did not work. The breakfast is ok. Our room (101) was much too small.

We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

The personal is very nice and they really try to make the best of your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lemonde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1828SmartHotel, Guest Relations at 1828 Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Lemonde79,
Thank you so much for choosing 1828 Smart Hotel for your trip in Buenos Aires.
We really appreciate your review about your recent stay in the hotel and your words about the service of our staff. Your feedback is what makes our team stronger and ensures the level of service we strive.
Allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay regarding our smart concept. During the week of your stay at the hotel, we changed the version of the system in order to improve the smart experience to our guest. This new version can be operated with your own mac and android devices.
We hope you allow us another opportunity to show you the quality and functionality of our smart aspect, with this new platform.
Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to receiving you back at 1828 Smart Hotel soon.
1828 Smart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#93 of 442 in Buenos Aires
395 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,957 reviews
Palermo
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
#80 of 442 in Buenos Aires
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#5 of 442 in Buenos Aires
830 reviews
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#17 of 442 in Buenos Aires
483 reviews
Palermo
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
#21 of 442 in Buenos Aires
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1828 Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1828 Smart Hotel

Address: F. J. Santa Maria de Oro 1828, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £113 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1828 Smart Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, 1828 Smart Hotel is a gem hidden at the heart of Palermo Soho, the most cosmopolitan and trendiest neighborhood in Buenos Aires city. Our 14 comfortable rooms, full of elegance and charme, the extremely beautiful, fresh and light-bathed spaces, the exquisite details in the design and the warm and careful service of our staff, transform our guests’ stay into a memorable, pleasant and relaxing experience. 1828 Smart Hotel invites its guests to recover and relax at its Spa Boutique and to enjoy a delicious cocktail at the captivating ambience of its Piano Lounge, with the spectacular view to the 8 meter water cascade. At 1828 Smart Hotel, every guest is unique and is welcomed as a friend; therefore, we share the best tips and suggestions to make the most of their visit to the city of Buenos Aires. Fun, happiness and joy in a casual, vibrant, sophisticated and timeless environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1828 Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing