We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, quiet location, walkable neighborhood”
Review of 1828 Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
1828 Smart Hotel
Ranked #108 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, quiet location, walkable neighborhood”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed two different times at this hotel while in transit to El Calafate. Both times, we enjoyed the quiet setting, extremely comfortable and luxurious room. The cab driver had some difficulty finding the hotel as it is not much more than a dark door in an otherwise blank wall. Guests have to buzz the front desk in order to be admitted. The shower is a bit cramped, one has to stand sideways in order to keep from banging into the glass door or the wall. Nice to have a bidet. The tablet did not consistently operate and was a source of frustration. Appreciate having back up controls for the curtains, lights, television and air conditioner. It was amusing that the front desk struggled to get the credit card reader to work properly. It took three tries each time. Allow plenty of time for check out because the front desk is in a cramped space by some stairs, and if more than one person is there at the same time, there is nowhere to stand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    55
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
194
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Overall we enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel, but we were not as euphoric as many of the other Tripadvisor reviewers. We generally like design hotels, but there seemed to be a few design faults in this case - like the location of the shower taps, which meant you had to go under the shower to turn it on, or the slowest elevator in the history of elevators. The bathroom was cramped, but the room size was otherwise fine. Décor and furniture are modern but a bit too "Liberace" in places. Breakfast was not very interesting for us, though we are admittedly vegetarians. The performance of the reception staff was patchy - sometimes very good, but at other times less so. We left with mixed feelings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We found the hotel nicely decorated but the "smart part was not working" so we would prefer to have the option of doing whatever we needed to do manually and not through the tablet. The location is good in a nice area of the city. In general, the staff was kind and useful.

The thing that really changed our appreciation of this hotel was that while taking a shower, the glass door of the shower felt down breaking in a million peaces and hurting my husband. Fortunately, the wounds were not very deep but they could have been. I had some superficial scratches as well as I was inside the bathroom at that moment. It was very dangerous and we don't understand how the hotel could use that class of glass in the showers, they should have a special glass that will not break into a million peaces hurting whoever is there.

When I called the front desk in order to get help, they sent a man to clean, while I explained there was someone hurt. I had to call again asking not for the man who cleans but for the manager. The girl in the reception came with a first aid kit saying that the manager doesn't work on Saturdays. Besides, that we would need to change to another room (obviously) but to an inferior category as there were no more rooms available.

It was obvious for us that they didn't notice the importance of the situation. In the end, they gave us a room of the same category and offered us a massage to forget about the incident, what we found offensive. So we said we would write a review in Trip Advisor and only at that moment, they gave importance to the situation. So, only at this moment the manager arrived, they called a doctor and they made more accurate excuses, of course, asking us to reconsider our review in Trip Advisor.

We must say they really put some effort on making our stay comfortable since that moment on, they sent us a bottle of wine, they were extremely kind, gave us the change to late check out, etc etc. But that doesn't change the fact that it was a very dangerous situation and that their first reaction was not the correct one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank semf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros: located in nice neighbourhood; comfortable bed; clean room; recent fit-out.
Cons: over-priced; cramped; significant mismatch between online impression and reality; short-sighted management.

The owners obviously invest a lot of effort ensuring that this hotel presents well online, from the impressive images on the website to the dutiful replies to customer reviews on TripAdvisor. Fair enough as we all need to make a living but perhaps this hotel has crossed the line into something disingenuous.

When we booked this hotel in Jan it was ranked #3 of all hotels in BA. Quite a ranking, although we see it has since slipped to #17. Also, almost all of the reviews are faultless in their assessment (rather interesting in hindsight..). We therefore thought we had a safe bet in booking this hotel. Sadly, this proved not to be the case.

To put this review into perspective, I have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels. I often use TripAdvisor to help make a quick decision when booking a hotel. However, this is my first review, as until now what we got from a hotel was what we expected from TripAdvisor. Not so in this case and consequently I feel some responsibility to let others know that, in my view, this hotel is not what it seems. Hotel costs are quite often your biggest expense when traveling and a bad experience with a hotel can overshadow your entire stay in the city. This is what we suffered as a result of several instances with this hotel which I won't go into detail here.

Our overall impression is that we were taken advantage of and that this hotel represents poor value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1828SmartHotel, Guest Relations Manager at 1828 Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Stephen m, we are very surprised by the recent comment from your wife (Sandra V) on Trip Advisor after our exchange of emails with you in respect to this present comment. We really thought we were aligned to achieve a change of your perception about our Hotel and your stay with us.

We take special care with the service provided to our guests because we know that the smallest detail can turn a simple stay into an unforgettable experience. We understand that each person may have a different perception of events and we are always open to suggestions and comments from our guests to ensure that our service is accurate.
In your particular case, we really think we did our best to fulfill and exceed your expectations, as we made as much concessions as we could, during your stay.
As this discussion got public, we decided to state the events and let the viewers decide for themselves if the actions we took where appropriate or not.
First of all, unluckily your flight changed the date of departure and you got at the Hotel one night later. As you made a non refundable reservation, the money of that night could not be refund. But, as we are flexible because we prioritize service, we decided to make an exception and let you use the credit of the first night, on one of the new nights you wanted to extend, also providing you a special rate for those days.
Also this non refundable rate was without breakfast included. As you said you did not notice this condition and we didn’t want you to get upset on your trip, we decided to offer you the breakfast with no charge.
The day of your departure, you delivered our Satisfaction Survey completed with nothing but excellent or very good calcifications in all of our categories of questions (service, facilities, etc.), also you highlighted the attention of our Front Desk Manager and our Front Desk Responsible of the afternoon. Also the Acting Manager, Natalia, specially greeted you on your way out. At this time you told her that you have lost a book and we committed to find it and send it back to you...which we did immediately found.
We acknowledge that we have some delay in sending you the book, but after some days it arrived properly to destination, at Hotel’s expenses.

We truly hope that when you read this you may understand that from the beginning we had the will to help and solve any concerns or misunderstandings; we perform many exceptions in order to make of your stay a great one.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for our first visit to BsAs and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is extremely well maintained and the staff incredibly helpful. The breakfast, which was part of our room rate, was just enough to get us going for the day. Mauro and Geronimo gave us plenty of local insight and were just so lovely. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in Palermo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very nice new property in charming neighborhood. Convenient to many restaurants and nice shops. We were greeted to very friendly staff and checked in quickly. We were given a Samsung Tablet to use for the room controls but it was more of a bother. You can use thermostat and curtain controls without this devise. The staff was very helpful to make reservations, map navigation, have a cocktail, etc.
Our king room overlooked pool on floor 1. It was very clean with a large patio, chairs and table overlooking pool. The TV had over 700 channels with CNN and music stations. The A/C was worked perfectly, nice & cool. The bed was very comfortable, room so quite! There was a fridge for drinks with ample storage for hanging and many storage drawers with a safe. Bathroom was small but good water pressure, shower only.
The pool was heated and patio area clean & comfortable. We paid a small price with reservation for the full breakfast which was well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This little gem is tucked away in the Soho area of BA, and it is like being in the upper east side of New York. The area is not close to the bigger attractions, but it is in a lovely quiet area of the city that is just teaming with shops and restaurants. The hotel itself seems to have only about 16 rooms and they are a bit tight but the beds are very comfortable and the wi-fi works fine and the pool is good for cooling off, the staff is great, they can get everything done for you, the breakfast is sufficient and even though you have toe travel a little for the bigger tourist attractions, we prefer the quiet atmosphere of the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#101 of 445 in Buenos Aires
383 reviews
Palermo
Legado Mitico
Legado Mitico
#25 of 445 in Buenos Aires
417 reviews
Palermo
BA Sohotel
BA Sohotel
#104 of 445 in Buenos Aires
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 445 in Buenos Aires
730 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#4 of 445 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#44 of 445 in Buenos Aires
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1828 Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1828 Smart Hotel

Property: 1828 Smart Hotel
Address: F. J. Santa Maria de Oro 1828, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1828 Smart Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, 1828 Smart Hotel is a gem hidden at the heart of Palermo Soho, the most cosmopolitan and trendiest neighborhood in Buenos Aires city. Our 14 comfortable rooms, full of elegance and charme, the extremely beautiful, fresh and light-bathed spaces, the exquisite details in the design and the warm and careful service of our staff, transform our guests’ stay into a memorable, pleasant and relaxing experience. 1828 Smart Hotel invites its guests to recover and relax at its Spa Boutique and to enjoy a delicious cocktail at the captivating ambience of its Piano Lounge, with the spectacular view to the 8 meter water cascade. At 1828 Smart Hotel, every guest is unique and is welcomed as a friend; therefore, we share the best tips and suggestions to make the most of their visit to the city of Buenos Aires. Fun, happiness and joy in a casual, vibrant, sophisticated and timeless environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1828 Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing