We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay and relax”
Review of Alvear Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvear Art Hotel
Ranked #8 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed there for our last 2 nights in Argentina and it was a perfect finish. Nice room, bathroom with floor-heating and big enough. Our daughter loved the well tempered pool! Good happy hour with some special Argentinian local drinks which taste good. Great breakfast and helpful staff.
Only the extra charge for the kids bed is petty because on top of that you have to pay then extra tax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, specially the pool & happy hours.

We hope to have you back soon!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Clean, luxurious modern rooms. Nice dipping pool upstairs. Lunch and dinner in restaurant was some of the best food I had in Argentina. And staff was incredibly helpful and gracious, I had some last minute travel changes and the front desk and concierge spent a lot of time straightening out some issues for me. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingbum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you so much for your wonderful words.

We are so proud to hear you had the best food in our Restaurant!

We hope to have again you as our guest soon!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of a 10-day trip. We were so pleased with the hotel & staff that we cancelled the 2-day stay reserved at a different hotel so that we could return here. The rooms are very comfortable & we'll-appointed. The bathroom is very large and modern. Reception was well-staffed & was extremely helpful even though we arrived quite early. Everyone seemed to be a well-prepared concierge. Check in was fast & bellman when took bags to room explained all the amenities & appeared to be in training for reception-concierge which seems to be a very well-thought out process. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Puerto Madero Harbour, Retiro & Recoleta & Piegeri Vitello & Dolce (sp?) restaurant which we found to be excellent for dinners. The only downside to the hotel is the cost of the buffet breakfast (more than US$30 per person) -- no omelette/egg station or fresh prepared alternatives & the chaffing dish & cold plate choices were limited & very ordinary. Other than that solitary quibble, everything about the hotel is top-flight & there is a very good sandwich/pastry/coffee shop Caffe Martinez just around the corner & a not-bad low-cost full breakfast Denny's-like chain place 5 minutes walk away next to San Martin Park -- nice place for an after breakfast walk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank GiulianaStudioCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our facilities, we will take your comments about our breakfast into consideration. Our guests opinions are very important for us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed there twice recently and both stays were excellent. We were warmly welcomed at 4am after a late flight and given suites on the 15th floor which were excellent. Very well decorated, bathroom was huge and luxurious and the beds very comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was nicely done with lots of choice and very good service. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to assist you. The gym is slightly on the small side but is well enough equipped.
And with the recent devaluation of the peso, this was not an expensive stay for such a top quality hotel. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If you can get a good deal on one of the suites on the 15th floor it is well worth it. They are huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloydy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kinf words about our hotel and its service.

We are very proud to hear our staff did well during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again shortly.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a comfortable if a little corporate and somewhat charmless hotel in a good area of BA. I think that for centrality it is very good. Plenty to walk to, and excellent food service and really quite professional. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. It was ideal for a stay when we were tired and needed a decent hotel to recover.

We had so much average steak and awful coffee in BA that this actually had decent food and Nespresso Coffee - which would not set the world on fire, but its better than the american style tasteless dishwater we found in most places. (It seems no one in BA or even Argentina really knows about coffee from our brief experience - It's no Rome, Paris, Vienna Lyon or even Melbourne)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel.

We are glad you found the nespresso machine in your room the best choice of coffee.

If you're back in Buenos Aires, we would love to recommend the best places to drink coffee.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Taking every aspect of an hotel into account, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. Both the public areas and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The rooms are large and the beds wonderfully comfortable. The bathrooms are very well appointed and everything is immaculately clean.

The breakfast buffet is delightful with everything from eggs and bacon, to cheese and meats, to fruit and cereal. The breads and pastries are of the highest quality -- the almond croissant is not to be missed. Dinner in the restaurant was one of the few good meals we had in Argentina.

It is the quality of the service that really distinguishes the hotel. The staff are not just professional, but really engaging, and they go out of their way to be helpful. It was a real pleasure to sit in the bar after 36 hours of plane travel and listen to the bartender proudly tell us what an amazing time we would have in Buenos Aires.

The location is ideal for exploring the city. If you like to walk, you can walk to the waterfront promenade, La Recoleta Cemetery, shopping, and Plaza de Mayo, and if you don't like to walk, the staff will get a cab for you in moments.

For the overall quality and experience, the cost per night was beyond reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

You certainly made us very proud of the hard work we've been doing since we opened!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, thanks to our service, quality and location.

We hope this experience makes you want to visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Could not fault this hotel.
From the spacious rooms to the welcoming feeling . All staff helpful and friendly.
Rooms are well equipped and quiet with the blackout curtains helping a weary traveller sleep well.
One of the best city hotels that we stayed in in South America.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We are glad you find our modern blackouts so helpful for your sleep and are very happy to hear that you found us one of the best city hotels in South America. That makes us feel very proud!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#12 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,886 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,347 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Art Hotel

Address: Calle Suipacha 1036, Buenos Aires C1008AAV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £142 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new generation, the same essence:The Alvear Art Hotel emerges as an innovative proposal in Buenos Aires, backed up by the tradition of the Alvear Palace Hotel. Set among impressive trees, this new sample of the Alvear Experience opens the doors of its modern building in the heart of the financial, commercial, and cultural area of the city, offering excellent service, warm hospitality, the sophisticated comfort of its rooms, and the most advanced technology.Location:The Alvear Art Hotel is located in a traditional area of Buenos Aires, declared a historical site - the San Martín Square, just steps away from elegant Santa Fe Avenue and famous Florida Street with their countless stores. It is strategically located a few blocks from the financial area and only five minutes from the new corporate district in Puerto Madero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alvear Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing