We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing Hotel”
Review of Alvear Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alvear Art Hotel
Ranked #9 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Simply amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Alvear Art is the new baby brother of Alvear Palace Hotel, one of the most important and iconic hotels in Buenos Aires. That being said the expectations for this hotel were big and all I have to say is that they exceded every single one I had. This hotel is my new favorite in Buenos Aires.

PROs:
- Free WiFi
- Free Breakfast (on some rooms)
- Location, its on a perfect location for tourists, close to everything yet in a good area (secure)
- Service, on this Alvear is a SUPER STAR, they have an amazing service, every single staff member is well trained servide-oriented and
- There are free bikes to ride across the microcentro
- Bar, great drinks and ambiance
- Rooms are BIG and with Vegas-like amenities like automatic blackout curtains, heated floor in the bathroom and interactive TV.

CONs
- A little overpriced, but worth it
- The coffee machine in-room only gives you 2 nespresso cups for free (per stay!)

Overall this is the best hotel I have stayed in Buenos Aires so far, I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: High rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Alex:

Thank you so much for your detailed review!

We constantly train our staff to give the best service in the city, and we are very proud to hear it pays off.

We will have in mind your comment regarding the free Nespresso Machine capsules. Thank you for sharing!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    125
    22
    0
    4
See reviews for
103
330
37
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a fantastic new property. I was initially concerned about it's proximity to the microcenter (good for business but we were on holiday) but the Retiro section is residential, quiet and centrally located. Calle Florida and the neighborhoods of Casa Rosada, San Telmo and Recoleta are all within walking distance. The physical hotel is beautiful, not overtly large, not awkwardly small…but a perfect in between. The lobby was elegant, a pleasure to return to at the end of a long day of touring. We booked a standard room and it was well appointed, clean and sufficiently large for two people + 5-star housekeeping services. Not sure why they limit your in room nespresso allotment to two capsule for the entire stay, but breakfast was included which more than made up for it. Speaking of breakfast, the assortment and presentation was excellent as were the waiters who seemed to go out of their way to make the meal enjoyable. To top it all of, a great roof pool and functional gym. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel, especially given the fact that other 5-star properties in town are almost double the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eclipse908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the location, design, size, service and breakfast in our hotel.

Regarding the nespresso capsules, we do offer two complimentary, but you can still enjoy the coffee with an extra cost in your room.

We hope to have you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice new building with lots of details. Beautiful bathrooms. Excellent restaurant and service. Walking distance from Recoletta and short cab ride from Puerto Madero. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Ernesto,

Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel.

Hope to have you again soon!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.F. (Ciudad de Mexico), México
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Conveniently located in Buenos Aires, Alvear Art Hotel has excellent service and very comfortable rooms.

The rooms are spacious featuring a shower and separate bathtub,also with a separate toilet.

Staff service is great as well and higly recommended for business trips.

Very efficient room service, and the food is great.

Wifi is included with the room rate and is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaHuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Patricia, for such wonderful words!

We get very happy when guests can use and enjoy all of our bedrooms features. We are so glad you did so too.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great Spa area, great style of furniture and general decoration, nice and efficient staff. The location is not the absolutely best you can get, but it is located close to all major tourist attractions.

The only downside is the price of breakfast ... If you want to safe some cash, just go to any coffee bar close to the hotel and have your media-lunas there.

I will definitively be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your possitive review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed the spa, general style and you think our staff is efficient .

Regarding our breakfast, we always give the chance to our guests to exclude price of breakfast from the rate if you prefer.

We hope to have you back as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
576 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It would be harsh to deduct a star from my review as in general terms the hotel is wonderful. The bedrooms are superbly equipped and even has a nightlight. Bathrooms are large and I loved the large shower.
We were not that impressed with the breakfast buffet which was limited as compared to other hotels on our trip. I also did not like being charged for an omelette. When we arrived for breakfast we were told that if we wanted anything else we only had to ask.....we were not told that it was about $20 extra. I spoke to the front desk and they immediately removed the charge and agreed that it was not explained properly.
However overall this is a well located well run hotel with fabulous staff always ready to help. When I asked for a late checkout this was granted on the departure morning and we kept the room until 3pm. Do try it.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our room facilities.

We have duly noted your comment regarding our breakfast buffet. We would very much appreciate receiving further information on the subject, if time permits, which products are missing?

If you prefer, you can answer by email to: scosta@alvear.com.ar

We hope to have you back as our guest in the future.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prag, Tschechien
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed there for our last 2 nights in Argentina and it was a perfect finish. Nice room, bathroom with floor-heating and big enough. Our daughter loved the well tempered pool! Good happy hour with some special Argentinian local drinks which taste good. Great breakfast and helpful staff.
Only the extra charge for the kids bed is petty because on top of that you have to pay then extra tax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, specially the pool & happy hours.

We hope to have you back soon!

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,784 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,288 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Art Hotel

Property: Alvear Art Hotel
Address: Calle Suipacha 1036, Buenos Aires C1008AAV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new generation, the same essence:The Alvear Art Hotel emerges as an innovative proposal in Buenos Aires, backed up by the tradition of the Alvear Palace Hotel. Set among impressive trees, this new sample of the Alvear Experience opens the doors of its modern building in the heart of the financial, commercial, and cultural area of the city, offering excellent service, warm hospitality, the sophisticated comfort of its rooms, and the most advanced technology.Location:The Alvear Art Hotel is located in a traditional area of Buenos Aires, declared a historical site - the San Martín Square, just steps away from elegant Santa Fe Avenue and famous Florida Street with their countless stores. It is strategically located a few blocks from the financial area and only five minutes from the new corporate district in Puerto Madero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alvear Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing