We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Waldorf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Hotel
Ranked #186 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour and found it a perfect base for exploring the city. It felt safe at night, a little noisy because it is such a narrow street outside which can barely fit tour coaches. Internet in reception worked fine and the staff were helpful with arranging a taxi to take me to the airport. On initial arrival Buenos Aires is really confusing. Turn left out the hotel and the second street you come to is Florida, a main pedestrian artery into the city centre.

Room Tip: One away from the noisy front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here with a group of 21 young people for one night, bit of hassle at check in "quadruple twin"??. Very basic hotel but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was continental but was ok for our needs. Did not feel like the safest part of town...
Bit of hassle getting three safety deposit boxes even though we had 8 rooms! And a total of 24 people. They saw sense in the end, proberby would not return to this Hotel

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Eryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wow, for 3 stars I thought this hotel would look like a Motel 6 or a Best Western- no frills but clean. Yikes! Our double room was teeny-tiny, with a scalding hot shower (almost burned myself!) and the bedspreads were stained- big stains!

The room was pretty clean otherwise, though it needs a serious update. The walls are paper thin and we could hear everything outside (we needed the window open because it was boiling hot in our room!) and everything anyone said in the hallway. This was especially disruptive when people starting showing up for some kind of conference.

The hotel advertises free wifi, but this is only in the teeny tiny lobby, which has 2 love seats and 4 chairs to accommodate guests. To get wifi in your room, you have to pay for it. This was a big issue for my friend and I, who were counting on the free wifi in both hotels we were going to stay in.

There was no safe to lock our belongings in, and given the amount of people coming in and out of the hotel daily, we definitely wanted to do that. We ended up locking our luggage instead.

There were practically no outlets in the room for us to both use to charge things- one was in the bathroom and that was it, unless you unplugged the TV.

The hotel staff was ... kind of scowly. The lady managing the breakfasts (which were very good) never ever smiled! And most of the staff sort of tolerated my friend and I and our questions, at one point giving us incorrect info about a tour that was going to depart. Thank goodness I asked the tour guide to clarify. The night manager who helped me on the 8th, when I locked my luggage lock key in my bag, is an exception. He was very friendly and helpful.

Stepping outside the hotel, we were a few blocks away from many good restaurants and a park, and we were able to spend a day walking to and around the Recoleta district and back. I wouldn't be out on the street there at night, however. Same as New York City, really.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retrojayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel is just ok... The magnetic keys give me troubles everytime i have to use it, (room 609 BTW) no one came to do my room the first day till 4 pm, and I have to beg for... At night was noise coming from the other rooms, music, loud talk, and like someone said no privacy, open the courtains and you are inside the next room, but you can't expect much for the price, but the worst was the guy (tall, black hair, I don't know his name, he was in the morning shift...) behind the front desk, very rude like I never seen before in a hotel...
After I checking out, I ask him the phone to do a local call (I need to call my ride to the airport) and of course I was ready to pay for, he answer me that he was not allowed to facilitate the phone to me, but if a really need it, I can found a street telephone anywhere around the hotel... I'm pretty sure he thought I will not tip him, which of course I didn't, I do tip very good to Leandro, the doorman or whatever, he told me I can ask for the phone to Martha, a very nice lady who has a next door, leather stuff business.
I piece of work this guy...I never be back to that hotel because of him.

Room Tip: Don't go there!!! Is a trap!! You have 100's of hotels around and I doubt any worst than thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great location! Close to an awesome steakhouse and a few bars. About tens minutes away from a nice shopping mall. There were great outdoor bars and restaurants to have a drink and people watch. You are within all the action if you stay here. The rooms were clean! The maids did a great job cleaning and pressing our clothes. The front desk people were very friendly. Ok now to my complaints, there aren't many though. The street noise was loud a couple nights, we could hear people talking out on the street from our room.
There was one afternoon before it was even dark, that we saw a guy steal a woman's backpack. He did it so cleverly and stealthy that she didn't even notice. So watch your bags! It's a big city, so that should probably go without saying. But some people can be very trusting.
Other than that, we do recommend staying there because of the great location! We even walked around at night and felt safe but probably not the best idea.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunCity08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My recent travel to South America involved 6 hotels-this hotel is the worst in terms of room facilities. We had to keep the window curtains on all day as the windows of opposite rooms were just 30 yards away. The beds meant mattress on folding frame,which moved sideway if you happened to jolt on them. A motel could be much better!
The hotel is located in the nice central area with restaurants and shops all around. The front desk service is very good in terms of taxi and direction service and other needs. Breakfast is also satisfactory with good choices.
Conclusion: software--4 stars
hardware-1 star

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZJS1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just spent two nights at Waldorf hotel. Location is excellent, for shopping as malls and lots of other shops are in close proximity, restaurants are also close by with an excellent choice, from meat only restaurants, coffee shops with gorgeous cakes, to the normal restaurant which caters for all tastes. Reception area is very nice and staff polite and helpful. If I had any criticism I would say that tea and coffee making facilities in rooms would be useful, also I was not very happy that whilst Internet was free in the lobby, you had to pay to use in your room. Rooms were clean and adequate.

Room Tip: We were in a back room on second floor, with a window but view was of internal courtyard, maybe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#117 of 440 in Buenos Aires
963 reviews
San Nicolás
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#106 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,453 reviews
Retiro
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#391 of 440 in Buenos Aires
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#394 of 440 in Buenos Aires
631 reviews
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#173 of 440 in Buenos Aires
483 reviews
Retiro
Bisonte Palace
Bisonte Palace
#150 of 440 in Buenos Aires
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Hotel

Address: Calle Paraguay 450, Buenos Aires C1057AAD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Buenos Aires
Waldorf Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing