We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUST. GO.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vinya de Defensa - CLOSED

La Vinya de Defensa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Telmo
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
183 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“MUST. GO.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

After reading all of the great reviews here in Trip Advisor, me and my girlfriend decided to pay this place a visit. And it was, by far, the best meal we had in Buenos Aires (considering that we went to El Mercado and La Cabrera, which were both just OK).
When we got there, the first thing that you notice is that the owners (Lautaro and Paula) make you feel very welcome.
After that, we chose a really cozy table by the window. Paula explained every single option in the tapas menu, including a couple of ingredients that we were not familiar with. She personally brought every tapa we ordered and helped us choosing the best drink to go with them, (which by the way was also fenomenal). A shout out to the morcilla and manzana tapa.
With our bellies full, we were able to observe the carefully chosen decoration of the place.
To finish the night with style, we needed help to choose a bottle of wine and Lautaro brilliantly recommended us a Tempranillo.
We wish we were able to have dinner at La Vinya every single evening.
MUST. GO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
921Paula, Owner at La Vinya de Defensa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Gabriel; Thank youuuuuu!! thank you so much for your review.
We love have people like you and your girlfriend every single evening.
Kisses!
Lautaro & Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place and nicest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

After 4 days of not so wonderful meals we enjoyed a fabulous lunch at La Vinya. There tapas are outstanding and the dessert (Crepes with Ice Cream) was to die for. The owners are super friendly and really made our day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swissmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
921Paula, Owner at La Vinya de Defensa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Monique, Is really great to read your comments, we put our heart and soul on La Vinya!!! Your thoughts are inspiring and make the difference!!

Thank you and hope too see you again!!

All the best for your life!!

Paula & Lautaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place and foot in San Telmo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This is absolute the place you need to go for tapas foot and relaxing with a drink in the evening.
The owners and service is fantastic and personal. The interior is great
An you feel that you are welcome and a guest. Go!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank ArneRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
921Paula, Owner at La Vinya de Defensa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Roger!! It was wonderfull to have you here at La Vinya, glad you enjoy our food and service, we really put all our heart on each thing we prepare and serve at the bar!!

Thank you!

Lautaro y Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“epic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Found ourselves here after strolling the San Telmo market on Sunday. The owner and his wife provide a great atmosphere and it was the best place to relax and watch people on a Sunday. The food served like appetizers were impressive and the service was very fast and comforting. Thanks Vinya de Defensa for finding us!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ftelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
921Paula, Owner at La Vinya de Defensa, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Jackson, Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you at our Bar. We hope see you again!

It was Epic For us to meet you guys!!

All the best in your lifes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great chill spot after the hubbub of the Feria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Just like all of the other reviews said Paula greeted us with a smile. We tried a bunch of tapas and the the club sandwich-- all was delicious and Paula gave us the hummus to try on the house. The decor is charming and very inviting. It's rare to find places like this where a husband and wife team actually runs the restaurant they open. Kuddos to them!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexisrubin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
921Paula, Owner at La Vinya de Defensa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Alexis!! It was wonderfull to have you here at La Vinya, glad you enjoy our food and service, we really put all our heart on each thing we prepare and serve at the bar!!

Next time you are in Buenos Aires, a couple of Argentine Malbec glasses are on us my friend!!

Thank you Amigo!

Lautaro y Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vinya de Defensa also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing