We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“revitalised old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Hotel Art Gallery
Ranked #152 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is an old city mansion, refurbished as a boutique hotel with a lot of charm in Recoleta. The rooms are spacious, the decorations are tasteful. The breakfast is limited, but that is always the case in Argentina, with the exception of the Alvear. Value for money and not too far off from the main sightseeing in Baires.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

A Hotel is a charming hotel located in Recoleta on a quiet street. The rooms are well appointed and respect the original architecture of the building. The downstairs lobby area is nice and inviting with local artists displaying their work. The only reason I didn't rate this hotel excellent is it can be noisy. We stayed in the room on the second floor located at the stair landing. Because the rooms' doors are all glass and wood sound does carry, so we could hear the comings and goings of people at the hotel. Other than this, it has a friendly staff and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88MM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We only spent one night at the A Hotel, as we were in our way to Iguazu Falls. This is a small hotel located a couple of blocks from the main Santa Fe Avenue in Buenos Aires. Everything is around this area, including bus, taxi, and metro transportation, which is ideal when moving around a big city. The walls in the main hall (first floor) are decorated with paint​ing​s. The computer for guest's use is in this same area.

Our room was quite small but very clean and well organized. It had two twin beds, a good-sized flat T.V., small safety box, refrigerator, and a mid-sized closet. The bathroom was small too but we did not need nothing else. The room we stayed at is for two persons only, given the small space between the pieces of furniture. The hotel and the rooms are very nicely decorated with a "touch" of art, preserving the original building architecture. We left really early in the morning, so we did not have a chance to eat breakfast, which it is included.

If you are spending all day long having fun and enjoying Buenos Aires, this is a very quiet, small, and cozy hotel to come back and rest at night...needless to say about the perfect location.

Room Tip: Check for options on bed size and floor levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel gives 5% discount for cash payment on arrival. It is quite centrally located in the Recoleta area, close to the subway, and a short 10-min walk to the Recoleta cemetery (Evita and all that - fascinating place). The hotel is actually an art gallery and, although I didn't particularly like the 'art', it provides a quiet hide-away in a busy city. The hotel has some quite beautiful architectural features, curved wooden doors, painted concrete floors, super high ceilings, spotlessly clean (although our shampoo and other bathroom supplies were not replenished for 3 days), and the staff were very helpful. Loved the "cozy matrimonial" rooms. Buffet breakfast was better than the average fare and depleted stocks were quickly replenished. Planning to return in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandSmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our first night in South America was spent in a cosy, quaint room at the Art Hotel. (Sometimes referred to as the A Hotel). But his was a terrific hotel. Great staff (making calls to book ferries and then print off the tickets) that were very friendly and helpful, great location with a range of eating houses close by, free internet, a t.v. with hundreds of channels (mainly soccer!) good breakfast, art throughout the hotel that was edgy, all tucked into a building that oozed charm. Everything in BA was within walking distance but I would not recommend the walk from the Art to the Caminito on our first day!!! (It calculated later that it was about an 18km round trip!) So getting to Teatro Colon, Plaza mayo, Recoleta Cemetery later in the week was a stroll.

We stayed 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our "home" in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street!! Noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was my third time at this hotel and until this point I loved it. Here's what happened: when I came home, I realised I forgot a pair of trousers there. I'm absolutely sure I left them in the room, so I immediatelly called the hotel. But they said they had found nothing, end of story. Well, I was very disappointed with this lack of attention, especially because I'm a frequent guest. I think I lost my trust in the staff, and won't be staying there again. Truly a pity, because it is, really, a very pleasant place to be in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: The "queen rooms" are quite small. Choose a king room, but know that, despite the name, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We felt really lucky to have picked this stylish, convenient, good value hotel, just a few blocks from the Recoleta cemetery, three blocks from the subway and halfway between the Centro and Palermo, for our first visit to B.A.. If you're a walker, you can totally hit most attractions in town by foot. The staff is friendly and helpful, and everyone speaks english at the reception, should you need that.

Room Tip: The street is calm by B.A. standards, but if you don't need a view and appreciate tranquility, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#131 of 440 in Buenos Aires
428 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#127 of 440 in Buenos Aires
455 reviews
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#56 of 440 in Buenos Aires
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#177 of 440 in Buenos Aires
341 reviews
Recoleta
Alta Piazza
Alta Piazza
#80 of 440 in Buenos Aires
280 reviews
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#236 of 440 in Buenos Aires
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hotel Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hotel Art Gallery

Address: Calle Gral Miguel de Azcuenaga 1268 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1115AAJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Hotel Art Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel, located in a historic French-style building in Recoleta, at a few blocks from the legendary cemetery. Its ground floor contains an ..art gallery and its rooms, although not big, are very cozy, decorated with a combination of modern and antique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Hotel Art Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Buenos Aires
Art Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing