We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A STOP OVER HOTEL!”
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #158 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
274 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A STOP OVER HOTEL!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

All WAS really fine in this central hotel. We were using it as a stop over on our way down to Ushuaia to visit Antarctica! (which was like going to heaven!) so we were happy it was so central.
The room was large and more than adequate. There were tea making facilities and a mini bar.
Breakfast and dining there was really not happening....but there are SO many bars and restaurants around it was never going to be their forte!
We found the staff helpful. Their English was good....well, much better than my Spanish!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina G, Director Comercial at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, esperamos volver a alojarlos en otra oportunidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    174
    64
    10
    4
See reviews for
88
77
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent two days here and the people couldn't have been nicer. The street the hotel is on is a bit of a mess with tagging and garbage, but that seemed to be the norm in that area. It was reasonably priced and in walking distance to the best shopping in Buenas Aires. Most places we were going were going to be by cab anyway, so it worked just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandbar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went as a party of 8. Two rooms between us and it worked out just great. They were clean, quiet and comfortable, nothing spectacular. The AC worked, which was important as we were there in 90+ heat. The safe in the room worked for storage of all our important documents that we didn't want to carry. The staff was great and accommodating as well. Breakfast was typical with coffee/tea, some breads, cereal and small meat & cheese options. Good location just 1/2 a block from Lavalle. Plenty of good restaurants all around. I would travel back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived late on a Saturday evening with a copy of our confirmation we had booked online. Only to be told they were full. They did nothing to help us on a very busy night in buenos aires. The front desk manager decided to not understand English when it was convenient, he wouldn't even help us call the online company we booked with. I would not chance staying here. I've traveled to 15 different countries and booked online in everyone. Never have I seen this issue or dealt with someone so unprofessional as I did here. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raincity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Google Translation
Lamentamos lo sucedido, le hemos informado lo acontecido oportunamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for a total of 6 nights. The hotel is in a good location downtown on a pedestrianised street. It is quite old and reminiscent of smaller hotels in European cities. Some rooms are very small. Some of the staff are friendly. The biggest negative is the breakfast - on our tour of S America, we stayed in 10 hotels and this was definitely the worst. The same every day, no toaster, cold toast left in a container, an awful mess of scrambled eggs is the only hot food, even the fruit was poor..... Truly awful. Even though we had paid for breakfast, we stopped going and had a good brekky for about $5 each at the cafe on the corner of the street. I cant understand previous reviews which praise the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The unique good think in there are front desk people, who are always able to help everybody.
Rooms and bath are terrible, must be refurbished.
Location in city centre is not a good reason; I felt so unsecure around, with dark and empty streets at night.
For everywhere you will need a taxi, so it's better to choose some hotel in Ricolete or Puerto Madero; those place seemed safety than microcentre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulista05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at Hotel Lafayette for a few days before touring around Northern Argentina. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Location made it easy to visit many sights.rooms were large, clean and well lite. Internet was free. Buffet breakfast was nice with fresh grapefruit each day. Many nice restaurants in the area for both lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#44 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Facon Grande
Hotel Facon Grande
#107 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
San Nicolas
Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel
Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel
#126 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
NH Collection Buenos Aires Jousten
San Nicolas
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
Sarmiento Suites Apartment Hotel
#114 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
San Nicolas
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
#111 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Property: Lafayette Hotel
Address: Calle Reconquista 546, Buenos Aires C1003ABL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#104 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette Hotel es situated at an ideal place to stay when you visit Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing