We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dorm room needed to be scrubbed out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Che Lulu Guesthouse
Ranked #189 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dorm room needed to be scrubbed out”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the beginning of August 2012 after returning to BA from a week in Uruguay. I had spent a while in BA staying in a hostel in the microcenter while studying Spanish in June, but wanted to be in Palermo this time. At $20USD per bed for an 8 bed room, this was one of the higher-cost hostels I stayed at in Argentina and not worth the price. Everything was visibly dusty, the miss-matched old furniture nonfunctional for storing and securing your stuff (it's a shared dorm room!), the towels were gross and the grimy bathrooms were not suitable for a place that markets itself as a 'guesthouse'. What also annoyed me was that they advertised their prices in USD but would not honor the 'official' exchange rate to peso and charged a +20% conversion markup (I realize the street rate for USD was higher at the time because of the access-to-foreign currency restrictions in Argentina, but registered tourist accommodations should honor the official exchange rate). BA is a city of great boutique hostels so there are better, cleaner, value-for-money choices than Che LuLu.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    11
    17
    19
See reviews for
3
36
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

A clean, secure, friendly family run guest house, located in one of the best neighborhoods in town. A short walk from the trendy cafes, restaurants and shops, which Palermo is renown for.  

On the downside, the double room I had was very cramped, the basin was very makeshift as was the bathroom (you almost shower over the toilet as the bathroom is the size of your average toilet). Despite all the wonderful bakeries, supermarkets and deli's in the area, the breakfast here is very uninspired and loveless. The cost of a double room ($US80)  is on the high side (for what you get) but this is BA.  

Despite the negatives, the friendly family make this a wonderful place to stay. 

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We wanted to stay two nights at this hostel/B&B. The hostel is quite nice, the room is fine, the shared bathroom is OK if you have low standards.

After our first night we left really early (basically still at night) and we asked at the reception where to leave our baggage as they told us we will have to change rooms as they are so full.

We made 100% clear that we will come back and we would like to stay there (we even wanted to pay for the second night, but they said they are not sure on which room we will get, but we will get for sure). As you would guess when we arrived there at about 21 they rented the room to someone else.

To make things worse the owner of the place became really rude and cynical, asking questions like where we were last night. We had to raise our voice to make him silent and at the end apologize.

After we finally found a bed at another hostel we were told (it might not be true though), that we are not the only one who is coming from Che Lulu with the same problem.

All in all I think the owner got gready that we might not arrive nevertheless we reserved and rented the room to someone else. Which is bad in itself, but he was extremly arrogant which is really not acceptable.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The owners and staff at Che Lulu really make this place feel like a home away from home. The guesthouse is located in a great part of Palermo and is on a quiet street. The guesthouse is stylish, comfortable and clean. My husband and I decided to stay in Buenos Aires for longer than planned because we really enjoyed staying at Che Lulu. The kitchen area is clean and well equipped and the breakfast is good. The best thing about staying here is the atmosphere and the scope for interacting with other guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great atmosphere. Liked the first room, but then found a bed bug on the bed, crawling.
So, we asked for switching to another room, which they did without hesitation. Apparently, they had fumigated our first room, called Victoria 3 months ago for bed bugs, and this is the first time bug appearance after fumigating.
We had to take everything out of our suitcases and shake them.
Staff was very helpful.
Food was great.
Bed was comfortable.
Rooms are tastefuly decorated.
Taxi drivers in BA are not familiar with thenhostel's location. Make sure you have a map handy to give them directions.

Room Tip: Ask about bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyscheuerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The owners are incredibly welcoming, if you want to sit and chat they are very obliging but not overbearing at all. Very clean and tidy rooms and bathrooms, with a good breakfast, and to top it all off the Hotel has its own tortoise. Che Lulu is in a fantastic location and is very secure, great for female travellers on their own. Rooms are not enormous, but the welcome and location makes up for that. I was only staying for one night, but would happily go back there next time I'm in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Alicia and her charming husband Jorge took over Che Lulu about one and a half year ago and turned it into home.
The rooms are great and very well kept, but this is hardly the thing that make Che Lulu what it is. The atmosphere of the place is magical and everyone that works there will go out of their ways to make you feel welcome and comfortable.
The breakfast (which is included in the price) consists of different kinds of bread, teas, coffee, orange juice, cereal and a variety of cakes, pies and sweets, everything you need in order to start your day off well.
But that's not all, when you come back late afternoon there is a tea going on, so you can have that fabulous pie you were craving for since breakfast but was too full to have it then.
The kitchen there is always clean and organized and available for use by the guests. Jorge loves to cook and likes to keep it that way. He is an amazing chef and on the day I cooked there he was all for helping me out and give me great tips.
If you are going to Buenos Aires this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Rugantino Hotel Boutique
Rugantino Hotel Boutique
#189 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Soho
Esplendor Palermo Soho
#157 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
BA Sohotel
BA Sohotel
#110 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Palermo
Legado Mitico
Legado Mitico
#22 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Palermo
Feel Buenos Aires
Feel Buenos Aires
#69 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lulu Guesthouse

Property: Che Lulu Guesthouse
Address: Calle Emilio Zola 5185, Buenos Aires C1425GHA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Che Lulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lulu Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing