We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here without question. They speak English and have local wine”

Pain et Vin Buenos Aires
Ranked #131 of 4,798 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Palermo
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go here without question. They speak English and have local wine”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Well where do I start the place is great and clean. And the wine is delish. Call ahead to book a tasting to make sure you reserve your spot in case they get busy but we just walked in on a Friday night. We got the owner Eleanor as our sommelier and she was great. They have wine from all over Argentina and stuff you can't get in the states plus they have food to snack on while you taste the wine. make plans to come out here it's in a great neighborhood and euro/USA friendly with their English speaking staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    30
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's always time for a glass of wine”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

As their sign says :) So happy to have found this spot just a few blocks from where I live. Has a very laid back vibe and is a great place for relaxing with a glass (or 2I) of wine or having a light lunch/snack (they make a pretty good "BLT") - but it has also become my go to place for buying bread. I think I have tried them all & their light rye and pan de semillas in particular are excellent. As others have said, the staff are absolutely lovely as well. Eleonora has been great in helping me choose a few bottles of wine to take home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Palermo hang out”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have been to Pan et Vin several times and each time had a wonderful glass of wine and fresh, well made meals - sandwiches, salads, and wine and cheese, to accompany. Love this contemporary hang out on Gorriti Street. The proprietors are very comfortable speaking English which makes it a great spot for entry into Buenos Aires. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

best sandwiches in the area for a very good price and an excellent service. The menu is not large but still pretty good

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of Palermo”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This bistro/cafe/wine lounge opened up in July 2013, and has quickly become a neighborhood favorite. With its selection of hand-picked wines, homemade bread and freshly made sandwiches, properly prepared coffee and traditional croissants, it's the perfect place to pass a lazy weekend afternoon or weekday evening.

The best part about this place is the atmosphere; boasting a rustic decor, full display shelf of wines, excellent service, bright and clean ambience it leaves something to be desired from all the other run of the mill Buenos Aires cafés.

Fear not if you speak no Spanish, the friendly staff are almost fluent in English.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Perfectneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pain et Vin Buenos Aires also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Pain et Vin Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing