We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #75 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in total. After a very long flight from NZ via Santiago we were very glad to get to our room. We had a room overlooking the rear of apartment buildings. It was very quiet and we got a good sleep. The room was clean and tidy and the aircon worked well. It also had a safe which we used. The breakfast had everything you could want. Except I struggled to find cold milk for the cereal. Somehow all I could find was yoghurt. Everyone was kind to us and alway said hello with the exception of the girls at breakfast. They didnt seem very happy. The location was fine for us, quite a few cafes and restaurants a short walk away. Shopping at Galerias Pacifico only ten minutes walk away. We would stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference and for sharing a detailed research of your stay at Pestana Buenos Aires. We´re glad to know that you enjoyed our location and accommodations, and we thanks also for your comments about our breakfast; guest experiences are our most important tool to improve our services. At your next visit we will be waiting for you! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    479
    118
    14
    10
See reviews for
193
451
46
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Pestana hotel is right in the middle of the city and about 15 minutes by foot from the ferry. It is located on the busy Carlos Pellegrini Avenue. From the outside it looks to compete with the Hilton's and Hyatt's of the world. Inside however I found it tired and uninviting.
The room was small, the walls were in dire need of paint and the furniture felt assembled from a backyard sale. Mind you, the room rate was ~USD200 so we are not talking Motel 6 here.
When I called the Concierge at 10pm asking for an ironing board, I was told: "No. Call in the morning." Whoops. When I called in the morning the iron didn't arrive. A couple of calls and one hour (!!) later I got the ironing board that looked like it had a very rough life...
All in all, el cheapo outfit at five star price. Avoid! Oh, and don't try the coffee machine in the breakfast area. It cured me of coffee for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn the inconvenience you had experienced, and that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments are important for us and being analyzed to do the necessary improvement measures. We would be honored to receive you again in the future. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very convinient and safe location on the largest avenue of the city. Great and large indoor swimming pool opened from 7 am until 9 pm with spa, hammam, sauna.
Like almost everywhere in Buenos Aires hotel's room and lobby would need some refreshing but are still more than acceptable. Nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Be carefull of rooms with communicating doors with other rooms because you can ear and smell EVERYTH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciledeQuoideneuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our locations and our Health Club facilities. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Last leg of trip, and found hotel very welcoming. Staff friendly and helpful, very good English speaking.
Location great, walking distance to main shops and plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby. .
Amazing how big the main street was, which hotel was located on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenCoop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires and for sharing your kind comments about your recent experience with us! We´re glad to know that you had felt comfortable with our staff friendliness and our location. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I've been there last August and it was above average.

Room is big with great space and nice bathroom and so was furniture. The hotel itself seems outdated but very clean.

Breakfast was average as I have found to be at most hotels in Buenos Aires. Some options but nothing very tasty or creative.
Internet worked ok and the room had a good desk for working.

Location is probably the lowlight for this one. Despite the fact that it is convinient located at 9 Julho avenue, meaning easy access to everywhere, it is also a very busy and noisy avenue. It is not very pleasent to walk around, but it is not a big nightmare.

It seems a little bit pricy for what it offers but if you find a good deal could be a nice option for the city. I would return for the right price.

Room Tip: Choose a high level floor to avoid traffic noise form the avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapsRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to leave us a detailed review about your recent experience at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for choosing us between so many hotels we have at the City. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our guest rooms and we thank you also for your comments about our breakfast; knowing our guests opinion is our best tool to improve our services. At your next visit we will be waiting for you! Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed for 8 nights in August 2013 for business. The big bonus for me was the walking distance to my business location and other places if interest. The hotel is located in a very popular main street so police where everywhere which was very reassuring. Obviously like anywhere in the world you have to be cautious when walking in a big crowded city. The hotel is also located within walking distance of most downtown-area sites. The lobby is very modern and I found the staff were always very courteous, responsive and helpful. The room was spacious and pleasingly, though somewhat sparsely, decorated. The breakfast buffet had was plentiful with a wide variety. There are several good restaurants within a short walk. I would definitely stay here again or recommend it to anyone going to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires and for taking a few moments to share your experience with other business and leisure travelers. We are glad to know that our location was strategic for your trip. We are happy to hear also, that you found our staff service efficient and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. It´s an honor that you would stay at Pestana Buenos Aires if you visit our city again, and even more that you recommend us to others! We´ll be waiting for you, Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Hotel Pestana is my preferred hotel in Buenos Aires! The location - situated on the 9 of Julio, near the Teatro Colon and the Obelisk - is unbeatable. My wife and I enjoy walking the neighboring streets, eating at local restaurants and shopping at local bodegas.

The prices are very competitive. When you arrive, ask the cost of upgrading to one of the executive of deluxe rooms.

The lobby staff speak English and are very helpful.

Everytime I come to BA, this is the place I stay.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the 9 de Julio avenue. The view is fantastic. Makes sure to request a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX-Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your nice comments about Pestana Buenos Hotel! We feel honored to be your preferred Hotel between so many we have at our City, and that you and your wife had enjoyed our location. We would like to thank you once again for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#80 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#65 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Novotel Buenos Aires
Novotel Buenos Aires
#64 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#69 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#73 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel

Property: Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Address: Carlos Pellegrini 877, Buenos Aires 1009ABQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#56 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#56 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing