We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Redemption was Achieved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #72 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Redemption was Achieved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Initial impressions of this hotel were not good- the desk clerk was a one man band with 4 guests waiting to be assisted. The registration form was totally in Spanish - understandable we were in South America - however after 5 weeks and many different hotels we had never just been told " you must complete the whole form and left to do so " the clerk attended to others and the phone while we struggled with the less obvious bits of the form. When I made a comment about our difficulty the clerk proceeded to make a joke about Australians to a pair of Spanish guests ! Just plain arrogant!
Things however, did improve, - unfortunately we had no option but to arrive at 9.15 am and check in time is 2 pm. When asking if a room might be available earlier we were advised maybe by noon - we were in just after 11am . Yay !
Our superior room on the 11 th floor was very spacious with 2 writing desks and chairs, a fully tiled bathroom including a bath, a safe a mini- bar and 2 King single beds.
No tissues girls ! But that's minor. Laundry is very expensive but probs on a par with most " luxury hotels".
The dining room and bar are both open affairs located on the street level lobby space. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate - offering DIY teas and coffee, scrambled eggs , fried sausage, a variety of cereals, lots of fruit and acres of pastries, cakes and biscuits!
We ate in the first evening and enjoyed very succulent, tender steaks. Just a pity they only come with slightly soggy hand cut chips!
This is a dark hotel - lights only come on in the hallways when the sensors pick up on the presence of a human. Lights are required in the rooms as well - a wall of curtaining reveals one small ish window. No view from ours except roof tops. Rooms are however, quite soundproof.
The lifts are smallish - but do offer the opportunity to catch up on the news, stock market on telly for the duration of your trip !
Must say - with the exception of the aforementioned desk clerk the staff were all courteous and helpful. The hotel location is excellent - an easy walk to the shopping area of Florida down Cordoba Ave. we even walked to Recoleta cemetery from the hotel - safe area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference and for sharing a detailed description of your experience at Pestana Buenos Aires with other travelers. We would like to apologize about the awkward experience at your check in; that kind of situations are not part of our Service Standards and should not be experienced by our guests. All your comments are being analyzed and improvement measures will be taken. On the other side we are glad to hear that the rest of your stay was positive and that you could enjoy our service, facilities and location. At your next visit to our Country it would be a pleasure you welcome you at Pestana Buenos Aires again! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    486
    120
    14
    10
See reviews for
196
458
46
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for business and was thoroughly happy with it. The bedroom was a good size, with large, comfortable beds. Nice shower and everything worked. I missed having a kettle and ironing board, but am reluctantly realising that these days not all hotels put them in every room as standard.

A good location - Teatro Colon is a short walk down the road, Gallerie Pacifico about a 15 minute walk, Recoleta and San Telmo a short taxi ride away.

Breakfast is fine - some nice fresh fruit, good cakes (any thoughts of healthy eating fell away on the first morning!), nice fresh orange. Nothing to write home about, but good and I enjoyed it.

Perhaps best of all, the staff here were consistently friendly and helpful - most notably the guys on the front door. Really personable.

For holidays I tend to prefer something with a bit more personality/quirkiness, but for business, it was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires for your business trip to our country and for sharing such a detailed description of your stay at our Hotel with other business and leisure travelers. We´re glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and location, but most happy to hear your comments about our staff friendliness! We hope we can receive you at Pestana Buenos Aires in the near future; we will be at your disposal. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were just as impressed when we stayed here again 1-3 October 2013 as we passed through Buenos Aires to Chile/Peru/Bolivia. Unfortunately, other people must be just as impressed as we could not obtain a further booking on our way back through BA for our return to Australia. Maybe we will be lucky on our next South American sojourn in 2015!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicko60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for your feedback regarding your recent stays with us. What a pleasure to hear that you were impressed not only once, you were impressed twice! That means that our team is making a good job. We would be honored to welcome you again in your next Southamerican Trip. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed there for three nights early in January. The location is good for walking around the city. The room size and comfort level was good, although a loud party (apparently at the attached meeting hall) kept us up one night. The room was clean but a little tired, ok considering the location and price. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'd stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mlrstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We´re glad to know that our location was strategic for walking around the city and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. At your next visit to our city we would love to welcome you again! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in total. After a very long flight from NZ via Santiago we were very glad to get to our room. We had a room overlooking the rear of apartment buildings. It was very quiet and we got a good sleep. The room was clean and tidy and the aircon worked well. It also had a safe which we used. The breakfast had everything you could want. Except I struggled to find cold milk for the cereal. Somehow all I could find was yoghurt. Everyone was kind to us and alway said hello with the exception of the girls at breakfast. They didnt seem very happy. The location was fine for us, quite a few cafes and restaurants a short walk away. Shopping at Galerias Pacifico only ten minutes walk away. We would stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference and for sharing a detailed research of your stay at Pestana Buenos Aires. We´re glad to know that you enjoyed our location and accommodations, and we thanks also for your comments about our breakfast; guest experiences are our most important tool to improve our services. At your next visit we will be waiting for you! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Pestana hotel is right in the middle of the city and about 15 minutes by foot from the ferry. It is located on the busy Carlos Pellegrini Avenue. From the outside it looks to compete with the Hilton's and Hyatt's of the world. Inside however I found it tired and uninviting.
The room was small, the walls were in dire need of paint and the furniture felt assembled from a backyard sale. Mind you, the room rate was ~USD200 so we are not talking Motel 6 here.
When I called the Concierge at 10pm asking for an ironing board, I was told: "No. Call in the morning." Whoops. When I called in the morning the iron didn't arrive. A couple of calls and one hour (!!) later I got the ironing board that looked like it had a very rough life...
All in all, el cheapo outfit at five star price. Avoid! Oh, and don't try the coffee machine in the breakfast area. It cured me of coffee for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn the inconvenience you had experienced, and that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments are important for us and being analyzed to do the necessary improvement measures. We would be honored to receive you again in the future. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very convinient and safe location on the largest avenue of the city. Great and large indoor swimming pool opened from 7 am until 9 pm with spa, hammam, sauna.
Like almost everywhere in Buenos Aires hotel's room and lobby would need some refreshing but are still more than acceptable. Nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Be carefull of rooms with communicating doors with other rooms because you can ear and smell EVERYTH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciledeQuoideneuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel and for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our locations and our Health Club facilities. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#78 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#61 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#56 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#69 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
San Nicolas
Novotel Buenos Aires
Novotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#68 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel

Property: Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Address: Carlos Pellegrini 877, Buenos Aires 1009ABQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#54 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#56 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing