We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but terrible value for money....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #79 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but terrible value for money....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in this one in may for 4 days. I liked buenos aires as I always do but with president christina fernandez the coutry is on her way to a terrible faith. Prices skyrocketed in 4 years and it really is not worth a visit anymore.....the hotel used to be 70% less in 2010 ,in us dollars ...lol...
The rooms are modern, clean,the staff really tries to be nice and helpful but 40 us a bottle of soso wine and 120 us a set menu for 2 is ridiculous in south america.
Do not go outside after 22h because the area is not safe at all.
Cabdrivers are more than doubtful and will try to give you faked 20 and 50 peso bills! Be cautious and do not show ipads ,iphones etc. Leave them in the safety box.....
Ask for a suite or deluxe room...
Too expensive for the money

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DRLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr. Frank Thanks for choosing the Pestana for your stay in Buenos Aires. We are very glad that you enjoy our facilities and our friendly staff. I am sure that other travelers will take advantage about your comments of our Argentina. I hope to see you soon between our guests again. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    498
    131
    15
    12
See reviews for
205
472
46
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo De Olivenca, AM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located on 9 de Julio which is busy street. The location is ok but we learned that recoleta or Palermo would be better for us in future. Room was ok, not very big and need refresh. The service was regular although staff smile a lot. Breakfast was average breakfast for hotel but ok considering the price. My friend and I stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, and for your feedback regarding your stay. Your comments are being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple of colleagues for a two week business trip.
Check in was quick and efficient and rooms were ready early (which was a huge bonus as we'd just had a long flight). Reception were friendly and helpful with directions and continued to be great throughout stay - booking things for us, printing things, answering queries etc.
The room itself was nothing to write home about - view out the back isn't spectacular - but spotlessly clean every day, and with two double beds, more than adequately sized for a small me. There was also a desk and chair in the room, along with a safe. The wifi was a little patchy in the room, but not too bad - definitely had worse!
Breakfast was a good spread, not many hot options but lots of bread and sweet stuff, and all the usual stuff you'd expect.
As an added bonus the restaurant downstairs also served very nice food for the few occasions we stayed in.
The gym facilities were nice, the pool was a nice temperature and never too crowded.
On the downside (it may be my fault for being tasty) but the mosquitos in the lobby were awful. Every time I stood still in there for 2 minutes, I got another bite. Not sure what they can do about this, but I didn't get this issue elsewhere in restaurants etc. Maybe some kind of repellant is in order??
The second thing was the price of the laundry service. Now I know it's a captive market and there's always going to be a premium, but £3 to wash a pair of knickers is just insanity (at least for a person who owns knickers costing £1 each). In 2 weeks, my colleague spent 2 nights stay (£150) on washing. I washed things in my sink and got a passively aggressively placed washing bag on my bed as a gentle hint ;). Honestly think they're doing themselves out of business here, but I just couldn't bring myself to pay what was being asked... Rant over!
All in all, would I stay again? Yes, absolutely. With ankles coveted in deet and the address for a nearby laundry service!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach_L_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed experience with other travelers. We were pleased to know that you had enjoyed our service and facilities, and we thank you also for the comments about the aspects of your stay that were not so positive, they´re an important improvement tool; they will be considered an analyzed. We hope we could welcome you back if you come to visit our country again! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is all about Location and a above-average quality of your stay. it is less than a block away from Teatro Colon and a handful of other tourist locations and it sits in a very accessible place Hotel is clean and well kept. Rooms are spacious and well equiped. We did not see any spot in this hotel that looked dirty or not maintained and we felt very relaxed here. Room service and breakfast are really good and the value is great. we stayed for 4 nights.

PROS:
- Spacious rooms
- Pool and Spa
- Location, Location, Location

CONS:
- Internet is consistently offline
- Staff service is not consistently quick or available.

Room Tip: When you book your room dont pay the extra bucks for the executive rooms. They are exactly the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and for sharing you valuable comments with other travelers. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, that our facilities made you felt relaxed, and that you enjoyed our breakfast.
About our weaknesses; we are changing the internet supplier, as we realized that the growing demand has made that our actual service is not efficient and we will be ready to give an excellent service very soon.
At your next visit to our country it would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Pestana Buenos Aires! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Pestana hotel is located at the widest avenue of Buenos Aires, some say even of the world.
The Avenida 9 de Julio guarantees heavy traffic but you’re not affected by that in your room. On the contrary it provides a magnificent spectacle.
The location cannot be beaten and is perfect to explore the different parts of the city.
Rooms are comfortable and don’t have carpet but a (cleaner) laminate floor instead. There’s a surprisingly nice swimming pool, spa and (small) fitness area in the basement.
They call the few seats in the lobby the ‘Tango Bar’. That’s perhaps a bit too optimistic. I did not eat in the restaurant (= breakfast room) as there are so many better options in Buenos Aires to have diner. Breakfast itself provides plenty of options to have a good meal. Only slightly negative point is the fact that the staff does not always looks to have pleasure in the work they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference for Pestana Buenos Aires at you recent visit to our City. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Thank you also for sharing your experience at our Food and Beverage area, your comments will be shared and analyzed to improve our service quality, although experiences like yours are not common at other guests’ experiences, and not accepted at our service standards.
We hope to welcome you back at your next visit to our Country! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed twice in this hotel in Buenos Aires and would highly recommend it. The location is great, very central and the rooms were nice as well as the breakfast buffet being very generous in choice and quality.
The staff are well versed in Spanish and English and it was a great choice, especially as we left luggage with them for our return from a trip to Iguassu Falls.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Ozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your nice comments about your recent experience at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel! We are glad to know that your stay was positive regarding our location and services. Thank you also for your recommendation to other travelers! It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at your next visit to our Country! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Initial impressions of this hotel were not good- the desk clerk was a one man band with 4 guests waiting to be assisted. The registration form was totally in Spanish - understandable we were in South America - however after 5 weeks and many different hotels we had never just been told " you must complete the whole form and left to do so " the clerk attended to others and the phone while we struggled with the less obvious bits of the form. When I made a comment about our difficulty the clerk proceeded to make a joke about Australians to a pair of Spanish guests ! Just plain arrogant!
Things however, did improve, - unfortunately we had no option but to arrive at 9.15 am and check in time is 2 pm. When asking if a room might be available earlier we were advised maybe by noon - we were in just after 11am . Yay !
Our superior room on the 11 th floor was very spacious with 2 writing desks and chairs, a fully tiled bathroom including a bath, a safe a mini- bar and 2 King single beds.
No tissues girls ! But that's minor. Laundry is very expensive but probs on a par with most " luxury hotels".
The dining room and bar are both open affairs located on the street level lobby space. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate - offering DIY teas and coffee, scrambled eggs , fried sausage, a variety of cereals, lots of fruit and acres of pastries, cakes and biscuits!
We ate in the first evening and enjoyed very succulent, tender steaks. Just a pity they only come with slightly soggy hand cut chips!
This is a dark hotel - lights only come on in the hallways when the sensors pick up on the presence of a human. Lights are required in the rooms as well - a wall of curtaining reveals one small ish window. No view from ours except roof tops. Rooms are however, quite soundproof.
The lifts are smallish - but do offer the opportunity to catch up on the news, stock market on telly for the duration of your trip !
Must say - with the exception of the aforementioned desk clerk the staff were all courteous and helpful. The hotel location is excellent - an easy walk to the shopping area of Florida down Cordoba Ave. we even walked to Recoleta cemetery from the hotel - safe area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel H, Gerente at Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference and for sharing a detailed description of your experience at Pestana Buenos Aires with other travelers. We would like to apologize about the awkward experience at your check in; that kind of situations are not part of our Service Standards and should not be experienced by our guests. All your comments are being analyzed and improvement measures will be taken. On the other side we are glad to hear that the rest of your stay was positive and that you could enjoy our service, facilities and location. At your next visit to our Country it would be a pleasure you welcome you at Pestana Buenos Aires again! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#74 of 446 in Buenos Aires
929 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#61 of 446 in Buenos Aires
2,025 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 446 in Buenos Aires
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#71 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,448 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#48 of 446 in Buenos Aires
881 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#70 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel

Property: Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Address: Carlos Pellegrini 877, Buenos Aires 1009ABQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#54 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#57 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#80 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing