We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!”
Review of The 5th Floor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 5th Floor
Ranked #4 of 257 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was born and raised in Buenos Aires and now live the US. I have traveled back to Buenos Aires dozens of times to visit family and friends and have sampled several "boutique" hotels in Palermo and San Telmo. The 5th Floor, where I stayed with my wife last month, was, hands down, the best I've seen. For one, staying there is like traveling in time to the grand Buenos Aires of the first half of the 20th century. The hotel used to be a family's penthouse and is done in late Art Deco style. The new, and beautiful furniture respects that style. At the same time, the rooms and bathrooms have been updated and everything works the way we expect in hotels in the US (which is not always the case in Buenos Aires). Another big plus to the 5th Floor are Miles & Veronica, who clearly love what they're doing and make the guests truly feel at home. Breakfast, cooked to order, was always delicious and we loved sitting in the large Andalusian-style terrace, listening to the humming of the city while we sipped our coffees. If you can get a room here (they only have 7!), don't miss your chance. It will make your stay in this great city even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
77
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my 5th time coming to BA and will definitely make this a stop off in future visits. A unique B&B with a comfy and welcoming atmosphere this is a must recommend. The interior is beautifully decorated and you couldn't ask for more welcoming hosts than Miles and Veronica. I can easily guarantee you will not have stayed at a place like this before.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I highly recommend this place for many reasons: the location is perfect, walking distance from everything you need (shopping Alto Palermo, pharmacies, museums, etc); high-quality details in the bedrooms, living room and terrace, and personalized attention. Miles and Veronica are well known people of the expat community in Buenos Aires so you may find yourself in a dinner among friends at the hotel. Miles was a polo player himself so if you are interested in polo you can always have his advise. On top of everything there is an open bar and you write down your own consumption.. that gives you the idea of the great environment created by the owners. I had a very pleasant stay in room number 3!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank palmitamendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The 5th Floor in Alto Palermo is a one and only type place. From its 2 key security entrance and ridged Otis elevator (don't worry, it will get you up there) to its plush sitting area this place has a lot to offer. I had the pleasure to stay there for 10 nights in Rm 1. Miles (owner) and Veronica couldn't have been more accommodating throughout my stay, offering suggestions, advice and tips for moving around the BA area. As I awoke the first morning Miles greeted me with an English breakfast out on the terrace...just what the doctor ordered.

What a place, the terrace nested at the back of the hotel and front patio overlooking the street, this place offers an abundance of hide-a-ways for all types of guest; including a very attractive wet bar (honor system). The rooms, just as plush as the amenities, make you feel right at home. They have spared no expense in outfitting the hotel with wifi access, 32 samsung smartTV's, AC in every room, and unbelievably comfortable beds (more than plenty of pillows). This remodeled antique home is/ was a perfect place to relax, work and play in BA. I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay at The 5th Floor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eltejanoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have traveled to Buenos Aires 1-2/ year for the last 13 years. This is BY FAR the best place I have stayed. The common spaces are beautifully designed. We stayed in Room 7- which was perfect. There was a balcony to relax on and enjoy the sites and sounds of Buenos Aires. The bathroom was very large and modern with a giant tub. Breakfast every day was a delight. After parilla in the evening I was ready for fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit and yogurt in the morning. My husband enjoyed the eggs and wonderful meats. Miles and Veronica are terrific hosts. We spent one evening drinking champagne on the back patio with them. This place is going to be hard to book as the word spreads!! Book now if you can!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

To be greeted at BA International Airport by a smiling Juan, the taxi driver that Miles has known for over 17 years, is a welcoming delight...

The 5th Floor is BA's newest boutique B&B, and what a delight it truly is. What you have here is quite simply passion, and with a capital 'P'! Miles and Veronica have created a gem of a residence that strives to offer an individual and relaxed experience, very refreshing in this world of corporate hotels and signature service.

What is evident is the level of detail that The 5th Floor has gone to; from the architectural originality of the interior through to the novel use of an honesty book for you to document your late-night tipple whilst the rest of Buenos Aires sleeps...

I can highly recommend The 5th Floor. Enjoy! :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiersLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was my first trip to Buenos Aires and I was travelling on my own so I wanted to stay at a B&B to meet other travellers. The 5th Floor surpassed all of my hopes and actually fast tracked me into the local life. The gracious and informative hosts Miles & Veronica started to share insights into the local scene by suggesting activities and places to see starting from my first email. These insights continued throughout the stay and varied on my energy level. They freely shared invitations they received to a variety of activities from friends gathering to celebrate a birthday, a private social club cocktail party, a hosted wine event at a new bar and even an authentic asado (barbecue in Argentina) with their friends on the huge sunny terrace at The 5th Floor.

The hotel itself is in the perfect location in Palermo Soho. Central with easy access to transit subway, shops, cafes and restaurants. The neighbourhood is very safe, walkable and active with the vibrancy of local residents in this middle class area.

The space is unique and has been fully refurbished back to the art deco style in which it was built. Everything from the round corners of the main entrance to the mirrors in the elevator highlight the art deco style. The main entrance features a marble circular staircase up to the sixth floor where the rooms are located. From the main entrance you see the large living room with soft seating and the adjacent room with a small library and honour bar. Their is a large deck on the front of the building that is nice during the day as it is in the shade. Plus it is high above the local tree lined street and is a nice place to enjoy a late afternoon cool drink.

From the main entrance heading to the back of the building you enter the main dining area and kitchen where breakfast is served. Also cold filter water is readily available at anytime. From the dining area you look onto a huge terrace. This sunny terrace is also a nice place to enjoy your breakfast and plan out your day. Also a great place to have a drink before heading out for the late night activities. Buenos Aires is a city that gets started late and is active and vibrant well into the night.

I highly recommend The 5th Floor. Miles and Veronica made my trip truly exceptional and I have travelled extensively. Just book early because as word spreads they are likely going to be very busy.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a balcony. The balcony face onto a quiet tree lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Bulnes Eco Suites
Bulnes Eco Suites
#28 of 446 in Buenos Aires
518 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,826 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 446 in Buenos Aires
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,321 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,615 reviews
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#201 of 446 in Buenos Aires
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5th Floor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5th Floor

Property: The 5th Floor
Address: Vidt y Santa Fe | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Floor is our recently restored Art Deco home in the finest part of Palermo. It offers luxurious accommodation and a generous amount of common space including the dining room leading to the Andalusian terrace, spacious, parquet floored living room and (honesty) bar with separate terrace. It provides a homely experience that will remind you of BA's golden age. If you are someone who prefers to sit in a living room rather than a lobby, enjoys a homely atmosphere and a generous amount of common space and would appreciate the assistance of your hosts in making the most of your visit to this fabulous city, then it may be the place for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing